We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wellington Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Wellington Arms
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

From receptionist to barman, every single person provided warm and friendly service. Great selection of drinks at the pub and events bar, comfortable rooms and plenty of parking. Beautiful building and just enough original features vs mod cons.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zaf K
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We have been to the Wellington Arms before and have been pleased on both occasions. The decor is quite old fashioned but we like that in contrast to the many places that have now been modernised all to a similar design. There were four in our party. We started with the Tempura prawns which were some of the best we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne2304
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Hampshire
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Set in a characterful and attractive building easily visible from the main road (A33) that runs between Reading and Basingstoke (about 15 minutes drive from junction 11 of the M4). Ample parking and easy access to both the bar and restaurant. This review is about the restaurant not the hotel. Our evening meal was served in the restaurant area immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HampshireKenny
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My room was filthy with burn holes in carpet and on bedding. There was an inch thick of dead skin and dust on my towel rail it smelt awful the bed was awful to be honest it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for about a year I was disgusted paying £85 a night room wasn't worth 20 only good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-ann N
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the House and email us at anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We have been here before and previously stopped for lunch on our way through to Reading, we had a nice lunchtime meal last time and as we we were going back to Reading we thought we stop off again for a spot of lunch. The restaurant wasn't busy, however the staff made us feel very welcome, and we had prompt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The Wellington Arms is steeped in history and has a good quintessential feel to it. The waiting staff were very attentive and efficient. We chose a bottle of unoaked South African Chardonnay - unusually, there were two unoaked wines to choose from; the other being Australian. It was very quaffable and needless to say we had a second bottle! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette W
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I do apologise for the issue regarding the taxi. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I was there for a private function and was very impressed. The atmosphere was good, staff, very attentive and food excellent. Very nice choices on the menu and portions perfect size. Everyone in the group of 20 enjoyed the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 847kitkat65
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Having only recently enjoyed a great meal at the Wellington Arms, we decided to visit again for a meal with another family member. Booked through Open Table, we arrived at the Hotel and upon arrival were greeted and escorted to our table. The restaurant was fairly empty with only a couple of other tables with guests. The waitress provided menus...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Will L
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent Tripadvisor review. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience when you last visited us here, at The Wellington Arms Hotel and sincerely apologise about what has happened. As you know from your previous visit to us, this is not our usual level of service or hospitality that we provide. I shall...

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel in need of renovation, the rooms look very nice shabby chic in style but the plumbing is terrible. Had to change my room because I was nearly scalded in the shower, heat adjuster was stuck on scalding. Water takes for ever to drain in the sink and the noises you here from air trapped in the system are truly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive M
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Dear Clive, Thank you very much for your recent Tripadvisor review. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay with us, here, at The Wellington Hotel. We were recently experiencing some plumbing issues which our Head Office are trying to rectify, so my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience that this caused you....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place for a wedding, nice seating area outside with a fire pit the function room was of good size and was decorated tastefully fir the service and reception. staff very helpful and friendly. The food was of good quality and nicely presented and served with in good time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMoriarty
Hall W, Manager at The Wellington Arms, responded to this review

Dear Miss Moriarty, Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Wellington Arms Hotel and that you really enjoyed the occasion and venue. It is very nice to hear some positive feedback from our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time and effort to post your...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
2.5 km away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
322 reviews
5.9 km away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,766 reviews
5.2 km away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
747 reviews
7.2 km away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.3 km away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Price Range: $141 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
amersham
over a year ago
Newbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet rooms are at the back but need upgrading.”
 of 5 bubbles foxycat2015, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms, 33-39.”
 of 5 bubbles Turkeyites, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hotel, ground floor as we are both disabled. No accessible rooms, and very narrow stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Arlette080447, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We can't comment on the Hotel as we only dined. I am sure it would be a great place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles jant198, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the old part at the back are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 559nicolar, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5