We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Trade Winds Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Trade Winds Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Bandon, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was adequate, but nothing special. They have a restaurant in the hotel with daily specials. There is an indoor pool. It is walking distance to the older part of downtown, which is very quaint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzyquilts
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Suzy, Thank you for your review, I hope that you enjoyed our Historic downtown. I hope that you will stay with us on your next visit. Thanks, Cheryl

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Definitely not a posh place to stay but our bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was skimpy but our amazing view of the ocean made it all worthwhile. There was a sofa which faced a sliding glass door that opened onto a balcony, all facing the ocean. We watched the sunrise every morning which was spectacular some days. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for your kind words, you are right this is the place to stay if you want clean rooms, great views and Location, Location, Location. We are upgrading every day and so we look forward to your future stay. Cheryl

Newport, Maine
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed in a balcony room with an ocean view. Our room was recently renovated and it was comfortable and clean. We spent time in the indoor pool, steam room and hot tub, these were nice, not extremely new but nice all the same. We also enjoyed the breakfast with hot pancakes. It was overall a really nice stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Berry435
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Berry, Thank you for your review and your recommendation for those wishing to stay here in the future. We look forward to your future stays. Best Cheryl

Penobscot, Maine
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. We had room in the recently renovated part of the Inn. We had a king room with our own balcony right on the harbor. It was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. It was very quiet even though there were quite a few guests there. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toni s
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Toni, Thank you for your kind words, we have worked very hard over the last couple of years on upgrading our hotel. Thank you Cheryl

Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Trade Winds. It was conveniently located right by the main street through town, easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. From the outside it looked like it was going to be dated, but the rooms were actually very nice. Our room had a balcony with a nice view of the water. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank perun99
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your accommodations. I hope that you will visit us in the future.

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The hotel ruined out trip we're day two in on our nine day vacation and I'm convinced since we're time share guests and not paying buy the day they stuck us in the back of the hotel barely a window and a bed that is the worst I've slept in in the last 25 years. I've spent in the last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerrypstrobel
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

4Hello Jerry, I am surprised by your comments; when you approached the front desk you were offered an upgrade in your room because you are a time share guest we are required to give you the room that they assign but are able to upgrade you once you check in for as little as $20. We changed out your mattress...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Helpful staff on check in. The room was very much like the rest of the hotel that we saw, in need if a touch of paint and bits chipped or peeling. Fairly spacious, the room was perfect for two adults. To be be fair, we needed a bed for the night and a roof over our heads. It was certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieron C
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kieron, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the Eclipse was closed during your stay but we do have several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel that offer great food choices. Thank you Cheryl

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This is the second time staying at the Trade Winds, for us. The condo is clean and fresh. The balcony over looks the water, and sunrise!!! Great restaurant on site, many more within walking distance. Acadia national park within driving distance for a day trip. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rshu1012
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Best, Cheryl

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Room was very clean. Having an outside deck/porch was nice to have. Walking distance to many restaurants. Across the street from the Lighthouse Museum which was on our todo list. Would have liked to have a coffee maker in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia Y
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello Patricia, Thank you for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you in the future. Cheryl

Newtown, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Excellent location and views from rooms overlooking the bay. Clean rooms, pleasant and helpful staff. Small "gripes" The desk clerk did not know whether the lower or higher number on the room A/C meant cooler. (A tab on the A/C would be simple) I was expecting better quality paper tissues, toilet paper and towels. Small things, but I was expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassio169
Cheryl L D, Director of Sales at Trade Winds Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do you know which desk clerk you were dealing with? With regards, Cheryl

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.5 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
110 reviews
0.2 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
83 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
4.6 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
4.5 km away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Trade Winds Inn

Address: 2 Park Dr, Rockland, ME 04841-3447
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Price Range: $122 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Trade Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds Motor Hotel Rockland
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trade Winds Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Trade Winds Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a high floor with ocean view balcony”
  • Ocean view
 of 5 bubbles Berry435, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Newly renovated on the harbor side”
 of 5 bubbles 524tonis, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are redoing the rooms and halls, the Bayside rooms appear to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Cassio169, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are suites that gave a balcony on thr 5th floor but not sure how to get them.”
 of 5 bubbles thedipman, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 234 is a King Suite at the back of the inn, with marina views from balcony. Nice!”
  • Toilet, sink.
  • Sink, shower, mirror.
  • Overview of room with balcony.
  • Bed, half-wall, view toward sitting area.
  • Bedroom, bureau, refrigerator, microwave, entry door
  • Sitting area sofa and half-wall.
  • Sitting area chairs, mirror, and table.
  • Refrigerator, microwave, ice bucket.
 of 5 bubbles mmwm, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay