We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Show Prices
#2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

During a road trip through Maine, a friend and I stayed at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center for 1 night. The rooms were quiet and clean, but I would not choose to stay here again. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, so I didn't sleep well. The wifi did not work at all. I made online reservations for one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MH_Online
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are always looking for ways to improve our property and appreciate any all feedback as to how we can do that. I am sorry to hear that you left on the note that you did and if you should reconsider staying with us when traveling to the area again please reach out to me...

Reviewed 4 August 2016

My husband & I traveled from Iowa to visit family & they recommended we stay here. We were pleased with the room as well as the reasonable rate. The staff was very polite, we had purchased ice cream & asked for bowls/spoons. They kindly accommodated us. I would defiantly stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback and we are happy to hear that your local family recommended us. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

we only stayed for one night but the room was clean, the staff were great and we were happy. the breakfast was fairly basic which was fine for us. We were only a few minutes from the university and shopping. would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

We find our convenient location to the interstate and the University is one of our strongest asset, we are happy to hear you would agree and hope we'll see you again in the future. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice clean comfortable rooms close to the main highway. Continental breakfast is good as well. Desk staff is very helpful when asking for directions or restaurants in the area. Bangor is about 20 minutes away so your not in a city environment which we like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll consider us again when traveling to the Greater Bangor area. Thank You, Jana May

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The room was spacious, a little dated but very clean and well appointed. The breakfast buffet was basic but fine. Staff were very friendly. The little bear in the room was cute. Just a few miles to shopping and the Bangor mall. Place looked like a popular stop for those of us traveling with kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
Jana M, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel and staff. The little bears in the rooms are not only cute, they also help fund our local Cancer Center. We hope to see you at our property again in the future! Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We had first booked the honeymoon suit (Large size room w/ two pull out couches) but realized real fast that was not gong to work with two teenage boys.and ourselves with one bathroom! The young women at the desk was a huge help, and suggested two rooms that had a two way door, and ended up being cheaper! The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lreichelt2016
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive feedback on our hotel and staff. With our verity of suites and standard rooms we always strive to accommodate everyone. We hope to see you at our property again in the future! Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Reviewed 2 July 2016

loved this hotel! very quiet. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. it is a bit tired...but quiet rooms are a must so i will be back!! more fresh fruit at breakfast would be great - that is my only complaint!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathera965
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are glad you found us on your way to Maine's beautiful coast! Thank you for the feedback on the rooms and breakfast, we appreciate hearing from our guest on how we can improve. We hope to see you at our property again in the future! Thank You, Jana Assistant Manager

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I am not pleased with the Black Bear Inn, The hotel is old, I was ready to overlook that. The breakfast was poor, I was ready to overlook that, but when I wanted a receipt for my room upon checking out, was told that I couldn't have a receipt because I had booked online and refused to help me. Having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cnthiadrummond
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Our apologies for the late reply to your feedback regarding your stay in June. I'm the new manager here at the Black Bear and would appreciate it if you'd be willing to reach out to me at the hotel so we can discuss the issues you had during your stay. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Lynbrook, New York
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This was our first time at the Black Bear Inn. We had previously stayed at the University Inn and Academic Suites which is their sister property. The Black Bear Inn is a nice clean motel. We did not try any of their food. It is just off of 95 and convenient to the Univ of Maine. The front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinemadeline
Greenland
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We enjoyed our recent stay here. Complimentary, wine, cheese & crackers in the late afternoon. Has a rustic feel; rooms are very clean and quiet. When you arrive, don't stop at the first set of buildings on the left; continue a little further to the inn, which is on the right--this was confusing on our first stay. Breakfast area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
920 reviews
8.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
8.1 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Milford Motel on the River
8.1 km away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
395 reviews
8.7 km away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr, Orono, ME 04473-3610
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Price Range: $156 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Inn and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King room large, but probably quieter on top floor. Had quiet night, but could hear walking on floor above me in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles bfamily4b, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get the 3rd floor, not as much noise. Doors are "thin", meaning you hear all”
 of 5 bubbles mmalinowski, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles reneet567, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We should have chosen a room on the opposite side of the hotel as we were situated directly on the highway side and it was noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles rosieposie2015, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we faced the highway and i heard nothing!”
 of 5 bubbles heathera965, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay