We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
#7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 May 2015

My husband & I wanted to get away for a weekend where we could be as close to the ocean as possible. This was it! Open the slider onto a concrete deck with a stairway right down to the ocean. Perfect for a couple with no children who were looking for a peaceful getaway. The room was very clean, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkipperToo314
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do apologize for the drapes; we were unaware that we had drapes with holes in them. This is unacceptable and we will be sure to address the problem promptly. All rooms at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort have a slightly different décor. The Beachfront Lodge was renovated less then ten years...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Lafayette's is a great place to stay if you want a clean, comfortable room. RIght on Wells Beach. Open year round, off season prices are very reasonable. I've stayed herd all four seasons and it's hard to say my favorite, probably fall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thornegagnon
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We appreciate your continued patronage. Look forward to seeing you soon!

Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We love to stay at Lafayette's during the off-season for a dose of ocean, surf, seafood, and soul-refreshing quiet. Regardless of the weather, we always feel better going to sleep listening to the surf. This April we happened to be there when weather was warmer than usual so we even got to enjoy coffee on our balcony. (We were excited...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pij S
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We truly appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 2 May 2015

My mom and I had the chance to get away and spend some time in room #208 directly on the ocean. Anytime I book a room at the Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, this is the room I request. Why you ask, well the room is directly on the oceanfront, you walk out your door and the elevator is near the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weather1995_10
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we have the opportunity to host you in the future when you are feeling better and the weather cooperates.

Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We decided to stay the night in Maine, the Comfort Inn was booked and the front desk recommended this hotel. The front desk was open at 10:30 PM and they were very nice. The room was right on the ocean, went to sleep listening to the waves. Woke up to the sun rising over the ocean, almost like Key West....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1BigSwede71
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. I am happy that you enjoyed your first stay with us. It will be my pleasure to let the housekeeping staff know how much you appreciated their work. We look forward to hosting you in the future!

Vermont
Reviewed 26 April 2015

For over forty years, always in July, Christmas shopping in November/December and off season February as well as May or June before peak tourist season, this is my place to renew my soul. The beauty and power of the ocean will be enjoyed each and every day of the year here on Wells Beach. The staff treat you as family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneOConnor
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort over the years. We truly appreciate your continued patronage, and are happy that you enjoy all of your stays with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Old fashioned odd assortment of buildings, each different. The lowest rate rooms are quite small but ours was big with view of a not very interesting beach. Best thing was inexpensive but very good breakfast at Forbes Restaurant in this same parking lot. We were there for a week but left early when they increased rate by $40 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VerusX
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It appears that you stayed in our Motor Inn West building during your stay. These are some of our larger rooms and a lot of people appreciate the remodeled bathrooms and new carpeting. We have a range in rates depending on the room type and location. The Motor Inn West does have an older décor,...

Greenfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Twenty years and counting.........for a long weekend stay on the off season. Comfortable room. Refrigerator, microwave, bathrobe. Swimming pool, hot tub in the main building. Gas fireplace in a few rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biblib3
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your continued patronage to Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Wanted to share our favorite Maine destination with my sister and brother-in-law, who never visited area before. Chose motor lodge rooms with ocean views (albeit between buildings). The charm of the paneling and dated furniture was overshadowed by the brand new showers with the fabulous pressure and hot water; the uncrowded clean pool and jacuzzi, the punch and cookies offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed the upgrades that we have made in our Motor Inn West building. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We've been to Lafayette on Easter weekend, 2015. We had a problem with our room, and the staff fixed it in no time. In fact, they had to move us to another room, more expensive, but they charged us NO extra. We had a wonderful weekend, thanks to Lafayette's Oceanfront and its dedicated employees. We'll go back for sure !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badsanta99
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered, but we are happy that we were able correct it and make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you soon!

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Ocean View) (23)
Viewed
Economy Room (20)
Viewed
Efficiency Two Double Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.8 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
721 reviews
6.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
993 reviews
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
3.6 km away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
16.7 km away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: $69 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask for lower level room with ocean view.”
R8601SJsteves, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher Corner room, ocean view.”
W7806KZsusanp, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms offer a better view. Panorama 209 has a gas fireplace. Romance a little”
michaelbennett2016, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early, especially during "peak" season. If you don't swim, consider Fall trip for better rates and great Fall foliage!”
383kathyk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to reserve early to get a beach side room! This is a very popular place.”
vermonter0851, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5