We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Francis

Booking.comUS$79*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Francis
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of The Hotel Francis
 Click to rate
Suwanee, Ga
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Worst experience in our life!! Hotel needs to be condemned and shut down before something disastrous happens to someone. Very dangerous for adults and a health and safety hazard for children. Cob webs, bugs, bed linens covered in holes, carpet covered in mold, holes and mold on ceilings, rust covered clothes racks to list a few. Mold smell made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The beds in the room had bed bugs. We were moved to another room in the middle of the night. Did not comp the room. Instead offered a $25 reduction in room rate. I travel frequently and this was my first experience with bed bugs. My advice...stay somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank myles75
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding. It is a motel with a weird vibe. Shouldn't waste your time on the coffee or free breakfast. Needs major maintenance work in rooms and on property. Couldn't even believe we had to pay $100/night. Not even worth that. Pool was cloudy. Bed and pillows were decent but bedding was terrible. Two sheets covering an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ihearttravel13
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Hotel stole my money. Checked in. Bathroom above me was leaking water into my bathroom. Checked out in less than an hour. Said they would provide a refund. They did not and still have not two months later. I have called 5 times now in two months requesting a refund. No refund. First time I have ever had to file...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 3000Travel
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

3000Travel, if you could please provide contact information I would gladly resolve your refund issues. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 20 February 2017

My husband had made the reservations because the outside of the hotel looks nice with a nice entrance and clean looking exterior. The room was not just dated but the beds were lumpy, the lamp shades had holes in them, the TV was at least 15 years old (not a flat screen) but the real deal breaker was the marijuana...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debra H
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Debra, My deepest apologies that you were sent to a room that housekeeping had not serviced yet. At this time we are in the middle of updating and remodeling all of the guest rooms, again sorry you were not assigned to a room that had been updated already. If you could please contact the property and speak with Katie we...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I booked this hotel under Magnuson Hotel url online. The pictures that were shown to me were not the Hotel I booked. After I had finished I realized street address was different too. My husband called this the bait and switch plan. When we arrived, the light in the bathroom was flickering so bad that it was like a strobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61kay2017
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, your notes will be shared with our staff to let them know they made the difference during your recent stay with us. We are currently making many updates to the rooms and property and can't wait for you to visit us again at the Hotel Francis when traveling in the St. Francisville, LA area.

Adelaide
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I booked into the Hotel Francis for one night on route. The staff could not have been nicer. That said, this hotel is well past it's prime. It is being used as emergency accommodation for flood victims and the hotel management and residents are doing their best under difficult circumstances. The hotel is aged. The beds, linen, etc. etc are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth G
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

We appreciate your input on your recent stay with us at the Hotel Francis. We are currently making many updates to our guest rooms. We hope you consider us again when traveling to the St Francisville, LA area.

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Kinda cheesy. The housekeepers are kinda trifling. The dinner isn't the best but who knows what they pay the staff. It could really be a okay place if they took pride in the work that needs to be done.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mizamazin303
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. My apologies that you were unhappy with your housekeeping service. We will pass along your feedback to the housekeeping department to help in coaching and developing our team to always meet guest expectations. Again, thank you for choosing Hotel Francis and we hope to see you in the future.

Constantine, Michigan
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We made reservations, showed up and put luggage in room. Just walking through the lobby was embarrassing for a business. The room smelled, the bathroom door would not shut and the water in the bathroom wouldn't shut off in the tub room number 106. We decided we didn't want to stay in such a run down dirty hotel. We left...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank loriandgerald
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your input on your recent stay at the Hotel Francis. We are currently making many upgrades to the property and hope you will consider us again in the future to check out our updates.

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

No value for money! The rooms are very basic, a profound refurbishment would be great (especially in the bathroom) The breakfast is with disposable cutlery. Ok, by that it's at least not dirty. Not even the WiFi worked ...All that for 120 USD! Much better options around! The stuff was nice though.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 702,088
Eric A, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your letting us know about your recent stay at the Hotel Francis. At this time we are making many updates to the hotel rooms as well as amenities on property such as wifi service. We hope to see you again in the future at the Hotel Francis in St Francisville, LA.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
1.0 km away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
220 reviews
26.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
22.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Best Western Zachary Inn
36.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baton Rouge Airport
31.4 km away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In addition to our Free Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5-7. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Francis

Address: 7059 US Highway 61 # 10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4522 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: $112 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Francis 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Francis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay here.”
3000Travel, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the front are better lit at nighttime”
61kay2017, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you do stay choose a room adjacent to main carpark - the other areas did not appear safe.”
OopsAdelaide, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“for more quiet pick a back room away from pool and parking lot.”
lybrn69, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake-view room; more distance to car, but worth it.”
Y4665AOmichaeld, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$79* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$79
Orbitz.comUS$79
Hotwire.comUS$79
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates