We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
12552 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842-9690
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
HIExpress.com
US$141
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$159
Booking.comUS$159
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 16/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Updated 16/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#54 of 118 hotels in Ocean City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just minutes from Downtown Ocean City, Maryland and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk you will find our beautiful new property the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We offer plenty for our travelers, that is, if they can pull themselves away from the dozens of attractions nearby. The hotel is located a few miles from Berlin, MD, recently voted America's Coolest Small Town and Casino at Ocean Downs. Sunset Marina is located just down the street and offers dozens of fishing excursions along with the opportunity to see a White Marlin up close and personal! If you're here for pleasure, you will find Tanger Outlets across the street along with dining, entertainment, and all the fun that Ocean City has in store! Adventures can be found around every corner here and we definitely recommend a relaxing day trip to Assateague Island National Seashore to see the beautiful wild ponies or plan an exciting day at Trimper's Amusements where carnival rides and games await to delight people of all ag
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Public wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Casino and Gambling
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Free wifi in the business centre
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
153Reviews9Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 47
  • 13
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bleighdil wrote a review 11 Sep
16 contributions
+1
Rooms on front of building are noisy from traffic and the live music from the pool bar next door. Outside security door is not secure, despite a sign requiring a key card to enter. No key card needed because the door never locks. Complimentary coffee was unavailable after 8 p.m. Room was relatively clean. Some upgrades are definitely needed. The room is cramped with no place to sit except on the very high beds or in the desk chair. Sound-proofing is non-existent and the upstairs guest sounds like bigfoot marching across the ceiling. Happy this is a pet-friendly place, but barking at all hours does occur and lack of sound-proofing enables it to be heard everywhere. The air vent in bathroom ceiling is filthy. Caulking needs a complete overhaul. This location was perfect for visiting Assateague National Park and Assateague State Park, 8 miles away. Ocean City and the boardwalk about a mile away. Plenty of eating options on this west side of OC, without having to get mired in traffic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon Morris, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced from noise from the road. We wish you would have brought that or the barking dog to our attention and we could have either moved you to the back of the hotel away from the highway. We are making many improvement this coming off season so we hoe to see you back again next year and see our new and improved property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
derayjr wrote a review Aug 2022
NY16 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here a couple of days to be with family and spend time in Ocean city. No complaints about the room, but first morning found that the “ truck didn’t show up” so only breakfast was cereal. But the second day we did have the full breakfast that the HIE offers. Also they charge $10 per night for parking which I think is wrong. But the room is definitely cheaper than the rooms by the boardwalk. All in all, worked out ok.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon Morris, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Derayir, I am very sorry about the supply chain issues we have experienced this year. We have worked hard to make sure we have enough stocks so that when shortages do occur it has a smaller impact, but unfortunately we only have so much space to store perishable foods here. So when truck delivers are cancelled or running late we are at their mercy. We are all hoping that we can all get back to a more normal pace for 2023.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dee8306 wrote a review Jul 2022
Oakland, Maryland346 contributions105 helpful votes
Clean. Great location for going to assataque island or a short trip in to ocean city. Staff very helpful and efficient. Parking fee annoying. Delicious cinnamon buns. Nice bed. Clean. No hair dryers. Not walkable to any restaurants. Again, clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try not to be placed beside elevators. You will hear the ding when it stops at the floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
crazistevoh wrote a review Jul 2022
Troy, Michigan198 contributions77 helpful votes
Stayed an entire week. Had a great room on first floor... Beds were comfortable, wifi was strong 95% of the time. Jeff at the front desk was very personable and everyone was friendly to the kids. Pool was on the small side, but indoors and great for the kids. Only complaint was breakfast was literally the same every day, and some days it was very light. Would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lacy H wrote a review Mar 2022
Mount Union, Pennsylvania127 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed here as a family of 5. There were 4 adults and one child. We had arrived about an hour before check in. We stopped to see what the chances were to check in early. Chad at the front desk graciously allowed us to check in. He informed us that the pool was closed due to bad weather earlier in the day. When he learned that my niece was with us and would be heartbroken that the pool was closed. He said he hadn't heard any thunder since the morning and would open it for her. She was so happy and excited. The hotel is very clean. It smells so good in the lobby area. Our room had 2 queen beds and a fold out couch. It was massive! The bathroom was even very spacious. The room was spotless. The elevators were clean. The continental breakfast was hot and fresh. I didn't get her name, but the woman who was working the breakfast area was just the sweetest soul I had ever met. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. My niece was so thankful that Chad opened the pool that she decided to give him a tip, with her own money, for being so kind. If I had to pick one thing I didn't like it would be that the beds were a little too high off the ground. For someone who is vertically challenged like myself, it was quite a task getting in and out of bed. However, the beds were very comfortable. I look forward to staying here again!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Margaret D wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
100% pet friendly hotel which is impossible to find. Hot breakfast during covid. Friendly staff. Away from the craziness of the boardwalk but a 5 min car ride away. The rooms on the back of the hotel face a beautiful marsh woodland. Quick access to Assateague.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a rood on the backside facing the marsh and woods.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MustGoSeeDo wrote a review Sep 2021
Dallas, Texas154 contributions27 helpful votes
Worst holiday inn express ever! Nothing seems to work at this hotel. Would not recommend. 1. Card reader did not work, had to reinsert cards several times, reader said transaction cancelled. 2. Card Key did not open the door, walked back to front desk twice to reprogram, still busted. Staff said need to change battery for door lock. 3. Reassigned a new room, found bed bug on the sheet. Went back to front desk. 4. Reassigned another room on a different floor, shower faucet did not turn, hubby had to force unlock. 5. Shower head was clogged, water sprayed in different direction. 6. Morning came, Keurig coffee machine did not work, would not close. 7. Chair at desk, back did not stay up, just lean back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Hi MustGoSeeDo, I appreciate you sharing feedback about your stay. Our purpose is to provide the best experience for all of our guests. I’m sorry to learn you did not enjoy your lodging experience because of the maintenance issues of the room key cards, general upkeep of the amenities, and the cleanliness standards of the bed. We always make sure we create an environment that is welcoming. I assure you I will share your feedback with the hotel management as a source of our journey to improve. I also sent you a private message to ask for more details on your stay. I look forward to your response. Warm regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RodPer Travel wrote a review Jul 2021
Rockville, Maryland3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
If I could give this place a negative star rating I would. My family and I spent 4 nights there and had the worst hotel experience. Where should I start? It is disgusting to say the least. Customer service - Our stay started off horribly, at check in we were told that although we had requested a room with an accesible shower ahead of time, they "did not have these available". Even though on the phone when we called to confirm we were told all handicapped rooms had accesible showers, at check in it so happened these did not exist in the hotel. During this whole process, the staff in the front desk, Norman and Asiah, were incredibly rude, dismissive and had no intention of being helpful. They made up excuses and lied repeatedly about our situation. We escalated to the general manager, Marie Hopper, who was even worse. Norman made the mistake of putting her on speaker phone and we overheard her yelling in a condescending tone to her employee "they are not staying here for free, they can take their money and be on their merry way, that's not our problem." We were told to wait until the next morning for Bob, the maintenance manager, to help us out. This was just an excuse to get us to calm us down, the next day we were rudely told nothing could be done, our only option was to find another hotel. Clearly they do not care about their customers or making their stays comfortable. How do we tell 3 excited kids that our vacations were ruined? Unfortunately, we were unable to find alternate accommodations and my grandmother, who is in a wheelchair, had to bathe using moist towelettes during our stay. Cleanliness and appearance - The room received NO service under the pretense of COVID, but other COVID rules are not being followed, such as staff wearing masks, waiting 24 hrs in between guest stays or most important of all, actually cleaning the rooms in between guests. Even though you could go get towels and other necessities at the front desk, employees were always annoyed and complaining that they were the only ones in the front desk and couldn't take care of everything. We even overheard other guests complaining that there sheets had not been changed at check in and that there was a used bandaid in their bathroom. We also found stains in our sheets and in the bathroom walls. There was a leak on the ceiling in front of our door which was "fixed" by nailing a board to the ceiling....which clearly didn't work and kept the carpet moist and there was a horrible stench in the hallway. We had to buy room freshener spray to get us through our stay. Breakfast - average to mediocre food, just with saying that one day the milk carton we opened to serve our 4 year old with his cereal was spoiled. Thankfully we were serving it in a cup and noticed the chunks in the liquid before ingesting it. The only positive thing was the pool and location. If you do not care about sleeping in dirty sheets and being treated poorly by staff. Based on this experience we will never be staying at a Holiday Inn again, and will surely be telling our friends and family to STAY AWAY as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mrs.S wrote a review Aug 2020
15 contributions2 helpful votes
I would recommend this hotel!! Only thing we didn’t like was a guest left his two dogs have run of the hotel which made a few guest a little uneasy. So, maybe hotel staff would have address the owner about dogs that would have been awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon Morris, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2020
Mistress_S, I am sorry about the dogs being loose in the property. We do ask that all of our pet owners keep their pets leased while at the hotel. The guest that did have them off the leash was talked with and he did apologize and agreed to keep them under control and at his side. I do apologize for any inconvenienced or distress this might have caused you. I can let you know that this was not something we condoned and did address the matter with the owner immediately.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra M wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in West Ocean city for two nights. We were just looking for a quick family getaway with our two kids and our small dog. The first day we arrived, we checked in at 3pm (the listed check in time for the hotel), the lady behind the desk was very helpful and friendly. She then proceeded to tell us that it was a $25 pet fee per day. I didn't see that listed anywhere when I booked, but I chalked it up to missing it. They make you sign a contract with all your contact info just in case something happens with the dog. No biggie. Well, we dropped off our things and the dog, since we wanted to go get dinner. No sooner did we park for dinner (less than 5 min way) than we received a call from the hotel. The gentleman said our dog was having some separation anxiety and wouldn't stop barking. He said some people that were working night shift were trying to sleep and they complained. He went on to say that the dog had been barking for 45min. I said "we haven't been gone even 10min" he snapped back "well, people are complaining about it!" So we all got back into the car, arrived back at the hotel and low and behold- it wasn't our dog! My husband gave the front desk a piece of his mind and we left for dinner again. That night, when we arrived back, we went to shower, I noticed one of the little shelves in the shower was broken and just sitting on the tub and there was no shampoo, conditioner or body wash. We made due for the first night figuring once the room was cleaned the next day, all would be refilled. The next morning we woke up early in hopes of a nice breakfast at the hotel...well everything is behind the desk and it's basically just coffee. Ok, I guess that's to be expected because of COVID, but then don't advertise breakfast! We arrived back the second night after spending the day at the beach (with the dog) and the room hadn't been cleaned. Called the front desk and got shampoo and conditioner and felt very thankful we were leaving the next day. Since our room was paid through Hotels.com we didn't have to worry about anything at check out- or so we thought. The icing on the cake is that I just looked and I now have a $294 pending charge on my card. For what you ask, since we clearly already paid? Well I called and they don't know either. I'm waiting on a call back from the manager. They seriously need to get their act together!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brandon Morris, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2020
Alexandra, I am sorry to hear about your experience while you were here at the property. This year with Covid 19 has been a rather difficult year and we are all still learning what we can and cannot do to keep the virus from spreading. We had posted on the desk the new procedures about stay over service only being done every 4 days. If you want to have daily service you need to let us know in advance. It is the CDC's recommendation to limit the amount of contact between our staff and the guest to help keeping everyone safe. Unfortunately the same thing is for breakfast. We would love to be able to still have the full hot breakfast like before the virus, but due to local health codes we can only serve items that are pre-packaged. We are looking forward to going back to the way of life we had before the virus, but for now we are doing all we can to keep from spreading the virus to any of our guests. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your last stay and do hope that you will come back again and see we are better than your last stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Baja Amusements (0.3 km), Outlets Ocean City (0.7 km), and Grand Prix Amusements (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include shuttle bus service, a casino, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, free instant coffee, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smoker's BBQ Pit, Waterman's Seafood Co., and Shrimp Boat.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Ocean City, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Main Street Berlin (9.1 km), Transpeninsular Marker (13.7 km), and Calvin B. Taylor House Museum (9.2 km).