We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highland Lake Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Highland Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had stayed here before and wanted to go back with our friends. Our rooms had a nice view of the lake and we sat out on the porch with our friends, The owners have a fire pit now so I imagine it's very popular all season long. The owner is very personable and he said he remembered me from... More 

Helpful?
Thank foxy345
INDIANAPOLIS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My only complaint, would be that they need thicker bath towels, but otherwise a clean relaxing place. The setting by the lake, corn hole and ladder ball all made foe a great night. And Woody the owner is a humous guy

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES S
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Our room was small, but clean and adequately furnished. The facilities on the lake are fine, including several wooden chairs and a grill. There is a boat ramp to launch kayaks or a power boat. My two complaints are the wifi (could not log on after repeated attempts due to password issues-the manager attempted to assist, but still no connection).... More 

Helpful?
Thank authored
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'd much rather hear about problems and get a chance to fix them than to have the same issues happen to other guests because we never learned of them. In the case of the internet, the situation was, unfortunately, out of our control. We had two days without WiFi this August, and we were going... More 

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The people were friendly, the one women we met. The room was average, nothing to write home about. Our room had a small shower stall, very hard to wash up and turn around but the water was hot and the pressure was good.

Helpful?
Thank nicolebarishian
Glenburn Center, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice view of the lake. Peaceful and quiet. Nice fire pit as well as plenty of places to cook out and a large fireplace at the waters edge. A little disappointed with the beds as the site stated pillow top mattresses but the queen size bed was far from. It we not very comfortable and was noisy with every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ida M
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here the other day! We just added the fire pit last fall, but have had the lakeside fireplace, grills, and picnic tables for almost 20 years. As for the beds, I'm sorry for the confusion. The top-of-the-line Serta pillow-top mattresses are a feature of our Executive Rooms only, which have either a king... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The rooms were very clean and had a lot of space. The lake is beautiful and we really enjoyed all of the activities especially kayaking. It was a very relaxing and we truly enjoyed all the outdoor activities.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen A
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Although not as up to date as most chains, the location is great and the owner is very friendly. This town has a variety of eating establishments from fast food through fine dining. You may need a reservation to get in the better places on the weekend. Our room was a suite with kitch and living room area, ideal for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I was a little surprised to see one, since we've been closed over the winter. But then I saw that your stay was in October. Whew! We are definitely not as "up-to-date as most chains, which, to me, is good. Most chains require upgrades whether they are needed or not. I sometimes think the costs... More 

Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Looking for accommodations for three days for ourselves and our extended family, three distinct groups, while attending the wedding of our daughter, we were not expecting more than a typical 'motel' type of room. However when we arrived we were personally greeted by Woody, the owner and when we entered our room we were overwhelmed by the pleasant and comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank James P
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Knowing that there is limited lodging options in Bridgton my wife and I had hoped that the good reviews and the comforting feeling one gets around the word "resort" would offer us lodging that we could enjoy. This was not the case. This was a typical motel with zero updates made for many many years. The beds were small and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kris B
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I'm so very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the resort! We obviously didn't live up to your expectations of what we should be, and must have been truly disappointing to you to receive a "one star" rating. I could explain the reasons for the relatively-small rooms, but I've discussed this in other guest responses before. I should... More 

Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015

A surprising nice place to stay and to sleep. We had a good price, especially with canadian-USA exchange. We would enjoy the place much longer when we saw hamac chairs and such a nice lake woww.... must be a nice place to swim.

Helpful?
Thank Nanlea

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
4.0 km away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
49 reviews
0.9 km away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgton
234 reviews
13.7 km away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
24.9 km away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
28.7 km away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Region: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Price Range: $107 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highland Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highland Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a suite available, but all of the rooms that we saw were well worth the cost.”
 of 5 bubbles jamespP110HH, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Every room has a view on the lake....you can't miss it”
 of 5 bubbles Nanlea, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have kitchenettes; rooms perpendicular to N. High St. are likely quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseB454, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Its all about the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles 135glennz, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“all the rooms have a lake front side”
 of 5 bubbles wendysQ4943PY, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay