We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Zulu Nyala Country Manor
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely surprise to find this lodge/ hotel / business venue just past Broadacres in Johannesburg. Wild animals roam the property - some obviously behind fences. Beautiful setting. Really lovely and picturesque. We had a seminar over two days and in that department this hotel can really go up a gear or two. It's about the little details and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NashB2000
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our trip to South Africa in July 2016 we stayed there prior to our safari and on the way back. I will strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a combination of comfort with first-hand nature experience. The hotel grounds teem with various birds - ibises, peacocks, herons; at the back there are zebras, various antelopes, ponies and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RusRed
seattle
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We came for two nights before a safari and two nights after with our 10 year old daughter. There are numerous mini tours - we loved Lion Park and the Elephant and Monkey Park. Christopher is an excellent guide - ask for him specifically. The room was large with one small bedroom for our daughter. 5 or 6 "house dogs"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripdog88
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

I got married at Zulu Nyala three years ago and came back to Zulu Nyala to celebrate out three year anniversary. I was warmly welcomed and located to room 2. All seemed well until I picked up that the plug points are not stable and that there was no hot water in the room. So at 10:30 pm I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvesdjuma
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Wonderful and amazing service, brilliant guide (Christopher) very well mannered and creative made things special, service was great and very friendly always willing to help when needed. beautiful scenery

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathankendalu
Reviewed 26 October 2016

When me and a group of 27 arrived at the establishment at 14H45 we checked in only to find out when we got to our rooms that the rooms were not made up, only later we got an appology saying that they had a problem with their service provider. At 16H30 half of the rooms still didn't have any linen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume Z
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the late check in. Our linen is out sourced and unfortunately it was delayed. We are in the process of improving our systems so we do not have this issue in the future.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

After along flight this was a nice hotel. Because of our anniversery we got a beautyfull room. Only the second morning the shower didn't work. Breakfast and dinner good. Try the muffins they are so good! People friendly, zebra's and impalas in the garden. We enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetraSuzan
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with shower. We do have a full time maintenance who attends to issues like these. It is important that all our guests have an enjoyable experience at Zulu Nyala Country Manor.

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We only stayed overnight at Country Manor on our way to our Zulu Nyala Photo Safari. Everything was great and we had no complaints on anything! We only had breakfast there on the day we left and it was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 619wendif
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback we strive to make all our guest experiences a memorable one.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I had the pleasure of attending a full day event here. I cannot speak about the accommodation though I can tell you that this is a great conference venue. The food was good. The variety of drinks was great. The people were very friendly and welcoming. The only let down for me was the poor layout of the pay point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We shall have a look at the challenges with the pay point and bar service. We hope to one day welcome you back to Zulu Nyala Country Manor.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I stayed at the lodge for one night on Saturday because a function I was attending was close by. Originally I had tried to book directly and thought that the rates were fairly high but on the weekend in a 4 star hotel I would have been willing to pay the premium. Fortunately I was able to reduce the rate...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michtrav_1
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need attention. We will be putting forward a plan to address these issues. In taking great care...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartwell
19.1 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
9 reviews
8.2 km away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#56 of 70 in Johannesburg
52 reviews
12.2 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 70 in Johannesburg
330 reviews
30.3 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.2 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take big city glamour, mix in some country escape, add a twist of the bushveld, warm hospitality, excellent food and truly great value - and you'll have Zulu Nyala Country Manor. Situated in gracious Chartwell on the outskirts of Northern Johannesburg on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, Country Manor is ideal for overnight stays, conferencing, business trips, functions and weddings.The Manor is home to some wild African residents. Take a stroll around the lush grounds and you'll encounter Zebra, Blesbok, springbok, Nyala and other creatures that provide a delightful taste of the bush. Despite this, you'll be just five minutes away from Johannesburg's premiere nightlife, restaurants and shopping areas. A selection of golf courses and the must see Cradle of Humankind - a world heritage site. Quality accommodation is offered on a Bed & Breakfast basis with additional meals or function catering by arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Address: 270 E Third Road, Chartwell 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Chartwell
Price Range: $129 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Country Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Zulu Nyala Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zulu Nyala Country Manor staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Zulu Nyala Country Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good access even for wheelchairs; all rooms are on the ground level”
 of 5 bubbles RusRed, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The TV channels were not working correctly however still very beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles nathankendalu, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were very large in my opinion! Beds were the biggest and most firm beds I have ever slept on! I love firm mattresses so this was a plus!”
 of 5 bubbles 619wendif, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get good directions.”
 of 5 bubbles GrantH490, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Looking for serenity - visit zulu nyala”
 of 5 bubbles nikhil3186, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5