We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beachwood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
The Beachwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Beachwood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Albany, New York
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Beachwood was a pleasant surprise while staying at Old Orchard Beach. Tourist locations can get away with less than average services because people will pay for proximity, but The Beachwood is not that place. From the moment my husband and I arrived we felt welcome by the friendly staff who made sure we knew where everything was and what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent our 2nd Anniversary at Old Orchard Beach and I am so glad we chose the Beechwood for our stay. I am a travel agent and have inspected many hotels and motels over the past 13 years. The Beachwood is extremely clean, comfortable and the location can't be beat! There are outdoor grills for everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelngrl44
Newington, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Top notch, beautiful place to stay. Very comfortble. I love how everything is so nice and CLEAN. Highly recommend. I have traveled to 47 of the 50 states, and been in more countries than I can count. This place is in the top five of places to stay. Very comfortable. A great deal for the money. Management shows a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy C
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 30 October 2013

While the rooms provide a kitchenette and easy access to the beach, the location and service cannot be recommended. Yes, it is a beach town with a carnival atmosphere, but the room is literally 30 yards from the roller coaster. I would not stay here in season. The housekeeping varied from good to poor depending on the day. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Scupper N
Beachwood007, Owner at The Beachwood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your trip and wish that we could have done more to meet your needs. We haven’t been able to place when you came and which room you stayed in. This information would help us to dig a little further into what went wrong...

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We planned a trip to OBB and figured to stay on the beach we would be subjected to overpriced tired rooms, well we were blown away when we arrived at The Beachwood, it was very well priced (88) a nite in last week of Sept, very clean and directly on the beach. They had a pool which was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wheelerg
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The title says it all about this amazing beachside hotel! Our room was very nice and clean. Lots of room! We had a good kitchen area with a stove, full size refrigerator, microwave and toaster. Dishes were provided (only thing I found lacking was that there were no pans to bake in, but we were able to get a package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Z
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Yes, it's a beach motel, and yes I did rate it as excellent, because it is. My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Beachwood, and if I had it to do over, we would have spent our entire Maine vacation right in this spot. Of course it was after Oct. 1, so it was off season and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittehgrl
Rhinebeck, New York, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for our anniversary. I googled Maine and this hotel popped up. I am so happy we chose this place. The rooms are very clean and a nice size with a kitchenette. We came to get away from it all and to relax and we were able to do that. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbin J
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My mother, aunt, sister and I had the pleasure of staying at the Beachwood on October 5th. We found the rooms immaculate and nicely decorated. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Even though it was a cold dreary weekend, the bright and cheery rooms made the stay all the more pleasant. It is located right near the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda P
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited this location in the "off season". We paid $80 for a night in a room that costs $200 during high season. There was a queen bed, kitchenette with microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bathroom. We stayed on the second floor facing west, which I would recommend as you will get a lot more sun than in the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissElleeBoo

518 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One King Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
One Queen Ocean View Room (42)
Viewed
One Queen Two Twin Ocean View Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Queen Ocean Front Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Two Double Ocean View Room (46)
Viewed
Two Queen Ocean View Room (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#15 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
157 reviews
1.2 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
426 reviews
2.2 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
156 reviews
1.1 km away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
507 reviews
1.1 km away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#5 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beachwood is a family friendly ocean front lodging establishment located in the heart of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Each unit is newly remodeled and offers a full kitchenette, Keurig coffee machine, DVD player, flat screen television and a fresh beach decor. We provide complimentary coffee, newspapers, beach chairs and umbrellas, long distance telephone calls are free as is quality wifi access and we provide onsite coin operated laundry for our guests. Our beachfront pool is heated with plenty of seating and our front lawn has a barbeque area with 3 Weber grills for guests to use and additional lounge chairs. Our prime location offers spectacular ocean views and a very short walk to area attractions, restaurants, entertainment and amusements. We are an eco-friendly establishment that has invested significantly to reduce our impact on the environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beachwood

Address: 29 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2633
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $121 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beachwood 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beachwood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Beachwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second Floor, Ocean View”
 of 5 bubbles Angie_Ohio, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best view of the ocean would be to stay on the top floors”
 of 5 bubbles prettykitty1966, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are quieter and have a better view of the ocean. Book as early as possible to get the room selection you want.”
 of 5 bubbles W1614YCkarenm, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Really not a bad room in the place.”
 of 5 bubbles vermonster_10, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I liked the 2nd floor - view was beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles barbarabV5967KD, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5