We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1405 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3628
Hotels.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
Lol.travel
Algotels
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (37)
Bathroom (5)

About

#62 of 117 hotels in Ocean City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This charming small hotel is located just steps from the beach in the heart of Ocean City. It's the perfect place for a quiet beach getaway. Choose from standard guest rooms, efficiency rooms or two- or three-bedroom apartments. After a good night's sleep in one of our comfortable rooms, enjoy fun amenities like the indoor and outdoor pools at our sister property the Commander, two complimentary beach chairs daily for lounging on the beach, a complimentary local shuttle, and free Wi-Fi. Plus, shopping, dining, entertainment, and Ocean City's famous boardwalk are just steps away. Book your next relaxing beach vacation at The Commander Beach House Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
364Reviews0Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 104
  • 37
  • 24
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Buttered C wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
I just booked a hotel room here, after reading all of the reviews I’m worried that it will smell of smoke and have dirty bedding. If this is the case I don’t know if I can even book another hotel room. If a staff member could respond to this for some reassurance it would be much appreciated 😕.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sara S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the commander beach house for one night and we were disgusted the moment we walked into the lobby. It smelled like mold and trash. As we walked up 2 flights of stairs, there were bags of trash, dirty towels and bed sheets laying in the hall. The carpet is filthy!! We debating finding something else for the night but decided to suck it up and would leave early the next morning. We didn't even take our suitcases in. Just enough to shower and change. When we left the next morning the trash and dirty laundry was still in the hall ways. You absolutely could not pay me to stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marino wrote a review Aug 2021
Skala, Greece67 contributions8 helpful votes
Booked to stay here following my wife’s father funeral but upon arrival we were told they were overbooked. The manager was rude and did not assist us in finding other accommodations. We had to go look with our 2 young children . The facility looked dated and smelled like mildew . We were glad to leave. Be warned… it is overpriced and absolutely disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marilyn D wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
My sister booked this hotel. It looked quaint, had inviting rocking chairs on porch and was across the street from Boardwalk. For starters, no rocking chairs. The charmed stopped inside the lobby. Smelled of mildew, tiny rooms, dresser smelled so bad we lived out of our suitcases for the week. The staff was friendly and told us they would take care of us…gross exaggeration. I believe the staff was hampered by the main hotel. We asked for additional towels on Tuesday, had not received them by Thursday night. When we inquired we were told there was a towel shortage due to Covid. Okay, maybe. But what happened to the towels we put outside our door? We went to main lobby when leaving beach to ask for a bathroom and where told there wasn’t one. When we stopped in lobby again we witnessed the clerk give out A BATHROOM CARD KEY!!!!!. The fire alarm went off twice and while we were all out there waiting everyone was complaining and exchanging stories about the same problems, linens, towels, mold mildew. We paid to Park for the week in private parking because there were no spots! If you desire to come stay at the Commander Hotel where you are treated like royalty otherwise expect to be treated like the red headed step-sister or trash if you stay at the Beach House. One pro, it is the perfect location close to boardwalk, oh and no bed bugs. We checked.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tracee S wrote a review Jul 2021
Rochester, New York111 contributions23 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Commander hotel on the boardwalk for many years and have had Zero problems. When we saw they bought the property across the street, and you could use the ammenities at the Commander, we decided to give it a try. The online picutes looked good and we usually go in June, so we could save a bit of money. We very dissapointed. We had a king room, very small. No phone, clock, closet, clock, no safe. The shower was just a trickle. The worse part, was after I showered upon check-in, I walked across the carpet and when I went to put on my sandals, my feet were black. It was very disgusting. My husband spoke to the manager and we ended up booking a room at the Commander for a HUGE amount of money, but we were very happy the room was available. The manager was very understanding, says, " It's a work in progress" and comped us the night. It's unfortunate that their name is on it, we at least expected a quality of cleanliness, we knew it wouldn't be the same as across the street. We were very happy we could change!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jamie l wrote a review May 2021
Hanover, Maryland3 contributions
I am SO lucky to have found this one of a kind, ocean front hotel with a huge patio in Ocean City, MD!!! Why didn’t anyone tell me about this place? Humm.... Very clean, great price, comfy beds/pillows, walking distance to anything you could possibly need, and did I mention, hearing the crashing waves as you drift off to sleep? Keyonna was nothing short of AMAZING at check in and even made sure I was able to park safely. My Girl! Such a great experience that part of me wants to keep it secret, but the real side of me wants to share this wonderful experience with others! Don’t think twice, book the oceanfront room if possible for the extra cost, worth it ten fold!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kimberlee94 wrote a review Apr 2021
Summit Point, West Virginia175 contributions39 helpful votes
The Commander is a nice hotel. The Staff are very nice and attentive. Rooms are clean and spacious. Beds were quite comfy. Ocean front rooms and balconies are very nice. Great location on the Boardwalk. Enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Facklam wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It feels like a motel. Our room didn’t have any bars of soap when we checked in. We could hear their alarm system beeping all night and morning long. We ordered a King Room but the room is so small the bed takes up the whole room. We were supposed to get a king sized bed and really it’s two twin boxframes put together. One of the lamps we couldn’t turn on because the knob is broken. We were placed in the first floor by the entrance and could hear everyone coming in and out. The window has no blinds so we couldn’t open the curtains because anyone passing by would see us. No breakfast nor coffee. One of the front desk ladies had a bad attitude. I will say that I was happy that the room was clean and the cleaning lady was very kind. Overall, we would not recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michelle D wrote a review Aug 2020
West Chester, Pennsylvania5 contributions4 helpful votes
We had stayed at the Buckingham Hotel on Friday and it was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Not only did I have to call 3 times because our smoke detector was going off our entire stay, there was mold all over our bathroom. And when I called they stated they would call me back and never did. I have photos of you need but this is an absolute disgrace
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill Douglas, Owner at Commander Beach House Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Sorry to hear about your stay! We will share your comments with the team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle D wrote a review Aug 2020
West Chester, Pennsylvania5 contributions4 helpful votes
We had stayed at the Buckingham Hotel on Friday the 7th and it was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Not only did I have to call 3 times because our smoke detector was going off our entire stay, there was mold all over our bathroom. And when I called they stated they would call me back and never did. I have photos of you need but this is an absolute disgrace
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buckingham hotel ocean city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Buckingham hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COMMANDER BEACH HOUSE HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 81 Photos (Ocean City, MD) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Commander Beach House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Commander Beach House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Brass Balls Saloon (0.4 km), T.C. Studios Arts & Entertainment (0.1 km), and Paradise Cove Mini Golf (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Commander Beach House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and an outdoor pool.
Which room amenities are available at Commander Beach House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Commander Beach House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Commander Beach House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malia's Cafe, Layton's, and Brass Balls Saloon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Commander Beach House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Commander Beach House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Main Street Berlin (12.3 km), Calvin B. Taylor House Museum (12.4 km), and Transpeninsular Marker (12.1 km).