We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tidewater Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinalhaven
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Tidewater Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Tidewater Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a bad little place. We had the room with the loft for kids. Only a few things I noticed. The comforter on the bed was dirty. There was no remote for tv. When we went to get one, the man gave it to us with the wrong size batteries. It was actually quite funny. It's a small fishing town....

Thank Heather B
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night, in the Crow's Nest room, and I wish we had stayed another couple of days. If you are planning to visit Vinalhaven, you should read other reviews so you have an idea of what to expect here. It took me a while to finally post my review due to the simplistic nature...

4Thank songbird5212
Tidewater04863, Owner at Tidewater Motel, responded to this review

We were delighted by this thoughtful and honest review and hope to see these folks again. We do have a suite, however. The Harbormaster's Berth is a lovely waterfront suite that can be fully appreciated on our web site.

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It has been a great experience to be at the Vinalhaven. Nice to stay at Tidewater motel, quiet, comfortable. All you hear is the water and the wind sound. I would visit this place again. I highly recommend it.

1Thank Shaukat K
Beacon, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Perfect little motel in the heart of town. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little dated in a charming way. The rooms facing the harbor have little decks with an incredible view, literally right over the water. Early in the morning you'll hear the lobster boats chugging out. There's coffee and breakfast in the front office from 5.30...

1Thank Jerry G
Tidewater04863, Manager at Tidewater Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Jerry! I particularly enjoyed your description of the rooms as dated in a charming way - I like to think the same. We look forward to hosting you again in the future so you can discover more of Vinalhaven's beauty.

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is not the Marriott, but then it is Vinalhaven an island fishing village, but it a nice, clean, comfortable and modest hotel -- maybe the only one in the village. We took the ferry over from Rockland. Being active, we walked about 1/2 mile from the ferry landing to the hotel, although they will pick you up if requested....

1Thank Ron S
Tidewater04863, Manager at Tidewater Motel, responded to this review

Thanks, Ron, for your kind review - the two restaurants you mentioned are really outstanding. Next time, you'll have to stay again on nights when you can enjoy them as well. Hope to see you soon!

Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Motel is right in village - most rooms face the water. Motel rents bikes, kayaks, even cars to guests and the information binder in the room was very up to date and chock full of helpful info. Many rooms have kitchen facilities so you can prepare your own meals or at least eat in room or on your private deck.

Thank Vt_folks
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

The views of Carver's Harbor are really amazing. The rooms are well done and comfortable Phil and staff are the definition of welcoming. Kayaks, canoes, bikes and vans are all available for rent here. If you can't relax here you are incapable of relaxation. The sound of the tide going in and out next to The Tidewater defines the Vinalhaven...

Thank Rob M
Cocoa Beach
Reviewed 29 July 2016

If you like to watch the tides from the ocean you will enjoy this place. The ocean tides flow under the motel, back and forth , up and down. The place is clean and cozy. The owners put out a very nice continental breakfast in the morning. If you do stay there have a chat with owner Phil. He's a...

Thank Matt R
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Room #9 was our home for three glorious days in Vinalhaven and the memory of our stay there will be long lasting. With a very comfortable queen bed, a sleep sofa and a full kitchen the room was perfect for us. But the best feature was the porch with its unparalleled view of Carver Harbor and Maine's largest fleet of...

Thank Bob D
Tidewater04863, Owner at Tidewater Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for that wonderful review. It's delightful to know you enjoyed us as much as we enjoyed you.

Reviewed 12 July 2016

The Tidewater is as Down East Maine as it gets. Clean, charming in a quirky sort of way, phenomenal views from the room, a little dated here and there, superb bedding, plenty of hot water, and a great and accommodating host. Phil Crossman was wonderful from first reservation through guiding us on our way to the ferry when we (sadly)...

Thank PhDRN

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (27)
Room/Suite (5)
View from Room (5)
Dining (1)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
View from Room (2)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinalhaven
25.7 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
361 reviews
22.8 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
99 reviews
23.0 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
25.7 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
120 reviews
25.9 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tidewater Motel is built on a bridge separating Carver's Harbor to the south from Carver's Pond, its tidal estuary, to the north. The same rush of ocean water coming and going right under your harborside room once powered a blacksmith shop and grist mill on the site. Few views can equal those at the Tidewater and few places are as relaxing; the ebb and flow is nature's own sedative. Still, the world's most productive lobster fleet, anchored right outside your window, gets an early start, so you may not want to sleep in. Open year-round, the Tidewater is the island's only motel. If you want to be closer to the water, you'll have to get wet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tidewater Motel

Address: 15 Main St, P.O. Box 546, Vinalhaven, ME 04863-3920
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Vinalhaven
Price Range: $138 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Vinalhaven
Tidewater Motel Vinalhaven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tidewater Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tidewater Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read other reviews and choose a room based on your best interest. We enjoyed the Crow's Nest as a couple.”
songbird5212, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of the bay. The crows nest is a on an upper level but all rooms have a similar view.”
ronsS4916LZ, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly rooms have no views.”
Vt_folks, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room where you can sit and watch the tides from your porch.”
287mattr, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved room # 9”
MARBOB55, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5