We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Savage River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Savage River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 347: English reviews
Watford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved Savage River Lodge, situated in the in the State National Forest in Maryland near the border with Pennsylvania. It must go down as one of the most peaceful places we've ever stayed. Taking the ride in to Savage River Lodge is an experience in itself winding up a narrow track. On arrival you are greeted with a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZigTheDog
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & I just returned from a very relaxing 2-night stay in a cozy cabin at Savage River Lodge. I was a bit apprehensive given the cold weather & forecast for precipitation but we had a very relaxing time in spite of it. We still managed to get in some nice walks on the trails around the property. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
Jan R, Owner at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Gary, We should have you write our marketing materials! It sounds like you had a lovely time with us this weekend. We here at the Lodge were all excited to see the first snow of the season. So glad you had a relaxing time! Jan More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This trip was to celebrate my birthday and provided an opportunity to cram in a year's worth of vacation into 3 days. This is our 5th trip to SRL and it just gets better every time. The cabins are warm and cozy, the beds are comfortable and have the softest sheets ever, the restaurant turns out amazingly creative, fresh food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felicity N
Jan R, Owner at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Felicity N, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We're happy to hear that you and David enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you both (and the pup too!) back again soon. Thanks, Jan More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Good - beautiful setting, dog friendly, wait and restaurant staff helpful and friendly. The Bad - large mouse infestation in cabin, mouse droppings all over the bathroom on hand soap and all over the bathroom sink area the next morning. Chewed into the dog food bag (bring a container) and mouse droppings in the dry bar food area. Mice... More 

Helpful?
Thank mphenning
Jan R, Owner at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello MPhenning, We're so appreciative of the feedback you provided. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not the relaxing retreat that you were looking for! Unfortunately, we are in the woods and a mouse or two in the cabins is inevitable. If we could predict when they would be there, we could give the pest control company a... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My husband and I have been going up to Western Maryland at least once a ayear and have always enjoyed a special dinner at the Savage River Lodge. Unfortunately, this trip was quite disappointing. After arriving at 6:15 for a 6:30 reservation, we were told we were in there books for 6:00 and could no longer be seated in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TessieCW
LodgeDog, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello TessieCW, Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review! I'm so sorry you found our customer service less than stellar. We strive every day to provide the best hospitality in the area and it's obvious that we failed you. The tables on the railing overlooking the fireplace are often requested because of the fireside dining aspect.... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We have gone to SRL for a number of years and we loved the setting, restaurant and cabins.It had been a year or so since we had a cabin and we found that they are getting a bit old. It's not really up to current standards, the bathroom spoils the experience. Shower curtain moldy, insulation falling out of ceiling and... More 

Helpful?
Thank beengland
LodgeDog, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Beengland, We really appreciate you taking the time to review us! I'm sorry to hear that you've not found us as good as years past. Something like a moldy shower curtain is absolutely out of the question and against our standards. I can assure you that was resolved immediately. We continue to do upgrades to each of the cabins... More 

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here for one night in the fall. Here are the pros and cons. Pros: nice cozy cluster of cabins tucked away in the woods. Very quiet unless dogs are barking. Beautiful drive to get there. Don't go in a sports car as the road has potholes. Great place to go for downtime, and if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank crocuslover
LodgeDog, General Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello CroscusLover, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay last month. The drive in is part of the experience for sure! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and sereneness of the Lodge. We have made an effort since the beginning to be a peaceful mountain retreat. I'm sorry to hear that you found some aspects... More 

Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The location of the lodge/cabins is quite peaceful. Its set back a mile and half from the main road down a long gravel driveway. We stayed in cabin 10. The view was lovely as this cabin is set apart from the others slightly and faces the woods. Privacy was nice but could be imposed on if other visitors decide to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimflwrpwr
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Notwithstanding several calls to say we were coming with friends, we were given a cabin a long way away, not only from the main lodge, but from our friends. The key to our cabin didn't work, so we left the door unlocked for our entire visit. There were lots of trails, but they were all through the woods; there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdmuir
LodgeDog, Manager at Savage River Lodge, responded to this review

Hello jdmuir, Thank you for your comments. Hindsight is always 20/20 and regretfully it seems we did not direct you to our website where all of that information is present! The key to the door not working inexcusable and is something we will work on getting fixed immediately! The Savage River Lodge is actually located in the Savage River State... More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

SRL is not only a wonderful place to eat, but the yurt was amazing! We stayed 2 nights in one of their yurts and did not want to leave. It was clean, nicely decorated, cozy and comfortable! We walked several trails in the morning, had lunch at the lodge, and then hiked more. The park and trails are very nice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleGreenTurtle

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
8.0 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
62 reviews
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
416 reviews
29.8 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
22.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfort - Privacy - Relaxation. We often hear these words when people talk about the Savage River Lodge. Nestled within more than 700 acres of Western Maryland's Savage River State Forest, the lodge is a peaceful retreat from a busy world. Once you're here, you'll find all the elements of relaxation and comfort--fantastic food, sink-into accommodations, your own private cabin, and exceptional hospitality. Whether you prefer to watch nature from your rocking chair or spend your day in pursuit of your favorite outdoor activity, you'll take home the spirit of the forest...and the Savage River Lodge. Our eighteen luxury cabins and the nearby lodge building, surrounded by the forest, convey a rustic, lived-in comfort. Our amenities and appointments, however are decidedly upscale and infused with a genuinely friendly and relaxed hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Savage River Lodge

Address: 1600 Mt. Aetna Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Price Range: $319 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Savage River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savage River Hotel Frostburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Savage River Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Savage River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“nb. Internet access is only available in the main lodge and mobile phone coverage is very patchy.”
  • Cabin interior
  • Cabin interior
  • Savage River Lodge Cabin
  • Cabin interior
 of 5 bubbles ZigTheDog, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“recommend yurts if you are not bringing a dog”
 of 5 bubbles crocuslover, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 10 is set apart from other cabins and faces the woods. Cabin 1 also appeared to be set apart but faced the entry road.”
 of 5 bubbles kimflwrpwr, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed staying in a cabin that faced the woods.”
 of 5 bubbles 640ayanac, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They have cabins and yurts, take your pick”
 of 5 bubbles Electraglide2005, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay