We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Official HotelUS$219*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$289*
US$219*
Great Deal
US$289*
US$289*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Start your review of The Breakwater Inn and Spa
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went There for anniversary and birthday combined. It was great. The staff was very pleasant, the dinner was fabulous, and we loved the massage. The continental breakfast was filled with great and healthy foods. Our room was spacious and comfy. Highly recommend. We'll be back. And the third floor ocean view is outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moose5183
Pesaro, Italy
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed in Kennebunkport in July 2016 for our wedding anniversary and we loved this place at the first sight. We have a room with the river view, and it's so amazing to see the sunset. The room is so large and confortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luca B
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Luca B, Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us at The Breakwater Inn and Spa. We were honored to celebrate your anniversary with you and yours. It was so very kind of you to let us know our rooms and view of the beautiful Maine coast made this stay special. Please do visit us again...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here. Nice place but not perfect by any means. We were upgraded upon check in to a "spa" room. The employee at check in was helpful. The room was small but very comfortable. The bathroom was poorly lit. The sheets and bedding were wonderful and I was prepared for a good nights sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crimsonone
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear crimsonone, Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team takes pride in ensuring that our guests expectations are exceeded in every way, and we are disappointed that this visit fell a bit short. Our team has reviewed your comments and will most certainly work to ensure we correct...

Bedford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend away to Maine this past Saturday at about 1:30 in the afternoon. I did a quick search and found most hotels booked, despite the fact that the season hasn't really started yet. I stumbled on The Breakwater, and we headed out. The hotel itself was a lovely surprise! Very calm, quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Erin S, Thank you for your recent visit! We were excited to help you and your boyfriend escape to beautiful coastal Maine. Our team enjoyed reading that you enjoyed our rooms and your check-in experience. Everyone was a bit disappointed to hear we didn't do our best to help you experience Stripers, and are sorry for any confusion we...

Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My wife and i and good friends did an overnight stay at the Breakwater Inn and Spa to celebrate the ladies birthdays.On our recommendations our friends booked the hotel and massages.My wife and i along with my adult children had stayed in Kennebunkport on multiple occasions and had found the Breakwater to be comfortable and convenient with the spa facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shawn d
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear shawn d, Thank you for your recent visit, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. The team was glad to be able to interact with you on property and via email recently to better understand how we could have improved your experience and our booking process moving forward. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Placed at the entrance to the sea for the river the place of the hotel is perfect. Then of course you have to live with the fact that the fishermen, start at 4. Which is difficult to ignore if you have your windows open during night, as we prefer. The room we where allocated was spacious with a close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens_Anne-Grete
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jens_Anne_Grete, Thank you for visiting us! We appreciate your business and feedback about your stay. Our location does put us close to the amazing boats that come in and out from the sea. We try hard to ensure that guests are comfortable with the temperature in the room so they are not disturbed by outside noise. Our team has...

Billerica, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Before I start my review, please know that we did enjoy our stay at the Inn but there were some disappointments. Our room was part of the Inn side and left a lot to be desired. Room size was large, including a nice sitting area for two with a small table in between. However, the room required a fair amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Outbacklover
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Outbackerlover, We are thrilled that you enjoyed the views of the beautiful Maine coast while staying with us. Our team tries very hard to ensure that everything in our rooms is excellently maintained, and are sorry that we didn't put our best foot forward during your stay. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct these items during...

Savannah, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This place is right on the water, with views you could only dream of! Rooms are beachy and comfortable. That bed was so cozy I could've stayed right there...if there wasn't so much to see and do. Amazing hot breakfast and afternoon snacks (no charge)! Plenty of fresh seafood close by...first time I've eaten lobster every day for a week....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schultzc1
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear schultzc1, Thank you for staying with us at Breakwater Inn and Spa. Helping guests enjoy the beautiful Maine coast and the town of Kennebunkport is something we love to do. Lobster is our specialty here. Hopefully, you were able to try out weekly lobster special and enjoy some different preparations. We do hope that you will visit us again...

New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We loved our winter getaway to Breakwater Inn and Spa .... A Christmas gift from our children for Valentine's weekend !!! We stayed in the inn and loved our room and balcony !!! It had just snowed so it was like a post card setting with the snow , water and beautiful skies !!! The staff was amazing .... thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue M
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sue M, Our team was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your winter getaway with us. Watching the snow fall on the water is so very relaxing. Your children have excellent taste in gifts! Perhaps you can all visit together soon and stay in the cottage. Whether you travel as a family or a couple, we can't wait to...

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Four of us went up to celebrate a 50th birthday with spa treatments. We had planned on going in September but due to an illness had to reschedule for February. We all had pedicures and I have to say mine was the best I have every had. The spa can accommodate 2 pedicures at a time so bring a friend,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amg429
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear amg429, We were honored to be a part of your birthday celebration. The Breakwater Spa LOVES helping friends relax together and enjoy some quality time. Tonya, our Spa Manager was thrilled to see that she and the team made your stay memorable and can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Be sure to watch our social media channels...

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
301 reviews
1.4 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
280 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: $244 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Fairfield, Connecticut
Fairfield, Connecticut
Brick, New Jersey

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room overlooking the river and ocean. great view.”
moose5183, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure of your room location and size”
679shawnd, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
schultzc1, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the King Spa rooms they have a great view and very spacious”
, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in the main hotel , not the nearby annexe .”
GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Hotel
US$219* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$289
TravelocityUS$289
CheapTicketsUS$289
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates