We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tidewater Motel

    15 Main St, P.O. Box 546, Vinalhaven, ME 04863-3920
    (207) 808-7168
    Hotel website
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in VinalhavenSee available hotels in Vinalhaven
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (1)
    • Excellent60%
    • Very good30%
    • Average6%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “lobster boats” (10 reviews)
    “owner phil” (4 reviews)
    “rushing water” (4 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Shuttle Bus Service
    Private Balcony
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (91)
    There are newer reviews for Tidewater Motel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    11 - 15 of 91 reviews

    Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

    We had the best time on our first trip to Vinalhaven, staying at the Tidewater. I recommend the "Crow's Nest" room looking onto the harbor. The staff was very helpful and welcoming (as was everyone on the island!) We will definitely be back.

    Thank jfp330
    Response from Tidewater04863, Front Office Manager at Tidewater MotelResponded 12 July 2017

    Thanks so much for this great review! We loved having you stay and look forward to your return!

    Reviewed 26 June 2017

    We rented the Harbormaster suite as there were four of us. It was very roomy and the kitchen was fully stocked. The motel has a unique location over the water and the rushing water sound was soothing with a view that is hard to beat....More

    Thank Mkmk1992
    Response from Tidewater04863, Manager at Tidewater MotelResponded 14 July 2017

    Wonderful news! We look forward to seeing you again!

    Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

    Not a bad little place. We had the room with the loft for kids. Only a few things I noticed. The comforter on the bed was dirty. There was no remote for tv. When we went to get one, the man gave it to us...More

    Thank Heather B
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    My husband and I stayed for one night, in the Crow's Nest room, and I wish we had stayed another couple of days. If you are planning to visit Vinalhaven, you should read other reviews so you have an idea of what to expect here....More

    6  Thank songbird5212
    Response from Tidewater04863, Owner at Tidewater MotelResponded 5 January 2017

    We were delighted by this thoughtful and honest review and hope to see these folks again. We do have a suite, however. The Harbormaster's Berth is a lovely waterfront suite that can be fully appreciated on our web site.

    Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

    It has been a great experience to be at the Vinalhaven. Nice to stay at Tidewater motel, quiet, comfortable. All you hear is the water and the wind sound. I would visit this place again. I highly recommend it.

    1  Thank Shaukat K
    Belfast Bay Inn
    432 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Belfast
    44.4 km
    Seawall Motel
    405 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Southwest Harbor
    48.1 km
    Grand Harbor Inn
    390 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Camden
    25.7 km
    16 Bay View
    173 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in Camden
    25.7 km
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Price range
    • US$100 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 19
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Maine >
    • Mid Coast Maine >
    • Vinalhaven
    • Also Known As
    • Tidewater Hotel Vinalhaven ,
    • Tidewater Motel Vinalhaven
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (22)
    Nearby Restaurants
    SALT Restaurant
    43 reviews
    .18 km away
    Greet's Eats
    23 reviews
    .41 km away
    Downstreet Market
    31 reviews
    .07 km away
    Harbor Gawker
    32 reviews
    .05 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Blue Yonder Sail Charters - Day Tours
    31 reviews
    9.40 km away
    Stonington Village
    103 reviews
    18.23 km away
    Owls Head Transportation Museum
    316 reviews
    21.39 km away
    Owls Head Lighthouse
    301 reviews
    17.49 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Carla C
    13 June 2015|
    Response from Tidewater04863 | Property representative |
    Rooms 3-8, as well as 14 & 16 are on the ground floor on the waterfront. Rooms 9, 10, & 17 are on the second floor, above the aforementioned rooms. The Aerie & The Crow's Nest are on the third floor, above Room 17. All have... More
    22 May 2015|
    Response from sacrebleu62 | Reviewed this property |
    In summer, most rooms are $185. Suites higher.
    Room Tips
    "Definitely get a room with deck over the water - but most rooms fall into that category."
    Read review
    "I would opt for the harbor side, with a slight preference for the ground floor."
    Read review
    "Most relaxing with an expensive deck and awesome view of the harbor"
    Read review
    "Read other reviews and choose a room based on your best interest. We enjoyed the Crow's Nest as a couple."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing