We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Five Gables Inn & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Five Gables Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great amenities: I enjoyed the hot tub in my bathroom as well as the steam room and the indoor pool. Perfect place to come down after a busy work week, especially off-season. Breakfast could need a little improvement. Otherwise great experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephan371
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear stephan371 Thank you for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed our Inn. Hope to see you again soon!

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cross that Bay Bridge and one feels instantly relaxed--but for the ultimate in relaxation, stay at the Five Gables Inn and Spa in St Michaels. My wife and I were greeted warmly and shown to our deluxe king room in the main house, and our two Corgis were delighted to find two doggie beds with a welcome dog biscuit, food/water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHUDoc
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JHUDoc, Thank you for the stellar review! It was a pleasure having the four of you at our Inn. We're so glad you enjoyed our facilities and your spa services. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at Five Gables many times and was always happy with everything however, I was a little unimpressed with this stay. The room was tired and had marks all over the walls. Old TV's and one of the two fireplaces didn't work - the one in the bedroom appeared to be broken. It didn't feel as warm and friendly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Phil S, Thank you for the feedback, we will take it to heart and work toward making improvements. I'm very sorry you were disappointed with our facilities. We hope to see you in the future.

Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Five Gables. It was a last minute overnight during the Holidays. Glad we did it. Well needed night out. When we travel north again from South Carolina we will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dognclaw
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dognclaw, Thank you so much for the great review. It was such a pleasure having you at our Inn. We look forward to seeing you again!

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay at Five Gables Inn on NYE weekend. After reading the wonderful reviews I was really looking forward to some R&R at this Inn. We specifically booked this Inn based on reviews, and the indoor pool was a big sell considering it's something to do in the middle of winter. I'll start with the positives. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDelaware
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LDelaware, I am sorry our Inn did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and feel there is always room for improvement. I sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.

Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our third year at the Five Gables Inn for the annual St. Michael's Christmas Weekend. We just live being here at this Inn. The location is perfect for town activities all weekend and the facilities are comfortable and enjoyable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. It was such a pleasure having you at our Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Locust Grove, Virginia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

December 14, 2016 Our first visit to St. Michaels was a 2 night stay (12/4-5) at Five Gables. This stay was a gift from our children in celebration of our 50th Anniversary. We were alarmed at the security issues of your Inn that we had to endure. After check in about 3:30, we were told that we were the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nanasal
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joe and Sally, I'm very sorry that you didn't feel safe at our Inn. I wish you had voiced your concerns while you were here. If you had I could have put your fears to rest. As required by law there is always someone on premises. The phone number provided would have put you in touch with that person....

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My wife and I decided to get away from family on Thanksgiving, so we spent Wednesday to Saturday in St. Michaels. We had been there during the summer months and it was bustling. In late November, however, it was just a quaint, almost sleepy town with great shops. Five Gables is a pleasant B & B right in the heart...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OntheBikeTrail
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again.

Bowie
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this B & B was. Great amenities & helpful folks to let us enjoy our time on St Michael''s. We would stay there again and recommend it to family and friends. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank blmalebranche
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Tavernier, Florida
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Nestled in the heart of quaint St Michaels this B&b was a breath of fall air. From the minute we checked in the staff was so friendly and helpful showing us around. Our room was spotless with a fireplace and small balcony. Breakfast was across the street with fresh muffins and great hard boiled eggs. They had a very adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WinnieTavernier
FiveGables, General Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the stellar review. It was such a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels and good fishing!

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.4 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
980 reviews
2.6 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
392 reviews
0.1 km away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
1.1 km away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#6 of 13 in St. Michaels
402 reviews
7.7 km away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious and truly helpful staff and a superb location. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Price Range: $217 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels
Five Gables Inn And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Five Gables Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Five Gables Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the room with a balcony. Great for watching the parade and for morning coffee and evening drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles frankm967, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All first floor units in the main building are positioned in the rear and thus away from street traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles cherokee58, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Brick House room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Nutmeg863, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“It's quieter staying next door to the breakfast building rather than in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles prafe, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6 in the main house, the side where the balconies are and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lal120g, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay