Kennebec Inn

Kennebec Inn

Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 5 B&Bs in Bath
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built in 1851 by Captain James B. Perkins, the Inn offers a park-like setting with vintage barn, easy parking, picnic area, large peaceful en-suites, and a gated in ground swimming pool. Among other things, guests enjoy a three-course breakfast served each morning on beautiful Blue Willow China, free wireless internet, easy access to town, shopping and beach. But the best part about The Kennebec Inn is its welcoming feel and the owner's attention to detail. Relax...You're at the Kennebec Inn.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

696 High St, Bath, ME 04530-1949
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Portland Intl Jetport
49.1 km
See all flights
Augusta Airport
45.5 km
See all flights
152Reviews0Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mary F wrote a review Oct 2020
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I needed a change of scenery after a long 2020 and this was the perfect choice. The Inn is beautifully maintained and the cleanest hotel/motel/B&B/Inn we have ever stayed at. Rachel, the innkeeper, walked me through all the COVID protocols prior to our booking and obviously maintained them when we were there - limited number of guests, cleansing process, food prep/serving, masks, etc.

The daily breakfast was delicious and creatively prepared. The homemade granola, fresh baked goods, and the blueberry pancakes were really well made with excellent portions. The baked apple however, is truly worth the cost of the visit!! Fantastic!!

The room was large, well appointed and again spotless. We stayed in The America’s Cup Room. It is easily accessible in a quiet corner overlooking the pool. I was able to sit in a comfy chair and read while sipping my wine as my husband relaxed on the bed watching TV. It was perfect for the two of us.

The Inn is nicely located near to Bath center and the Maine Maritime Museum. We were able to visit many locations including Georgetown, Fort Popham, Reid State Park and Boothbay Harbor in one day on a leisurely drive.

My husband and I cannot recommend Rachel and the Inn any more highly. I can’t wait to go back with my daughter for a girl’s trip in the summer so we can sit by the pool and just relax.

Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
obsoperator wrote a review Jun 2022
Bergen County, New Jersey7,567 contributions279 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights here for an alumni reunion at Bowdoin College, in the next town. Our room, America's Cup was even larger than it looks in the online photos, very spacious, lovely wood floors, original wooden beams visible from the colonial construction. Very clean, and fresh decor.

The bed was very comfortable, and we didn't need the air conditioning. (Can't open the window because of the A/C.) Huge modern bathroom with excellent shower and plenty of hot water. Bathroom mirror needs more lighting. It appears that the B&B rooms are on the rear of the house, because we heard almost zero road noise.

Hearty breakfast with a different home-made pastry each day, plenty to eat and excellent coffee. Social distancing provided in the breakfast room. Rooms are not entered by staff once you take up residence. Excellent home-made cookies to welcome us, and offered again later in our stay.

Very close to Route 1 which is convenient but did not hear a single sound from Route 1. Ten minute to Brunswick, our real destination. Did not need to eat out in Bath so can't make any recommendations. Swimming pool not that inviting, but we were not around very much in the daytime anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Asked if a late shower would disturb others, owner said rooms are laid out to prevent noise...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy K wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in Bath for a very large, family reunion. Each of my eight siblings, their off spring, as well as cousins were gathering on the Phippsberg Peninsula. My sister and I decided on the Kennebec Inn for our accommodation and a bit of pampering.
We found the inn spotlessly clean! We woke in the morning to the aroma of coffee and excellent, homemade food with fresh in season blueberry dishes such as blueberry cobbler, and danish. Real, wild, Maine blueberries have a unique flavor found nowhere else. Our hostess created her own recipes bringing blueberries to new heights.
I was amazed at the hostess’s attention to detail. She instantly recalled all names, picked up that we were relatives of a couple who arrived a day before us and seated us at the same table even though we did not mention it and I spite of the fact they arrived at breakfast 30 minutes after us. She also noticed I, although I thoroughly enjoyed her delicious food, I am unable to eat more than half so served me half portions and assured me she would bring more if I wanted.
My sister and I stayed 2 nights. My cousins stayed 3 nights. We have marked it as our go to place to stay on every future visits to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plan to spend time on the leisurely breakfast as it worth savoring.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
734donnad wrote a review Jun 2022
21 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughters and I were on a road trip headed to Acadia Park and spent one night in this fabulous place! Rachel is the BEST hostess. The strawberry scones we had for breakfast were so good. Who doesn't like fresh chocolate chip cookies in your room when you arrive! What a thoughtful little extra! Our room was spacious and decorated so cute. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us. If our travels again bring us to Bath, we will definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was the upstairs on the right side which was very spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan G wrote a review Oct 2021
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the Kennebec Inn. Our room was beautiful and big. The bed was so comfortable. We really enjoyed Rachel and her breakfast was absolutely delicious! Rachel gave us great tips for restaurants and other things to do. We visited the Bath Maritime Museum and loved it also. Highly recommend it as well.

We will definitely stay at Kennebec Inn next time we are in Bath!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Some rooms are not on the first floor so be sure and check if this is an issue for you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monique B wrote a review Oct 2014
Rimouski, Canada15 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second time at the Kennebec Inn. It was everything we remembered and more. As it was a rainy week, we had more time to appreciate the premisses. Everything is impeccable, from the bedroom to the living room, to the special care taken to accommodate my husband's special diet at breakfast! Many helpful tips from Rachel to shop and dine out. We will return, for sure, and urge friends to visit!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Any room is a good choice, because each is so different while always being quiet and impeccable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelleygirl2 wrote a review Jul 2014
Sarasota, Florida6,308 contributions825 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This inn in Bath, Maine had been recently and lovingly restored. We stayed in the Remington Room at the back of the house. The room was spacious and well appointed with lovely antiques, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was large and also very nicely updated.
The grounds are nicely maintained with a pool and bonfire pit in the back. Rachel, the owner, is charming and is very concerned that her guests enjoy their stay. She even offered bug spray when we sat outside with another couple.
Breakfast was ample with fresh local fruit, juice, coffee and an egg and potato casserole with sausage links.
We often travel with Bed and Breakfast gift cards and Rachel accepts those. My only complaint was that our window was open for the fresh air but the noise of highway 1 nearby was awful. I would choose a quieter room close the window and run a fan to drown out the highway.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Remington Room is beautiful but my only complaint was that our window was open for the fresh...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monique B wrote a review Sept 2011
Rimouski, Canada15 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably the best B & B experience of my life! Our host reinvented breakfast each of the four mornings we were there. And what extraordinary breakfasts they were! Wonderful settings inside and outside the house. We will surely return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had the smallest room, which was still huge and has windows on 3 sides. Bright, quiet and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas186336 wrote a review Oct 2019
Lincoln, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean rooms but no tea or coffee available even in common areas as said on the website.
No choice of breakfast everyone was served the same food . I would have liked to see home made jams or at least some fruit made available.We were served one eggs
Benedict with a little salad on the plate. Blueberry scones plus apple crisp was also available but no yoghurts.

Only coffee was offered although we preferred tea.
The cost of the accommodation was very high when all the added taxes were put on.
Overall we were a little disappointed after reading all the good reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Only 4 rooms not much difference. It was very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheKennebecInn, Owner at Kennebec Inn
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Dear Thomas, so sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and felt we didn't live up to our reviews. I do always have hot tea available along with decaf coffee, this is why before guest check in to their room I show them the dining room and ask what hot beverage they prefer at breakfast. . I did serve whipped cream in place of yogurt to go with the apple crisp. Perhaps I should have served both.. I did offer seconds on the Egg Benedict. Sorry if you didn't hear me ask. I do know I made afternoon coffee for some other guest. Again sorry you missed out. Sincerely. Rachel Parlin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri W wrote a review Sept 2019
Kirkwood, Missouri5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was absolutely delightful! The room was pristine in appointmemts and cleanliness. And the bathroom prompted us to inquire about copying it for our own home. But the breakfast was the over the top - fresh fruit over organic yogurt and the best eggs Benedict we've ever had. Thank you for making our travels enjoyable!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Nancy K wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan to spend time on the leisurely breakfast as it worth savoring."
Read full review
obsoperator wrote a tip Jun 2022
Bergen County, New Jersey7,567 contributions279 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Asked if a late shower would disturb others, owner said rooms are laid out to prevent noise problems."
Read full review
734donnad wrote a tip Jun 2022
21 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was the upstairs on the right side which was very spacious."
Read full review
Susan G wrote a tip Oct 2021
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms are not on the first floor so be sure and check if this is an issue for you."
Read full review
WillGen wrote a tip Aug 2020
Brooklyn, NY12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The front bedroom faces the street, and cars can be heard during daylight hours. We weren't bothered at all, but someone else might be,"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bath area.
PRICE RANGE
S$330 - S$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KENNEBEC INN: UPDATED 2023 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 54 Photos (Bath, ME) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kennebec Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Kennebec Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lisa-Marie's Made in Maine (0.8 km), Seguin Island and Lighthouse (0.6 km), and Maine's First Ship (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kennebec Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Kennebec Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kennebec Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kennebec Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mae's Cafe and Bakery, Cafe Creme, and J R Maxwell & Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kennebec Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Kennebec Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Bath.
Are there any historical sites close to Kennebec Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Davenport Memorial and City Hall (1.7 km).
All Bath HotelsBath Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BathHotels near Kennebec Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire