Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles

Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles

I'm not sure what this substance is. . . .
Traveller (22)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (28)
Baymont by Wyndham Sulphur
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#2 of 5 motels in Sulphur
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2x, Get a $50 Gift Card

Location

325 Arena Road, Sulphur, LA 70665
146Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 29
  • 35
  • 11
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JerandRd wrote a review Jan 2015
La Marque, Texas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for NYE, instead of the casino. For the price and location it was worth it. (Room was free due to.our rewards)The room temp was comfortable and the bed was too. It was quiet too which is nice considering. I am a light sleeper. The room had a slight smell of chlorox. I hate that smell but it was light. The room could use a GOOD vaccum ming on the edges of the carpet...Just saying. :/ that is all that I had noticed was needing attention.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melmarti100 wrote a review Sept 2016
Dickinson, Texas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here to visit the casinos in Lake Charles. We rented the king suite with a hot tub. Room was big but needs to be updated. Mattresses are old as was the carpet. I was worried about cleanliness. The Ottoman had mildew on it. I asked for another conditioner and was told they didn't have any more. Really?? I felt like the desk clerk didn't care to go to the housekeeping closet and get more. The button on the hot tub was broken, but jets were functional. There was some brown stuff on the tub. Wasnt touching it to find out what it was. Walls had paint splotches. Breakfast was ok. All in all, I wasn't displeased, but I wasn't impressed either. I wouldn't pay to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
800patricej wrote a review Feb 2017
Sulphur, Louisiana
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel room was fine but it had a stuffy odor to it. When I checked in, the front desk clerk was very friendly and professional. The morning desk clerk was HORRIBLE. I said good morning, he didn't respond. I told him my room number, he didn't inqurie about my stay,. He handed me my receipt and didn't say ONE word. I said "Thank You" and he just stared at me. Will not stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Date of stay: February 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl-GM P, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Responded 26 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory, we have noted down the issues you mention and we have fixed it. The morning person that was at desk had gone through the guest greeting tutorial and his behavior toward guest has improved. we hope that you would give us a second chance as we pride our self in providing a top notch services to all our guest from first step in to property to the last step out of property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dee Dee wrote a review Apr 2022
Fairfield, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They ask for $100 cash deposit, I didn’t have cash so they did finally allow me to use a credit card. They kept my $100 saying I smoked in the room which I absolutely did not smoke in the room. I called corporate office as I could not get a response from the hotel. Still no repo se and no return of my deposit. Hence the reason they ask for cash. BEWARE SHADY PRACTICE!! No help from corporate
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brent c wrote a review May 2015
Metairie
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked in and our "nonsmoking" room was on the smoking floor, but worse was the room itself. It had a musty moldy smell. I noticed the all the "white stuff" in the AC and told the staff, they showed us a different room which was slightly better, but stilled smelled. We decided to just keep the room and run our air purifier while we were out. We returned a few hours later and the room was still unbearable and we had to leave. The staff refused to help because they said they offered another room, they were very rude. She didn't get nicer until I told her I had pictures of the AC and the stuff that was all in it. She called the manager and told him that I claimed it was mold (which I didn't) and she told him it is just dirt and dust that is accumulated in it. Well I wasn't there to argure, but just to get the hell out. You can see the pictures and it is some serious stuff in it. It was horrible. I think the lady at the desk was the main problem (along with maintenance of the AC and air quality of the rooms), in our rush to leave I left my wedding ring behind and they did send it back to me under my FedEx acct. so I am appreciative of that, but the room . . . STAY AWAY!!! Do your lungs a favor and don't breathe that air (and I'm not talking about the smoke). Hopefully someone can identify the substance in the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 2nd floor non smoking rooms are on a smoking floor and smell, but the room probably has worse air...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dana wrote a review Apr 2017
Round Rock, Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed here in the month of April 2017 to bury my uncle's remains next to his parents and his sister. This was by far the absolute nastiest place I have ever stayed. There was some event taking place in Sulphur that weekend, so literally every other place was booked or we would not have subjected ourselves to such disgusting filth. The first room they gave us had a terrible odor reminiscent of stale cigarette smoke and mold. The tv didn't work and the remotes for the tv were caked up with grimy filth. The bathroom had hairs from previous guests all over the floor and mold on the bath tub. We requested to be moved to a clean room, and after looking at four supposedly clean rooms, we chose the "cleanest" option of the four. Trust me, that is not saying much. Carpets, which we were told were brand new and recently installed, were filthy. The only good thing about the bathroom was that there was not any visible mold in the bath tub of this room. Otherwise it was just as filthy as the first room. Hairs of previous guests all over the tile floor. Visible filth around the base of the toilet. The toilet also had been installed and screwed into place on top of trash! Sticking out of one side of the toilet's base was what looked like a sticker that had not been removed from the tile, however, upon closer inspection, it was trash from the wrapper of some type of dental floss that no one cared to even pick up off the floor before installing the toilet on top of it. The air conditioning unit had some weird gunky stuff all over it and who knows what kind of filth was being blown into the air we were breathing in. The hallway out side of our room had obviously not been vacuumed at all any time recently as there was filth from one end of the hallway all the way to the other end. I have never before seen such little pride taken in a hotel in my life. It was disgusting. My husband and I along with our daughter never took our socks off in the room because we were too afraid to walk with our bare feet on the carpet or the tile of the bathroom. By the time we left I was itching from head to toe and felt like my skin was crawling! I hope this review might save someone else from experiencing the disgusting filth of this place. Oh and our room was supposedly newly remodeled. May be it was, but it is obviously never properly cleaned. This hotel doesn't look bad from the outside, but don't be fooled. It's disgusting!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl-GM P, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Responded 26 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory. I would like to personally apologize for you feeling that our brand new carpet was filthy as you were the first guest to stay in that room after it was installed but I am sorry, that is the cleanest carpet we could offer you as it was BRAND NEW. Since we installed new carpeting all the furniture was moved out of room and were cleaned from front to back since all sides were accessible to be cleaned, and carpet was thoroughly vacuumed after it was installed before all the furniture was brought back in room. As for bathroom I have forwarded this review to our housekeeping department and rest a sure that all the necessary steps will be taken to make sure this does not happen again as we pride our self in providing the highest possible service to all of our guest and quality of cleanliness is at top of that list. once again thank you for taking time to write a review and we hope that you would give us a second chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel G wrote a review Apr 2017
Longmont, Colorado
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before and it was acceptable at that time. It has really deteroirated since then. The Hotel is beyond dirty, smells very bad and is not maintained (see pictures). We had two rooms and had to look at about ten rooms until we found two that we could stay in. The evening front desk clerk "Sam" was trying to help us find a room that suited our needs. The day shift clerk did not care. Every time we passed by the desk, she was in the breakfast room eating and not concerned with helping anyone. They were changing carpets in some of the rooms and the workers had rolls of carpet everywhere, obstructing access at the front entrance, the pool area and the hallways. W.e had to keep our shoes on at all times in the room. The pool was dirty and we did not let the kids swim in it.

We were in Sulphur for a family funeral and had a hard time finding rooms with two double beds. The Baymont was the only Hotel that had any left. There was a Zydeco festival in Sulphur at the time, which limited available rooms and the cost for this facility was way beyond what one should have paid. ($445.00 for two nights/two rooms) We did not eat the breakfast because the condition of the facility's cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl-GM P, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Responded 28 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time again to write a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience that you faced the bathroom door knob has been replaced and all rooms carpet have been changed as well as hallway carpet. I have shared all the pictures that you posted with my housekeeper as well to make sure that this does not ever happen again. From the pictures it is definitely clear why you wouldn't stay in that room and that is the reason we moved you to different room. As I understand nobody should be given that kind of room at all be it first second or third as it does reflect badly on us but rest assure that we will take care of this issue and also if you don't mind do give me call so I can talk to you personally. I would like to apologies again, I have forwarded this review to our housekeeping department and rest a sure that all the necessary steps will be taken to make sure this does not happen again as we pride our self in providing the highest possible service to all of our guest and quality of cleanliness is at top of that list. once again thank you for taking time to write a review and we hope that you would give us a second chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danny D wrote a review May 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I came in with our 2 service animals and was rudely greeted by the front desk associate with dark hair, an eye brow piercing and a pikachu tattoo on his forearm (couldn't catch his name because he wasn't wearing a name tag) at around 12am this morning. When we told him about our 2 service animals he then proceeded to tell us that there was a no pet policy. My husband then showed documentation for both dogs and he proceeded to tell us no dogs allowed. My husband had to then educate him about it being a federal law under the ADA that service animals were allowed anywhere and he was still rude and told us that he didn't care and that if our dogs did any damages that we would be responsible and he wasn't going to let them in. My husband then made him read for himself in our letters from doctors that specifically stated he law and he regretfully said okay. The room was over priced, we paid over $100 for 5 hours of sleep. My husband is a disabled veteran and I am active duty. There was mold on our shower curtain, they had a new car air freshener in our room hanging from a light, and the door knob on the bathroom door was broken. The breakfast in the morning had eggs that were hard and my animals wouldn't even eat them. That aside, the service animal issue is what really bugged me. All businesses should know of these laws and should educate their workers and especially if the people are providing documentation. My husband and I wanted to speak to management in the morning but the same rude man was there and saw no other employee.. unless he is the manager and if he is then don't even bother coming here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl P, Manager at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Responded 5 May 2017
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience that you faced I promise you that I will personally educate all my employee on ADA policy again. For the pricing of our rooms we have priced them according to our competition in the area and if you check we are actually priced lower then most of them and also since we do not sell rooms by hours which is actually against law here everyone has to pay for one whole stay even if you use room just for couple of hours. I have also talked with housekeeper who had cleaned your room and made sure that all dirty shower curtains are taken out to be washed whenever they clean rooms. I would like to apologies again, and rest a sure that all the necessary steps will be taken to make sure this does not happen again as we pride our self in providing the highest possible service to all of our guest and quality of cleanliness is at top of that list. once again thank you for taking time to write a review and we hope that you would give us a second chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chandra G wrote a review Jun 2016
Houston, Texas
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was excited that I got a very good rate. I asked for non-smoking as I am highly allergic. We checked in and immediately getting off of the elevator I smelled smoke. Our room smelled of smoke. I couldn't find another hotel within my budget at that moment so we stayed. I tried to deal with it but was sick the next morning. I saw when we checked out that they had recently been "smoke free" since February. Machines should have been brought in to clear the smoke. The smoking and non-smoking signs are still posted on the doors. The "hot breakfast: was terrible, with cold eggs, cold gravy, a strangely tasting OJ and a sausage that was the cheapest they could buy. The "fresh fruit"" was rotten. I called the hotel the day after to talk about my concerns but I don't think my thoughts were considered. I won't be going back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Date of stay: May 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jonathonb174 wrote a review May 2016
Orlando, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First charged higher price than quoted when made reservation. Found a/c to be inoperative and could not get fixed or switched to another room.. very miserable nighy. Would not recommend to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Date of stay: April 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl-GM P, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Responded 7 Sept 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review. for charging higher price the quoted we would never do that, you do sign reg card that shows all the charges that would be charges to your card before getting a key. As for A/C it being summer it does take a while for room to get cold which is true for any room . We do apologies for any inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Eric P wrote a tip Jul 2017
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are many other hotels in this area that offer better prices."
Read full review
jilll0ng wrote a tip Oct 2016
Monroe, New Jersey6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No rooms with great view"
Read full review
DCochranAustin_Texas wrote a tip Aug 2015
Austin, Texas76 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor is non-smoking only. Also rooms to the back are quiter."
Read full review
brent c wrote a tip May 2015
Metairie4 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"2nd floor non smoking rooms are on a smoking floor and smell, but the room probably has worse air quality than the hall."
Read full review
Rdejesus176 wrote a tip Dec 2013
Orlando, Florida8 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a no smoking room, 1st floor and midway down... Allowed access from the front or side entrance"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sulphur area.
PRICE RANGE
S$94 - S$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Baymont by Wyndham Sulphur
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaSulphur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLARION POINTE SULPHUR - LAKE CHARLES: See 146 Reviews, Price Comparison and 55 Photos (LA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hollier's Cajun Kitchen, LeBleu's Landing, and Novrozsky's Hamburgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henning Cultural Center (2.0 km).
Is Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sulphur HotelsSulphur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SulphurHotels near Clarion Pointe Sulphur - Lake Charles
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire