Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5

Traveller (11)
more mildew, rust on the door frame
Room & Suite (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.0
#39 of 40 hotels in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
1.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles their hotel of choice when visiting Lake Charles. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles features 24 hour front desk, beach chairs, and newspaper. In addition, as a valued Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

For those interested in checking out Charpentier Historic District (2.6 mi) while visiting Lake Charles, Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles is a short distance away.

While in Lake Charles be sure to experience local filet mignon favourites at Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse.

Should time allow, Imperial Calcasieu Museum is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles as you experience all of the things Lake Charles has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More

Location

3231 Lake St I-210, Exit 5, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8339
50Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GregMerlyn wrote a review Apr 2022
Austin69 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Maybe the worst hotel I've ever stayed at: Where to begin? Rooms are tiny and that would be okay if this one was clean. It's not. Paint is peeling everywhere, there's mold on the ceiling and in the bathroom. Ice machine on second floor doesn't work. Furniture scuffed and stained. Coffee maker doesn't work. The breakfast promised on the site is closed and non-existent. No hot water only lukewarm. No hand towels.Two controls for the TV and no instructions. Gave up after 15 minutes Tried to call downstairs but the phone doesn't work -- I can hear them but they can't hear me. The best I could say is the AC works and the bed was comfortable and the sheets appeared clean, if stained. I would never stay here again and would be embarrassed to bring family here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Dear Greg, You deserved our very best, and we sincerely apologize for letting you down. The experience that you have described is not representative of a typical one at our property, and for that, we are so sorry. Our team members are already looking into these concerns so that any issues can be addressed. If your travels bring you back this way, we'd be very grateful for the opportunity to deliver the comfortable and relaxing stay that we are known for.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa J wrote a review Mar 2023
Glenwood Springs, Colorado1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible! I'm still waiting on a phone call from the so called manager. Not one on duty sunday..ok so called 3 times Monday today and front desk tells me he went to the store! Are you serious???? This establishment can not be even legit. It's 630pm now phone has been busy for 20 minutes. I am calling regarding getting a full refund. I'm gonna say this to the manager....you responded to my review to save face but thus will be escalated. For anyone reading reviews you will be sorry!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 30 Mar 2023
Dear leejor910910, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rocky m wrote a review Mar 2021
5 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Reserved a room for one night, really didn't want to stay that long. The condition of not the room but, the hotel overall is very poor. The room was dirty just like the rest of the hotel. There was a bad smell throughout the hotel. The bathroom was dirty, old soap stuck in the drain. Employees were not wearing masks. I would advise paying more and stay in one of the other hotels in the area. The pictures they have on the site are very old pictures, must be from when the hotel was new.
Didn't deserve the one star.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 2 Apr 2021
Dear Rocky, You deserved our very best, and we sincerely apologize for letting you down. What you have detailed is not representative of the exceptional stay we aim to deliver, and for that, we apologize. Rest assured, we will discuss your feedback internally so that we can seize any opportunities for improvement. We cannot change the past, but we will do better in the future. We hope that you'll consider giving us a second shot at impressing you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rickie C wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were courteous and professional. The are quick to answer any questions and fulfill my requests. Love the TV and the fast internet. I will be staying there again soon. The location is also very convenient. The beds are soft and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 2 Apr 2023
Hi 815rickiec, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience with us. We are so encouraged to always do good for our guests. We are really appreciative of your generous compliments about our convenient location, comfortable bed, fast internet, courteous and professional staff, and amenities. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy H wrote a review Jun 2019
Santa Clarita, California, United States57 contributions80 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel (and I use this term loosely), was absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. The bathroom floor was filthy, the shower barely spit water, the carpet was very worn, the mattresses were dirty (I always check for bed bugs), and we found mice droppings in a drawer. There were hanging hinges and no door on the wardrobe closet. And I don't know what they were thinking with the wall to wall mirror on the wall over the beds.
There weren't enough towels and when we asked for more, we were given only one additional.
If we hadn't been so tired from driving all day, we wouldn't have stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: A room in another hotel would be the best room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake A, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 5 Jun 2019
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. Best Regards, Guest Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B wrote a review Aug 2015
Tomball, Texas12 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
got an email confirmation w/CC guarantee. From ABV. For Lake Charles,LA. Attempted to check in at 4PM. Was told my room was 'taken out' by one of their staff. What happen was. While standing at the front desk speaking to the girl at the frontdesk, because she did not have a name tag... A guest came by and asked for a new key. Because he extended his stay the night before. Therefore, when the employee extended his stay. It kicked my reservation out.
later……was told ABV was sold out and had NO rooms left…keep in mind. I was checking at 4PM ( FOUR PM ) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
When the girl called her MOD. He came out dressed like a he was at pool. Or have just woken up. His attempt of a ‘walk’ was a lower end hotel !! An hour later. A room SUDDENLY became available.

Room was UNINHABITABLE. The smell of Vomit, semen on the carpet, trash on the floor and still in the bin!!! , missing switch plates,TV cords hanging and disconnected, mold and leaking ceiling, filthy linen, stains, holes on the bedsheets, AC was out, Some of the lights did not work. And the best for last. A hole, covered by a carpet. That when you left it you can see the ceiling for the room below us!! Called for the MOD to come view the room. The instant he step in to the room. The four of my family member saw his expression. My mother was crying, father was feeling sick. My sister was crying and I was so upset and could believe I fell for the oldest trick in the book. ,,,that a room ‘suddenly was available. He put in an out of order room. SO THAT HE COULD GET OUT BY WALKING US!!!!!!!!! Gets better!!!! This MOD lost his mind and raised his voice. By saying there was nothing he could. And if we stayed. He would comp the room! But he will not walk us. And that it was now by problem.
DON”T EVER SAY YOU HAVE NOT BEEN WARNED. AND OR STAY AT OWN RISK…THIS STORY WILL BE SENT TO The American Press Newspaper in Lake Charles. And will send my story to all blogs, yelp, social media. And BEYOND…… still waiting for ABV hotel, guest service to call back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake A, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property by offering you 10% off on your next stay. Please reach out to me directly at 337-477-4230. if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel! Please bring this letter upon check-in. Sincerely, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosi G wrote a review Jul 2013
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is horrible and Management treats you like your an idiot. Room not cleaned, carpet dirty, bed had dirty sheets, no towels in room, dried mucus on shower wall, hair on bathroom floor, toilet had black stains. When complaint was made, manager Nehemiah told us to leave.
We asked for refunds and only got $12.00 from the $90.39 we paid. Manager treated us like stupid going as far as defining "frequently" telling me we did not know what it meant. DO NOT STAY HERE, big mistake. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. Health Hazard, dirty socks from previous occupants between the wall and window seat cushion. Manager basically said we lied about conditions and did not believe us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: stay at a better hotel, avoid this one. New management had run down this hotel!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lake A, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property by offering you 10% off on your next stay. Please reach out to me directly at 337-477-4230. if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel! Please bring this letter upon check-in. Sincerely, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DalTx214 wrote a review Jun 2013
Dallas, Texas49 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This property might be suitable for the extremely budget-conscious, but it's just not up to par for the more experienced traveler.

During my stay the place was plagued by operational problems: an out-of-service elevator, a casual approach to replenishing breakfast supplies, off-and-on housekeeping service, and a front desk staff that seemed to be learning on the job. That said, the staff was friendly and good-natured...even helping me carry my luggage down from an upper floor (due to the broken elevator).

This property was formerly a Microtel and, not surprisingly, everything is sorta...small. Rooms were small, towels were small (and well-worn), counter space in the bathroom was small, the desk was small, and there was that tiny windowseat/reading area common to most Microtels.

After dark the parking lot can be a scary place, with guests and non-guests loitering and sitting in parked cars. Hallways, too, seemed to have plenty of room-to-room traffic on weekend nights.

The inn advertises rooms for as low as $57, and the location is convenient to casinos, shopping and downtown Lake Charles. Cheap as it is for this area, you might want to find a place that offers better value.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amanda0526 wrote a review May 2013
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We left an hour after we got there because #1 we got there with our pets, paid the pet fee and everything THEN the owner comes and says pets aren't allowed after we confirmed a week prior!! #2 we had non smoking rooms but the rooms smelled like cigarettes as well as the hallway! #3 Mold all in the fridge #4 dirty carpet #5 dirty bathrooms#6. Horrible customer service! While we were in the rooms it was hot! We asked the girl why it was hot she said "it's just the time of day"...umm yea ok.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nehemiah T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Responded 31 May 2013
May 31, 2013 Dear Traveler, It states in our description of the property online with all of our vendors that we are not a "pet-friendly" establishment. It is also posted behind the front-desk receiving area. Payments of any kind where never exchanged between said parties. Inquiries of conformation where made, but only detailing that we had your reservations here at this property. Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity. I do remember speaking with you at the time of check in when you requested to speak to me about the pet policy. Your concern was only the pet policy. As far as the mold detected in the fridge, it was spilled frostee. We apologize for our overlook. We are always advised by our Housekeeping Department and executive housekeepers of anything that needs attention in our rooms- including dirty carpet, bathrooms, etc. These items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property. We hope you will give us another try if you are ever in the area again. Thank You
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Belinda E wrote a review May 2018
Houston, United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Place was dirty. No irons or ow dryer in the room. Not enough towels for 2 people. Floors dirty.
Breakfast was a joke...cereal, toast and watered down coffee.
Again dirty for what you pay for!
Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barbara M asked a question Nov 2014
Morgan City, Louisiana1 contribution
Why did they steal my money?
Vicky A wrote a tip Jul 2021
San Antonio, Texas73 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"pay a little extra and go to comfort suitea."
Read full review
Wendy H wrote a tip Jun 2019
Santa Clarita, California, United States57 contributions80 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"A room in another hotel would be the best room."
Read full review
Heather W wrote a tip Oct 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere"
Read full review
C7543IWestherm wrote a tip Oct 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need cleaner bed sheets and blankets "
Read full review
kennethj470 wrote a tip Jul 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't care I'm staying again"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Charles area.
PRICE RANGE
S$90 - S$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
microtel inn & suites lake charles hotel lake charles, microtel inn and suites lake charles, microtel lake charles, lake charles microtel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLake Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN & SUITES LAKE CHARLES AT I-210 EXIT 5 (S̶$̶1̶0̶9̶) S$90: See 48 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 41 Photos (LA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Which popular attractions are close to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Nearby attractions include Dillard's (0.3 km), Painting With A Twist (0.3 km), and Kohl's (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Conveniently located restaurants include Darrell's, Mazens, and KD's Po-Boys Soup & Salad.
Does Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5 have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5 offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5 have airport transportation?
Yes, Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5 offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henning Cultural Center (14.3 km) and Dryden General Store (12.0 km).
Is Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5 accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lake Charles HotelsLake Charles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake CharlesHotels near Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles at I-210 Exit 5
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire