We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Butler Greenwood Plantation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Butler Greenwood Plantation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a B&B in St. Francisville at an historic plantation with moss-covered oak, deer, peace and quiet, and affordable rates. We needed two bedrooms with two baths. We hoped for a kitchenette and a fireplace. We got all that along wiith distinctive character in a choice of cabins/cottages and a charming, helpful hostess. A canister of Clorox wipes came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLad1952
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've given this place several chances - because the beauty of it's location, it's rich history and the privacy of the cottages are so promising. Although the condition of some cottages is lacking, and the "breakfast" is laughable, nothing compares to the absolutely RUDE behavior of the owner, Anne Butler. Each and every time she was even more rude than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neeley1123
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Since your stay was in June and it is being posted the end of November, it is hard to recall just what the issue was or why you did not enjoy your stay as do most of our guests, so we'll just offer a generic apology and perhaps mention that we are in the midst of a big renewal and...

Friendswood, Texas
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We had an incredible stay at the Plantation. Ms. Butler is an incredible hostess and made accommodations for our late arrival (car broke down). The staff is very polite and gives you plenty of space so you can relax. The breakfast is provided in your cottage kitchen so you can dine at your leisure. Henry the peacock will visit you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrModu
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A truly enjoyable experience! I had an opportunity to discuss some of the history of the area with the host, who was extremely knowledgeable about local businesses, places of interest, and history of the region. The grounds are peaceful, and the accommodations comfortable - the Jacuzzi was great. I stayed in the Old Kitchen, which was built in 1796. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_Liam
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We hope you DO come back! We love having repeat visitors who enjoy what we offer here...peace, quiet, privacy, history. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We visit as often as we can. Years ago we tried many B&Bs in St. Francisville; once we went to Butler Greenwood we never went anywhere else. Great value. The grounds alone are worth the price of lodging. Centuries-old oaks, sunken gardens, fields to watch sunrise or sunset, deer, and then there is the lovely pond and Humphrey the peacock....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Yes!

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We chose to stay 2 nights in Cooks cottage which is the oldest historic cottage on the property. The setting is very attractive by the pond and the interior has rustic character and is well appointed with full kitchen facilities and a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. However the housekeeping is not good. The oven was really dirty inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwichickAuckland
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Since the sets of pots and pans provided in kitchen cabinets for guest use in this cottage are BRAND NEW, we can only assume this guest is referring to the artistic display of antique cookware nailed to the wall and not intended for anything other than historic interest; yes, they are rusted, they are over 100 years old, pieces like...

DeRidder, Louisiana
Reviewed 16 August 2016

My 7th trip to Butler Greenwood did not disappoint. This is a magical, relaxing place to go. Louisiana is such an awesome state to live in. We have everything only hours apart. Spent the weekend in the Gazebo cabin and loved it. So cozy. So simple. Many guests were on the grounds, but no one bothered us. The fridge was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SPerkins2015
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We try to provide a peaceful respite, especially this week as we are full of victims of the Great Flood of 2016, and we certainly don't price gouge during emergencies (in fact we LOWER our rates for evacuees). Come back soon!

Colonial Heights, Virginia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful, peaceful week with my husband and 2 sons at the Butler Greenwood Plantation in St. Francisville, Louisiana visiting my brother. We rented the Pond House cottage (we give it a 5 star ***** rating!) There are several cottages to pick from and each one has its own special amenities). However, if you are expecting someplace like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flowerchildoldie1957
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Finding Peace would be the title of my book if I could compare writing a novel to staying at Anne Butler's lovely home. Traveling 75% of my life for my career has made me quite accustomed to a Hilton lifestyle but that is not what we wanted after our wedding in Baton Rouge. I am from Louisiana (now living in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah F
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Yay! Somebody GETS it! What a lovely review and we are so pleased to have been able to provide peace and quiet and privacy for this wonderful couple's honeymoon. We will hope to see them for anniversaries in the future and wish them a long and happy life together.

Mellieha, Malta
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We stayed for four days in the Treehouse at the plantation and enjoyed it. This cottage is spacious, has a good bed and has all facilities that you need even if cooking by yourself. The breakfast is do-it-yourself in the cottage and the ingredients are supplied every day. The view from the big windows at the back and from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AbrahamPotappel

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
203 reviews
3.7 km away
The Hotel Francis
The Hotel Francis
#3 of 3 in Saint Francisville
159 reviews
29.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
33.7 km away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
16.3 km away
Cypress Inn - New Roads
Cypress Inn - New Roads
#1 of 2 in New Roads
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Butler Greenwood Plantation

Address: 8345 US Highway 61, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-6671
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: $114 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Butler Greenwood Plantation Hotel Saint Francisville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 story dove Côte was memorable. Cottages by pond offered great view. The kitchen cottage is most historic.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernLad1952, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps choose 1 of the newer cottages”
 of 5 bubbles KiwichickAuckland, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check out the rooms on the website. Each one differs.”
 of 5 bubbles SPerkins2015, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you like lots of privacy, check out the Treehouse!”
 of 5 bubbles AbrahamPotappel, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The cottages provide various options of adequate space according to the number of people in your party”
 of 5 bubbles 472marcieh, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5