Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area

Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area

Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (30)
Breakfast Area
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

S$185
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 22 hotels in Sulphur
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hampton Inn Sulphur/Lake Charles Area hotel in Louisiana is located at Exit 20 on the northeast corner of IH-10 and Business Highway 27/Ruth Street and nine miles west of downtown Lake Charles. Our hotel is equipped with high-speed wireless Internet, to make your stay in Louisiana more productive. Complimentary use of a full service fitness club is available to our guests for a recharging workout. Sulphur area attractions include casinos, golf courses, horse racing, outlet malls, museums, and hunting and fishing. Our hotel in Sulphur is the gateway to the Creole Nature Trail. Dining options include: Cajun Charlie's, McDonald's, Subway, Wendy's, Boiling Point Seafood Restaurant and Novrosky's, all within one mile of our hotel. Corporate neighbors within minutes of our hotel in Louisiana include Citgo, Conoco, Lyondell, Basell, Westlake Group Petrochemicals, PPG, Bridgestone/Firestone, WR Grace and many others.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

210 Henning Drive, Sulphur, LA 70663
422Reviews0Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 211
  • 119
  • 44
  • 23
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Peter H wrote a review Aug 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii176 contributions85 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked in on the Hilton App and had an electronic key from my app, so I didn't have to approach the front desk. However, every time I passed they were never too busy to say a quick greeting. I also loved choosing my own room on the app so there was no surprises.

Room was clean and spacious, and cooled down inside as a relief from the Louisiana heat outside. Although close to the highway for convenience, it was relatively quiet and I was well rested both nights I stayed. Each day I had long drives so I treasured the rest time.

Breakfast was nice and hot, with plenty of seating and a television to watch the Weather Channel.

My only concern was that curiously, the shower curtain was too short to have a good grip on the bottom of the tub. I kept trying to keep the curtain inside the tub but water kept dripping out. I learned that the key is to wet the bottom of the shower curtain first, then it clings to the lip of the tub. I learned that on night #2, after a significant pool of water collected outside the tub on night #1. I understand that the curtain is too short because they use a curved curtain rod, which increases elbow room in the tub, but no one tested the curtain to see if it'll stay. Please purchase longer shower curtains!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you use the Hilton App, you can choose your room. I chose ground floor with a room close to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PinkZebra wrote a review Jun 2020
Houston93 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a good stay due to the employees. For the bad, the carpet in the hallway was never vacuumed during our 4-day stay. The tub had mold (or mold stains.) The shower curtain was dirty (or stained), the toilet almost overflowed, our card keys stopped working and the refrigerator was broken.

On the good side, the employees were great. From the time we checked in (Mandy was very nice) to the time we left, they were friendly and helpful. Once we were in our room, we found that our refrigerator was broken. An employee was at our door in a few minutes. She couldn't fix it so she sent someone to replace it. Ed knocked at our door in 5 minutes, with a new fridge. We had a nice chat while he replaced it. One night our toilet looked like it was going to overflow. The maintenance guy was at our door in minutes and quickly fixed it. One day our card keys stopped working, but I went to the desk and immediately got the cards reset. Their customer service is so speedy! Also, since our stay was during the COVID-19 pandemic, they had employees constantly wiping down and cleaning surfaces. I was impressed. The beds were very comfortable and the AC worked great.

We did have some problems, but since the employees were so prompt and helpful, we had a good stay. Also, the hotel is undergoing remodeling, so many of our problems probably won't occur in the future. Despite our issues, I would stay at this hotel again, partly due to the attentive staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acatlover13 wrote a review Feb 2020
Lynn Haven, Florida90 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose Hampton when possible because they are known for having very comfy beds, but the bed in our room was extremely uncomfortable, and we were not able to get quality sleep. I wouldn't call it too soft, or too firm...it was simply worn out, and even creaked when we laid down. The tub/shower was "clean" but needed some TLC. There were black mildew stains all the way around the tub surround, and some of the grout was missing from the tiles. The breakfast I would call a mixed review. The eggs were ok, but the ham slices were floating in water, and had zero flavor. The oatmeal was watery, and even after trying to drain it, still had water in the bowl. There were, however, some very good healthy options like yogurt, smoothies and greens juice. The staff that we interacted with were very polite and helpful, and the location was convenient for our trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HamptonInnSulphurLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Responded 7 Apr 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to fill our your review. Our guests opinion are very valuable to us here at Hampton. We know you have options to stay at other hotels and want to thank you for staying with us during your travels. I apologize your stay was not the perfect 10 we strive to provide all of our guests with. Unfortunately, we are going through a complete remodel and all of our rooms have not been completed. Please feel free to contact our property and speak with the manager on duty so we may be able to make this less then perfect stay with us up to you. Have a Great Day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa M wrote a review Jan 2020
Gonzales, Louisiana18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful! Breakfast was great. Complimenty internet was a bit slow. This was a fine hotel for a night or two. It seems to cater to plant workers during the week. Everything was incredibly clean and in good repair. The room didn't smell of bleach or stuffy smell . It smell clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HamptonInnSulphurLA, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Responded 7 Apr 2020
Melissa M, We are so glad your experience with us was wonderful! We do apologize the internet was slow and hope your next visit, you will not experience the same issue as we have just updated our Wi-Fi. Looking forward to your future stay. Have a Great Day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tiathompson390 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was only half finished, but charged the rate of rooms that were completely renovated. No flooring in lobby or hallway to the room. Drywall dust everywhere. Specifically asked when booking the room if that mini fridge in the room had a freezer compartment and was told it did, only to realize when we got there that was false. Huge deal for what we needed as a family. Would’ve rather stayed at a nicer hotel where the price was worth the room/service. Couldn’t even get more than 2 wash cloths, and the extra one we got had several mystery stains. Disappointed in the hotel. Also the view from the hotel is a cemetery.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike M wrote a review Nov 2022
Fort Walton Beach, Florida1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Definitely would stay here again. Stay at hotels at least one week month and this property is a great value. Facilities are in great shape and friendly employees. Nowadays you never know what you'll get at hotels, this property there is nothing to worry about
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hampton Inn by Hilton Sulphur LA, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Thank you, sir for your kind words we look forward to serving you again when you are in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laila R wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel and the staff were amazing! The hotel was extremely clean (one of the cleanest I've ever seen) and every person I came in contact with made us feel like we were home away from home. From the moment we walked in, to the time we left, we always felt welcomed. The hospitality that the Hampton staff presented us was sincerely appreciated. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice, welcoming, and comfortable place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RailGeekWeek C wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Sulphur Hampton for all my business trips to the Lake Charles area in 2022. The hotel completed renovations at the beginning of the year after Hurricane Laura, so all the rooms and the common hotel areas are good as new. While the accommodations are nice and new, the main reason I keep coming back is the staff, which goes out of their way to ensure you have a pleasurable stay. My room is always in tip top shape, clean, everything working and the right temperature. The hotel is conveniently located at Exit 20 on I10 with quick access to Lake Charles proper with its casinos and golf courses as well as all the industrial sites in West Lake and Sulphur. Right by the hotel are some great restaurants, like Joe's Pizza and Pasta Italian, which despite the simple name, serves every Italian dish, and the West Cal Arena and Events center. Kathleen and her crew keep me coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: They have a Pelaton in the fitness center so bring your bike shorts and cleats for the best...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hampton Inn by Hilton Sulphur LA, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the very kind words. We truly appreciate you taking time for providing the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
naomiglasper wrote a review Mar 2021
New Orleans, Louisiana1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Besides the cemetery that’s in the parking lot of the hotel it lacked basic essentials such clean towels, a working phone, and a smoke detector. It was a fight each time we tried tho enter the room door. To find ice we had to travel to different floor which looked like a scene from a horror movie. I love the Hilton Brand but this was the worst.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hampton Inn by Hilton Sulphur LA, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Responded 8 Apr 2021
First, I want to thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn by Hilton and I also want to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. At the time, you were staying with us, we were undergoing hurricane renovations due to Hurricane Laura and Hurricane Delta hitting our town in 2020. For the inconvenience, it caused, I am sorry. The safety and satisfaction of our guests is a priority and such service is an avoidable necessity that should have been better explained. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we will be completed with the renovations at the beginning of May. I can assure you that your stay with us will be a much better experience. I would be happy to make your reservation personally and see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Respectfully, Tonya Jinks Assistant General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pioneer Army wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is undergoing EXTENSIVE renovations/construction. The room we stayed in was not completely finished and had a mildew smell that made both my wife and me sick. The bathroom had multiple mold spores and the window trim was not installed. The elevator was stripped down to the bare wood. We left earlier than planned because we were sick. After a couple of hours in fresh air we both felt better. This may be a place to stay once it gets finished but it is not ready for customers right now.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Steven D wrote a tip Feb 2023
Spring Hill, Tennessee2,664 contributions125 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was close by. See my comment about highway noise."
Read full review
RailGeekWeek C wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a Pelaton in the fitness center so bring your bike shorts and cleats for the best experience. "
Read full review
Ricki G wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stay in King bedroom"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip Aug 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii176 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you use the Hilton App, you can choose your room. I chose ground floor with a room close to the pool entrance."
Read full review
Randy M wrote a tip Aug 2017
Ottawa, Canada51 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the third floor away from the elevators for quiet - the second floor has smoking rooms and you can smell it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sulphur area.
PRICE RANGE
S$170 - S$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn sulphur hotel sulphur, sulphur hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaSulphur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMPTON INN SULPHUR / LAKE CHARLES AREA: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 57 Photos (LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe's Pizza and Pasta, Hollier's Cajun Kitchen, and LeBleu's Landing.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henning Cultural Center (1.6 km).
Is Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sulphur HotelsSulphur Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SulphurHotels near Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire