We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portland Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Portland Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Portland Hotel & Suites, which we were informed upon check in the hotel was bought by Candlewood. When I made reservations the hotel stated breakfast was included, when checking in I asked what time breakfast started I was informed that breakfast wasn't required to be offered by Candlewood, therefore there wasn't a free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProudMom518
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I just came back from a four night stay here with my husband and 2 year old. I got a great deal on Expedia and the location is great for what we were doing. Check in was interesting. The place is kind of hard to find first off. When we arrived it was around 1 pm. I knew check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This is not a hotel at all, just a 'tween' stages grab for a little extra cash. Part construction site, part halfway house for a very shady clientele. Formerly part of the Residence Inn, now under a temporary flag. Everything makeshift, down to the 'office', which is just a couple of rooms cobbled together from the old facility. To enter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The decor was outdated and old, and though a kitchenette was provided, it simply made the room feel smaller. Wifi was awful. The free continental breakfast was limited to cereal, prepackaged pastries, some donuts, and bagels - lots of carbs. Despite some very loud people across the hall, we didn't hear any of the noise; we had a good night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtdewytotoro
Dunbarton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We just stayed here for two nights for a spur of the moment trip to Portland. Since it is peak summer tourist season in Maine, our lodging options were limited and this seemed like the best value for price. The hotel does seem to be going through some kind of transition, and the pool was closed, but the location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnP603
Verona, Maine, United States
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is undergoing upgrades I think, and so the pool isn't available. The lobby and hallways seem a bit dirty but the room was sufficient, clean, and spacious. The service at the front desk was very pleasant and kind, A+ on the service. The walls seem extremely thin.. You can hear every voice, footstep, tv, movement.. Incredibly uncomfortable to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricaM78
Thomaston, Maine
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week because we needed to be near Portland for a hospital stay. We found the suites to be clean and reasonably priced. The rooms have well equipped kitchens. The front desk was very accommodating when we unexpectedly needed to book an extra night, and even helped move our luggage. (Despite English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
Thomaston, Maine
Reviewed 30 July 2016

GOOD: Friendly staff, full kitchen with plates, cups, etc. (at least in rooms I stayed in but husband didn't do any cooking), clean & attractive rooms, 20 min. Drive to MaineMed with special rates for MaineMed patient family (I was a patient there), dogs allowed (although we left ours at kennel this time), comfy beds (although I did have 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pardonmyfrenchwrfr
Austin, TX
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I"m staying here right now. The front desk guy explained that this is the 'Portland Hotel' because Marriott has refused to let it stay Towne Place without improving the facility. The rooms smells like an old chinese restaurant covered in burnt hair. The sheets smell like mildew. If there was a single additional hotel available tonight, we would leave. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scrimshaw44
Liverpool, New York
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Our family had reservations at this hotel in July. In March, I spoke with a very knowledgeable young man about this hotel. He explained that it was under new ownership with new staff. He assured me that it would be fine. I saw the poor reviews on trip advisor and was quite concerned. I called to see if the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scarborough04074
Stephanie H, Front Office Manager at Portland Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologize for the difficulties you had in contacting our hotel. I understand how difficult it is to work through a language barrier. At the time you called, we were unfortunately short-staffed and had one of our employees whose English is difficult to understand manning the desk, and I apologize for that. He has since been moved to...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
1,189 reviews
3.8 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Portland Hotel & Suites gives you room to roam while letting you stretch your travel budget further than other hotels in Scarborough. Designed for longer stays, our hotel provides convenient residential living with three spacious floor plans. This hotel is located steps from Maine's largest shopping mall, the Maine Mall, and just a short drive to the Cumberland County Civic Center, Old Port and downtown Portland. Our spacious hotel suites include fully equipped kitchens with a stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffeemaker and kitchen utensils. Enjoy a spacious work area, free high-speed Internet, and local calls in your guest suite to stay productive and connected. Stay fit while away from home in our exercise room. After a long day, relax and unwind by our outdoor pool or take advantage of our BBQ area. Start planning your stay at our Portland Hotel & Suites in Scarborough, ME today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portland Hotel and Suites

Address: 700 Roundwood Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Portland Scarborough)
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Price Range: $141 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Portland Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Portland Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Towneplace Suites Scarborough
Scarborough Towneplace Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portland Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bangor, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portland Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 305 faces Residence Inn and was pretty quiet, despite being near highway.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnP603, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Run Away as Fast as You Can”
 of 5 bubbles Scrimshaw44, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in building one if you don't want to walk outside between building to get breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles bsgro, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We had a "studio" and it was surprisingly roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles Y5243OFjamesm, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Just ask to talk with Janet Libby and tell her your needs; she'll do her best to help!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretp778, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay