We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Village by the Sea

Show Prices
#5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Village by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 710: English reviews
Start your review of Village by the Sea
 Click to rate
Saint Albans, Vermont
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We have stayed at VBTS many times, and will continue to in the future. Each condo is individually owned, so decor, updates and cleanliness vary. This particular time we stayed in 11G. Top floor unit, well decorated, updated and spacious, with gorgeous views of both the marsh and ocean. Mattresses have seen better days, but because they offer a king...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6582CEmichellea
NJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place used to be our go to place. Not anymore. We tried to take advantage of a special offering 25 percent off on advanced booking. Last time I checked, advanced booking was the day before. Their site would not accept the code. When we arrived we thought the check in clerk would give use some consideration ....nope. First she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadySith
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

I truly apologize that you had this experience as this is not the way we want any of our guests to ever feel about our hotel or staff. I was so glad to be able to email you directly regarding this negative experience. I look forward to making this right. Have a wonderful day and please call on me directly...

Skowhegan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We felt like a million bucks staying here. Staff was friendly. The kitchens were stocked up with most every thing I had in my home kitchen. Well worth the 2 hour commute to go again. Our new favorite place for a get away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleyhL8403LY
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is really wonderful to hear that you found a unit that was just right for you. We hope to see you again soon. Jill R.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing we noticed when we went in our room was the wonderful view. It was such a comfortable setting that we hated to leave and ended up having breakfast there both morning. We will definitely be going back real soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 03DonnaP55
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The views from the Avocet building (12-15) are spectacular and from the top floor in the Bobolink building (8-11) as well as the middle units in the Chickadee building (1-7). The views are of the Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge as well as some distant ocean views and are certainly relaxing and wonderful. I hope...

Scarborough, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Property was nice a few years ago but is not being well maintained now. Dirty halls pool area is disrepair. The pool and hot tub was overloaded with chlorine and seemed dirty. The room itself was very clean and nice though dated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D6510ZVwilliamw
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. It is from receiving feedback such as yours that allow us to focus efforts in areas our guests have found us deficient. We apologize for any negative experience you had and we would like you to know that you have our attention and we will work to rectify this issue. Please note that...

MOUNT POCONO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great time good value Staff very friendly Knowledgeable Safe secure and well lit Nicole is a great asset to the property Pool and such very well maintained Outside area also well kept Thank you our third time See you in late September/october

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geobod58
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nicole B., is a wonderful asset to our company and truly prides herself in offering legendary customer service and guest satisfaction. I will definitely share this review with Nicole as it is certain to put a smile on our face. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to your return this fall. Jill R.

Essex Junction
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first time for us to stay at Village by the Sea, it will not be the last. We had a great 2 bedroom unit. We lucked out with the weather. The location is great for us that enjoy going to southern Maine. The unit was very clean and the staff very friendly. Looking forward to our next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back soon. Be sure to check out our spring specials as they are fantastic. Jill R.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I stayed here overnight as a halfway point on our shopping trip. I think the thing that is best thing about this place is the value. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was very clean. The beds were comfortable and there was a very nice view of the salt marshes. It's stated that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your email. We truly apologize that you were exposed to a strong smoke smell during your last stay. Here at Village by the Sea all of our rental pool units are 100% smoke and pet free however; there are sometimes guests or owners who do not abide by these rules. I wish we had caught...

Reading
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel! I stay here frequently and always enjoy it. Be careful when selecting rooms as some are far better than others. Overall great place for family and friends. Really close to the beach and shopping centers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 20njul
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Our property is unique in the sense that all of our units are individually owned and therefore the décor is based on owner taste. We are happy to hear that you have found some wonderful units as we certainly have a bunch. Have a wonderful day! Jill R

New Hampshire
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Have been staying here for years for our off-season vacation weekends and have never even had the slightest issue with anything here! Great place to stay! Always courteous at the front desk, all staff we have encountered were always kind and helpful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sellyg
VBTS, Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon. Jill R

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.2 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
4.3 km away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
995 reviews
6.6 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
526 reviews
5.4 km away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All Suite Resort Hotel. Condominium resort hotel featuring spacious 1 and 2 bedroom condominium suites. Indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, seasonal outdoor pool, gas grills, Bocce ball court and basketball court. Situated on 11 acres bordering the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve and tidal salt marsh near Wells Beach. Great location between the popular tourist towns of Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. All units with living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. Wedding and Meeting facility with a variety of meeting spaces including Maine Ballroom and intimate Kennebunk Board Room, for inviting events by the sea. Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Village by the Sea

Address: Route 1 South, 1373 Post Road, PO Box 1107, Wells, ME 04090
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: $138 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village By The Sea Hotel Wells
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wells
#3 Family Hotel in Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Village by the Sea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Village by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inspect room thoroughly before staying! A better tip is book elsewhere!”
LadySith, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ I recommend an upper floor if you are traveling without children. That way you do not have anyone over your head. Unfortunately some guests are not considerate of that and stomp around! Not the properties fault!”
ClubspeidC, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I liked having another television in the bedroom for those times when our viewing preferences differed.”
919normam, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Depending on how long we stay or if its just the weekend we don;t get room service”
robynp467, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bottom level has the best prices.”
43darylb, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5