We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Cape Arundel Inn is an extra-special place. Staying in the house with the incredible view of the ocean when you wake up in the morning, followed by gourmet breakfast that changes every day with excellent service, close to town but so peaceful and beautiful that all I wanted to do was walk as far as I could in every direction.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynn D, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We're so happy to hear that both our property and service made such a positive impact on you. We can't wait to have you back! Thank you again! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manager The Cape Arundel Inn and Resort The Old Fort... More 

Gujan-Mestras, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had always wanted to stay there and found a one of a kind deal which allowed me to do it. The reception staff is friendly and helpful and the amenities in the room are top of line. The gas fire place provides lovely heat on a November evening. Breakfast is included and great in the dining room with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gamine1949
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gamine1949, Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy that you were able to join us! Even in the colder weather, you found all the cozy comforts the property has to offer. We can't wait to have you back! Let's hope next fall is just as wonderful! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manager The Cape Arundel Inn... More 

worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing place!! We picked this place for the view and it did not disappoint. I can't imagine a better view, from our room we could see walkers point the summer home of the Bush's. Although the weather was rainy we made the best of it and staring out at that ocean was my favorite pastime. Because of the storm the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sherrie97
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear sherrie97, Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We're so pleased that we were able to create a special vacation for you. Even if the weather doesn't cooperate, the ocean never disappoints. How wonderful that you were able to embrace it! Thank you so much for the kind words, we certainly look forward to your return!... More 

Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Another fabulous stay at Cape Arundel! Since our first stay in August 2010, Cape Arundel has become our "happy place" and we return again and again. Truly a memorable place to spend a special occasion. The porch, the view of the ocean, the spectacular breakfasts are some of the highlights! Our only disappointment was that the restaurant Ocean wasn't open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tides91
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tides91, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so sorry that Ocean was not open for your stay, but it sounds like you were in such good spirits and enjoyed yourselves regardless. We so look forward to your return and are honored to be your "happy place". Thank you again! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manager The... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had a lovely long weekend in Kennebunkport. We actually stayed in the Old Fort Estate part of the Cape Arundel Inn and Resort. Whilst the decor is a little dated, the property was great. The bed comfortable, bathroom clean and a little Kitchenette although we did not use it. The weather was perfect so we borrowed the bikes to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ejaneh7
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ejaneh7, Thank you so much for the lovely review! It sounds like you really took advantage of some wonderful opportunities while staying with us. We couldn't be happier! Please join us again next year, the Old Fort will be receiving a few updates over the winter, and we're very excited to show them off! Thank you again for the... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We are at the Old Fort Lodge B&B which is part of the Inn. Set back in a residential neighborhood where it is quiet. The bedding is very comfortable and the bathroom is nice sized with great shampoo and body wash products. Staff is very professional and friendly and extremely helpful in suggesting activities. Breakfast changes daily at the Ocean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hidrfoot01
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hidrfoot01, Thank you very much for the lovely review of the Old Fort Estate. It certainly delivers when it comes to peace and quiet. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff, we just love being able to share this wonderful town with our guests. Please join us again soon! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manager The Cape Arundel... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is a beautiful Inn just outside of Kennebunkport. We had a relaxing time at this lovely location. The staff were very attentive and eating breakfast looking out over the ocean is a wonderful way to start any day.

Helpful?
Thank brownmap
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear brownmap, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We're so pleased that you found peace and relaxation during your stay with us! We would love to host you again soon! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manager The Cape Arundel Inn and Resort The Old Fort Estate More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My wife and I stayed for four nights in late September, having never been in Kennebunkport before. I believe Cape Arundel Inn was the perfect place for two Midwesterners to stay. It's right on the ocean, with all the sights and sounds that accompany. Walking along the shore is pretty much impossible to avoid. We had visualized spending long hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank JEM727
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear JEM727, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review! We're so glad to hear the chilly whether didn't slow you down from enjoying yourselves. We look forward to hosting you again in the future, I think you'll be pleased with some of the improvements we plan to implement for the next season. Thank you again... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We book to stay at Cape Arundel Inn and we're given a room at Old Fort Inn. The room was so dark the only place to read was in the bathroom or bed. The foyer rug was dirty. When I opened the window the sill was loaded with dead bugs. I notified the front desk but bugs were still there... More 

Helpful?
Thank sistekate
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear sistekate, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I want to first apologize for the lack of action taken to address any issues in the room. There were very simple solutions that could have been put into place, and I'm so sorry that they were not. I will be sure to address these with my staff.... More 

Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed at the Old Fort Inn, which is owned by the property but it is about 1/3 of a mile from the Inn. It is a country setting. The lobby was beautiful and homey. Our room was beautiful and very nicely maintain. The building we were in was a converted carriage house. The mixed the old with the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisN65
Michelle S, Manager at Cape Arundel Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChrisN65, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and were able to experience the best of both properties. We can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, Michelle Sazehn Assistant General Manger The Cape Arundel Inn and Resort The Old Fort Estate More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
2.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
593 reviews
7.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
2.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,553 reviews
1.0 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
243 reviews
2.3 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay; Cape Arundel Inn, located on exclusive Ocean Ave or Old Fort Estate, tucked away in a tranquil, wooded setting on Old Fort Ave. Guests staying in the Cape Arundel Inn building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Old Fort Estate, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the Club House featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at Old Fort Estate and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at Old Fort Estate, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: $206 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Arundel Inn & Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Cortlandt Manor, New York
over a year ago
Laconia, New Hampshire
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Arundel Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterfront view”
 of 5 bubbles I3549YPlynnd, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Even if the room does not have a sea view, it is quieter and cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles Gamine1949, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the room with a bay window overlooking the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles JEM727, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at the Old Fort Inn and I do not think there would be a bad room in the building.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisN65, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the Old Fort Inn are more affordable than the Ocean house and really very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles emilybowden79, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay