We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hotel Francis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Francis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Francis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Mounds View, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We chose this motel because the Best Western was full and we were booked for an evening tour at the Myrtles Plantation. We started wondering about this motel as soon as we went down the driveway - there were large potholes and broken asphalt throughout the driveway. Even though the outdoor sign said the rooms were newly remodeled, we certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNroadtrippers66
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I appreciate you letting us know the things you liked and also the things that need improving upon. We are currently addressing the issues of the driveway and the parking lot as we speak and hope to have them taken care of soon. I'm glad to see you thought...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We visited St Francisville to see a few of the plantations and stayed here reluctantly and only because every other hotel and b+b was booked for that day due to different events/weddings/graduations etc so we were unable to get another room in the town. Unfortunately, the experience at Magnuson was a low point of our trip. The hotel is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melop
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us. All tho it appears it was anything but satisfactory to you I want to personally apologize. Even tho we are an older property, we still take great pride in making sure we are clean and comfortable for all of our guests. I have addressed the issues you mentioned with...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A lovely place to stay, it wasn't our first option, but we are happy we stayed there. The continental breakfast is actually a buffet, which was a nice surprise. The staff are lovely and helpful, and the bed is comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JordyDick M
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your recent review of your stay here with us at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I am happy to see that even tho this wasn't your first choice, you did indeed enjoy your stay with us. I'm glad to see you took advantage of our Hot Breakfast Buffet and that you slept comfortably in...

Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Other hotels were booked, so we came upon Magnuson. Nice grounds with a pond when you enter the driveway going to the motel. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. Very reasonable rooms. We opted for an upgrade and it was a nice surprise as this motel appears "older" from the outside. The upgraded rooms are newly remodeled, clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TranquilSea
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. We take great pride in offering our guests true southern hospitality and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint. I'm glad to see you took advantage of one of our upgraded rooms and that everything was satisfactory. We hope that if you...

Biloxi
Reviewed 26 April 2013

St. Francisville is a charming town with so much to see. The Magnuson Hotel was a perfect spot to stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful with travel hints--they gave us great directions to all the plantations to visit and recommended super restaurants for our meals. The Magnuson is a hidden treasure in St. Francisville....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corri G
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. We take great pride in offering our guests true southern hospitality and i'm glad to see we didn't disappoint. We hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our...

gulf shores
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was an unexpected stop. However, the young man at the desk was "exceptional". He said he was just out of training & was dealing with someone that didn't speak English. He reserved my room, efficiently & even gave me a discount because I had to wait while he was doing his best with the other guest. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ht4jpc1
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel- St. Francisville. I'm very happy to see that the young man you spoke of, Preston, went above and beyond to make sure your stay with us was an enjoyable one. He had indeed just started with us and has proven to be...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as we wanted to visit plantations in the area.All the inns and the best western were all booked so we stayed here.This is a motel with prices like a hotel.The first room we were given was dirty and outdated, nothing like the pictures online. The lady at the desk was very nice when we talked to her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLadybug
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at The Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville. I'm sorry to see that you experienced some problems while staying with us but i'm glad to see we were able to take care of them and that you enjoyed our upgraded room. I have looked into the issues that you have...

Atlanta, GA USA
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We picked a busy time to visit St. Francisville and our stay at the local Magnuson worked well for us. I was traveling with my daughter and felt very safe and comfortable in the sleepy little town. The hotel is older but was clean and comfortable. The price was fair and it came with a breakfast that was much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. I'm glad to see your daughter enjoyed her waffles. It...

Monroe, LA
Reviewed 19 February 2013

In St. Francisville for just a weekend stay and decided on this hotel based on the reviews I had seen on here and other sites. Upon arriving, our check in was very easy and the front desk staff was very nice! Our room was very clean, smelled very nice and it was very comfortable. There is a free breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhughes57
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.

Norcross
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel met our needs. There are only 2 hotels in this town and one is a Best Western which is very nice but also about $25-$30 more.This hotel was in our price range and satisfied us. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a very friendly staff. The price included a free breakfast that was much better than we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank adam w
cstroud, General Manager at The Hotel Francis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Magnuson Hotel - St. Francisville. I'm glad to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we hope that if you are ever back in the area you will choose to stay with us again. It would be "Our Pleasure" to serve you.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
204 reviews
26.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
26.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Oak Tree Inn - Livonia West
36.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Baton Rouge Airport
36.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baton Rouge Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In addition to our Free Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, our guests can now enjoy a complimentary Free Supper, served Monday-Thursday from 5-7. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Francis

Address: 7059 US Highway 61 North at LA-10, Saint Francisville, LA 70775 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel St. Francisville On The Lake)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: $116 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Francis 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Francisville
Best Western Saint Francisville
Saint Francisville Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Francis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“for more quiet pick a back room away from pool and parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles lybrn69, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake-view room; more distance to car, but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4665AOmichaeld, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles vickif725, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“second floor quiet, not sure if there is an elevator, may need to stay on first floor if you have mobility issues”
  • very clean bathtub
  • very clean bathroom
  • view from our room
  • bathroom counter
  • our bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Hola624, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“This is not a place that is updated. Very old, but clean enough I guess.”
 of 5 bubbles GigiBlogger, 11 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay