We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Lake Resort

76 reviews
Save
Traveller (42)
Pool & Beach (12)
Room & Suite (11)
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“conference room”(3 reviews)
“fire pit”(5 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (76)Write a Review
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
43
17
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
43
17
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference roomfire pitwonderful resortnice view of the lakelonger stayhammockdockwoodykayaksporchpropertymaine
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Since 2010, each year we have stayed there for most of a week in the Fall as we enjoy the Fryeburg Fair and the town of Bridgton, ME. Woody and his staff have always met our needs with a clean, comfortable room. It is not...More

Thank lcloonpond
Response from Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake ResortResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for such a nice review! I think I know who wrote it, but we do have a lot of people who stay with us through the Fair week. Regardless, I'm truly glad that you've enjoyed the years with us, as we enjoy our...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We where in the area and looked at the previous reviews and checked in. When we got in our room it was terrible. Ripped carpet and smelled. The whole place needs some TLC. We are not against old and vintage but this was just worn...More

Thank cnagreen
Response from Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake ResortResponded 9 October 2017

I am so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. My manager told me immediately that she refunded your payment when you reported the problems with the room. She then went down and checked the room out, but, except for a "run" in the...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We spent the weekend visiting my son who attends Bridgton Academy Prep School. I search for Bed & Breakfast in the area and they were all sold out for the weekend. I found Highland Lake Resort at the last minute and booked there. When we...More

Thank daphne32868
Response from Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake ResortResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for such a nice review! We are a small, family-run resort, and as such can be a little intimidating at first glance to those accustomed to chain hotels or larger resorts. However, our small size is what allows us to provide the service...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

This was the perfect place for our family reunion/memorial. The resort was very accommodating to our large group(10 rooms). The view, the front porches with plenty of chairs, the fire ring, the dock, we enjoyed the ping pong table too! Of course the ice machine...More

Thank 900susan
Response from Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake ResortResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review! It was so nice having you here for your gathering. Your group was a pleasure to work with, and we thank you for your kind words. We will always try to keep that feeling of the classic New England Lakefront...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017

We spent three nights at Highland Lake Resort. I wish that we could have stayed longer. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a king-size bed with a microwave and fridge in the room. The view of the lake from the porch was very...More

Thank tabby1881
Response from Robert W, Owner at Highland Lake ResortResponded 28 August 2017

So glad you had a good time! I have to admit, I have spent many an hour sitting on the back deck looking at the lake myself. (Usually when I've done a bit of maintenance in one of the rooms and sit down for "a...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345616
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Hot Tub
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (42)
Pool & Beach (12)
Room & Suite (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Judy L M
18 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Woody W | Property representative |
I'm sorry, but the rooms you booked online are Regular Rooms, and therefore don't have refrigerators. The upgraded rooms with kitchenettes (over half of our rooms) had mostly been sold out before you made your reservations... More
0
Votes
ILOONI
24 August 2014|
Answer
Response from Woody W | Property representative |
I'm sorry, but we don't allow pets in the rooms. We are known for our cleanliness and using hypo-allergenic products, so many rely upon this fact. For some September weekends we do require a 2-night minimum, but not for... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The rooms facing the Lake are quieter and have a nice view."
Read review
"If you are looking for 5 star with restaurant on site, this is not it! It's an Inn!"
Read review
"Lake Front beautiful! Leave hi-tech behind for a minute enjoy this classic resort. Thxs to the owner/staff..."
Read review
"There is a suite available, but all of the rooms that we saw were well worth the cost."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing