We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Our room was cute and spotless, but quite small and not well laid out. The breakfast was continental style. The facilities satisfactory and the location was a bit out of town. The nearby harbor town of delightful and well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macncarole
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Upon arrival Fran greeted us in the lobby and then escorted us to our rooms which were large with a table and chairs, full kitchen counter, cabinets, small refrigerator, microwave, and sink. The room, and the facility for that matter, were immaculate. The beds were very comfortable, and the location quiet. The continental breakfast was delicious homemade muffins, fresh bagels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice W
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Frances G, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and we appreciate your feed back and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. In regard to the pool chairs we value your suggestion and will be looking into addressing this in the early spring time. The next time you are visiting Lincolnville ME. we would love to have you back.

Deale, MD
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Had a horrible experience: Was told a room with 2 beds was available and then when we arrived exhausted, we were led to a room with one queen bed and told the rooms with 2 beds had been booked for months. The solution was to offer us a bunk in another "room" which was a tiny unheated office and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catwoman955
usa
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My husband and I stayed with Fran during the Lobster Festival (in Rockland) in August. In addition to a comfortable room, the location was convenient and the breakfast room was pleasant with Fran's home-baked muffins and other delights. We thoroughly enjoyed our delightful host, Fran, who had tons of personality and was very friendly and accommodating. We're from Mississippi, used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francophileusa
New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My family and I stayed at the Black Horse over a weekend in June. Our room was very dated and not particularly clean (carpet & counter stains, the room had a musty smell, etc). I requested another room and there was availability, but only for a higher price. The staff at the front desk would not move us unless we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRH_12
Poland , NY USA
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here two nights while in the area for Lobster Festival. Room was clean and everything worked fine. We were in Room 7 , and there was an ice machine outside the door. This kept the outer hallway hot all day and woke us up several times every time a batch of ice dumped into the hopper. You might want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricC56
Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The Inn is run by Fran, a friendly lady who loves nothing better than to bake a delicious selection of muffins for her guests' breakfasts. We were able to choose a room at the back, overlooking the garden. It was really quiet. In fact, the whole place is quiet as it is set far back from Route 1. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
Virginia
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Check in was disorganized, but everything else was great. The rooms are dated, but clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable. Fran is charming, and you can't beat her warm homemade muffins in the morning. I actually thought this was a pretty good deal given the price of other hotels in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertha1223
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Very clean and spacious . The pool was also great. And the continental breakfast was the best with fresh blueberry muffins hard boiled eggs coffee tea juice. I will make the Black Horse Inn a mandatory stop whenever I visit Maine again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Reserved a lovely long weekend months ago through expedia, a company we use a lot...yesterday we called the inn to confirm....a woman who called herself fran g. And she could not have been any more confused and rude!! We have your rooms still, we gave them away...we tried calling you, e-mailing....apparently they tried billing us months ago...turns out...they had wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine L
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We Are truly sorry that you had a experience. But our policy is to bill at the time of the booking and your credit card was declined. there fore we could not hold your room . There was a wrong phone number given so we could not contact you. We tried calling three times to fix your problem and we...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.9 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
425 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
18.4 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
15.2 km away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our rooms are double twins, full size, queen size. Our suites consist of 2 queen beds in a room and 1 queen bed. The rooms have refrig, micro, AC, kitchen counter, table, chair, TV - our suites consist of jacuzzi, frig, micro, counter top, table, chair, TV. We offer a continental breakfast. We have a full capacity generator in case of a power failure. We have an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 2254 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5335
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Price Range: $182 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ground floor, because there are no lifts”
 of 5 bubbles Macncarole, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in back are quiet and overlook the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles francophileusa, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked our room at the back, but you might get a bit of a sea view from the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 694hilaryh, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Very close to the water.”
 of 5 bubbles patricew2015, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles L1475HTthomasp, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay