We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
402 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$114
Booking.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
TripadvisorUS$114
StayForLong
PricelineUS$114
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (8)

About

#17 of 40 hotels in Lake Charles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rest, Relax, Recharge and Get a Little Work Done. Welcome to the conveniently located Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles, just off Highway I-10. We are minutes from the city's most popular restaurants, shopping and cultural event venues, as well as 7.6 miles from Lake Charles Regional Airport. Everyday is a Great Day to Play. The Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles is a great place to play. Try your luck at local casinos such as Golden Nugget Casino, L'Auberge Casino and Isle of Capri Casino. If golf is more your style, pack your clubs and take advantage of must play courses: The Country Club at Golden Nugget, Contraband Bayou Golf Club at L'Auberge, and Gray Plantation. Expect More Where It Matters Most. The Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles has all the everyday must-haves: Fuel your day one bite at a time with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
139Reviews2Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 44
  • 23
  • 7
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve/Karen W wrote a review May 2022
Kingwood, Texas19 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent accomodations for our May 3, 2022 stay. Hotel is well set-back from I-210, so road noise is absolutely minimum, if any at all. Check-in was handled quickly and all in good order, with no exceptions encountered by very courteous front-desk personnel, who answered all questions. Room # 421 was fully cleaned with minimal disinfectant odors detected. 2-queen doubles were most comfortable and no abnormalities with bed linens, etc. This room 421 was in such good order 1 may think the stay was in a superior level on-suite master bedroom in someone's personal home. Absolutely no exceptions encountered and staff was polite, courteous and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room # 421
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RNH wrote a review Apr 2022
Murphy, Texas75 contributions32 helpful votes
It looks like the hotel has been recently renovated. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are quite large and has all the amenities like coffee maker, TV etc. They also offer a good breakfast. Parking at the hotel is free and they also offer free WiFi. Located near shopping areas and parks. The casino's are just a few miles drive. Overall good hotel to stay. Would recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karina V wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We stayed one night on our way back from New Orleans, the hotel was nice looking, clean, great breakfast, but the best thing about our visit was the staff specially Elijah, such an amazing young gentleman, very pleased with our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mobile403849 wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
I chose this hotel because of reviews about its cleanliness. Well it was not clean at all. I also didn’t particularly like that it was across from a cemetery but I digress. My room was infested with roaches. I was then moved to another room that also had roaches. I was a sitting on the bed and one ran straight across. I proceeded to shake our things, pack them, and put them in the car. The front desk was nice but only wanted to comp me for one night. After an hour of negotiation I was able to get a full refund, because it was an inconvenience to us. We not had to find somewhere else to stay. Coincidentally someone on another floor said their room smelled like big spray. I just hope they actually shut down the hotel and tent the place. They don’t believe it’s an infestation, but roaches on 2 floors is not a coincidence.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2021
Hi Mobile403849, Thank you for looping us into your concern about the hotel's upkeep and the insects in the room. What you described certainly is not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. While I am glad you were pleased with our staff service and you got a refund, I am sorry for the letdown. I've communicated your sentiments with our management team for review and I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit to Lake Charles as we promise to elevate your experience as we keep it simple and smart. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HMPoe2013 wrote a review Mar 2021
Portland, Texas46 contributions5 helpful votes
I arrived about an hour or so early but figured I would check to see if the rooms were ready. Two ladies were at the desk and did let me know my room wasn't ready quite yet, which I understood. As I was about to go back out to the car, they got a list of freshly cleaned rooms from housekeeping and immediately booked me in one so I could go ahead and come in. They were so kind and professional. The hotel was clean and smelled as such. I know it's still COVID-19 time, but there's no breakfast to my knowledge (it was all blocked off) - but again, I get it. One thing that did stick out to me was the fact no vending machines on the second floor were on and working (it said due to COVID), but you could go downstairs and use the ones there ??? The room was good, beds were pretty comfortable. The main thing bad about the room was the bathroom! Toilet and sink was find but the shower had mold. You could tell it had been recaulked before and they did a really cruddy job. It had been smeared on the side of the tub and the back corner had a sizable area covered in mold where the water sits. There were also two small roaches on the door frame when we walked in so exterminating needs to be done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2021
Hi HMPoe2013, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the bathroom cleanliness and lack of breakfast. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the frictionless experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I appreciate you as our guest and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandy L wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
I was in Lake Charles visiting friends but I reserved a room to have my own private space. I chose Holiday Inn due to it's long reputation but was very displeased with my room. The room was literally dank even the towel felt damp. I was so uncomfortable I ended up leaving in the middle of the night to head home. The staff was great however.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2020
Hi brandyl907, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Our goal has always been to exceed our guest's expectations and deliver a seamless experience. I am sorry that you find our rooms uncomfortable and I'd like to ensure that we liaise this with the relevant teams. I sent you a message to gather more information and hope you send us a reply soon. Pleasure once again to be your host and as we enhance our services, we would love to continuously serve you in your future travel plans. Best Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidfW9546PB wrote a review Feb 2020
Texas, United States349 contributions48 helpful votes
My wife and I recently stayed here just for a quick getaway. The hotel was good enough. Parking was fine. We checked in on a Sunday evening for two nights. There was were very few guests staying on Sunday night. I guess this is due to the fact they are not near the Casinos. Monday morning breakfast was good. Standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast. I do have to mention that the lady taking care of the breakfast area does a very good job. She was friendly and seemed to truly enjoy her work. Since we were staying two nights we did not get out of our room early. We left the room about 9:30 AM do go sight seeing and shopping. When we got back to the hotel around 5 PM we found our room had not been serviced. We did not have the bed made, new bathroom supplies or towels. I went down to the front desk and asked for towels and other supplies since the room was not serviced. The clerk did apologize and offer the supplies plus a bottle of water. The clerk explained the cleaning staff left early that day. I told her we were out of the room by 9:30 AM and the cleaning staff was working across the hall from us when we left out. She replied that if we had a Do Not Disturb sign on our door they would skip the room. I asked why if they were still working, Why would they not check again? No answer for that. The clerk offered to have someone come by now and clean and service the room. I declined since we just got back to the room and wanted to relax a litlle. I took the towels and supplies myself and settled for that. The cleaning staff is looking for the easy way out. One less room to clean. This didn't ruin the stay but it leaves a bad feeling with you. If we had stayed a week and did not get out of the room until 9:30 AM would the room ever get cleaned before leaving? We shouldn't have to be out of the room by 8:00 AM to have the room serviced. Otherwise, the hotel was a good stay. It was not near the Casinos but, we don't go to the Casinos. It is close enough to the sights and restaurants. Front desk clerks were professional. The breakfast area is taken care of by a lady that loves her job. Parking is fine and other areas are OK. For the price it is an OK stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter since away from the highway
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Hello davidfW9546PB, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed breakfast and that you found our staff commendable. On the other hand, I am very sorry to learn that your room was not serviced. This is not the experience we want our guests to have. have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping department and rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements where possible. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you visit us again. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F.Sr wrote a review Jan 2020
Grants Pass, Oregon5 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel the end of December 2019 as we were traveling. Once we opened the door to our room we were almost knocked down by a strong mold smell. The front desk was gracious and changed our room. The third floor was worse with the strongest mold smell. The front desk moved us to the second floor where the smell was not as strong but still there. We chose to stay anyway. We were not able to sleep at all and it gave us headaches. The staff was personable and tried their best (and obviously aware of the mold smells) but what could they do except keep moving us from room to room. The breakfast was also good and the hotel is right off the interstate, yet far enough away to block the road noise. If they ever clean up the mold smells we would gladly stay there again. You don't know this kind of thing from booking a hotel online unless someone makes a post like this. This is why we are writing this. So that others will know beforehand.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hello greatoutdoorsan, Thank you for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I want all your stays with us to be a delight. I know this requires our ability to assure a satisfactory stay for you. I am sorry to learn that the cleanliness level in the room received made you stay less than ideal and you had to transfer rooms. I am taking note of your feedback about the unusual smell in the rooms and shared your comments with the hotel management. I am confident that the necessary steps will be made, to make improvements. I am also sending you a private message to reach out further. I hope we get the chance to serve you again and create a better experience for you in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
norajill w wrote a review Sep 2019
Opelika, Alabama245 contributions65 helpful votes
The staff is very friendly and they try to keep old hotel clean. Our room was clean and bed was fine. Everything needs updating - tub was clean but very rusty and stopper broken. It's fenced in with one entrance and across from a cemetery and there's nothing to walk to for a quick bite, etc. I did use fitness center and everything worked ok in there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Sep 2019
Hi NJ W, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay! Good to know that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our facilities and the accommodating staff. I'm sorry for the letdowns with the in-room tub. Know that your comments are shared with our hotel team, and I'm positive that your comments will be considered for future hotel enhancements. Looking forward to hosting you once more when you visit the area. All the best, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MsPookie93rd wrote a review Jul 2019
ORLANDO5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were in town for a family reunion during the 4th of July weekend. We initially had a reservation at another hotel however at 9:30 pm the rooms still were not available for check in. We decide to give this place a shot as it was close to the family. Upon arrival Ms. Elsie advised that they only had king suites but she did have rooms available. We told her that we would definitely take a king bed. I explained to Ms. Elsie what happened at the other location and she actually apologized for them (which I told her was appreciated but not necessary). Ms. Elsie then asked what floor would we like to be on. She advised that there were several little league baseball teams staying at the location and offered us a room in the corner so that we wouldn’t be disturbed. We were so happy that Ms. Elsie made the extra offer. The place was great. Room was big, breakfast was ok and we enjoyed our stay. From now on when visiting Lake Charles we will definitely stay here again.. Keep up the good work and a special thank you to Ms. Elsie..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express lake charles hotel lake charles, holiday inn lake charles, lake charles holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLake Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES LAKE CHARLES, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 55 Photos (LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Millennium Park (4.4 km), Escape Room Louisiana (3.6 km), and Creole Nature Trail Adventure Point (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Darrell's, Steamboat Bill's on the Lake, and Luna Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Charles, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.