We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Mill Inn

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Mill Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Old Mill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

If you are looking for a different experience in the best possible way.This Inn was not like anywhere else we have stayed. It is a converted factory on the mill river with a waterfall . The entry and dining room are warm and welcoming .The bedroom was charming ,beautifully decorated, immuculant with comfortable linens. The bathroom was large and clean....

1Thank hawiabound
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We spent a pleasant three-day weekend here in early October. Check-in was a little different in that there is no reception desk. Assuming you have a reservation, you'll find your name on a welcoming note, along with your room key, waiting on a counter near the entrance. A buzzer allows you to call the manager should you have a question....

1Thank Marty F
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is a nice B&B but looks better in the photos than it does in person. The exterior and the setting are charming but the room decoration is more vintage than antique and comes across as kind of shabby without the chic bit. I may have rated it higher if I hadn't expected something better. It was also the most...

2Thank jetmail
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to be great, so "fine" certainly is a disappointment to us. We wish we could have better met your expectations. I didn't think our photos were so awesome as to create unrealistic expectations, but I can assure you they are all current and, if anything, might not represent...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

It was Parent weekend at Smith College. My daughter and I chose to stay at the Old Mill Inn because of the location and country like setting. Being from Southern California we never get to experience the changing seasons. Therefore, it was important to find a place that truly represented New England in the fall. This Inn was perfect! Tammy...

Thank Alexa R
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alexa, Thanks for your kind words about the Old Mill. We always love to hear that people enjoy the Mill, and this beautiful part of the country during this magical New England season, as much as we do. In fact, that's the very reason we moved here from SoCal ourselves! We have so enjoyed hosting Smith College parents and...

Sayville, New York
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed at The Old Mill Inn when we were visiting my son in Amherst. The Inn is off the beaten track but that's part of the charm. We brought our bikes and had a lovely time riding around the little town of Hatfield. Our room was right off the dining room, but was very quiet. The bed was super...

1Thank jankow5
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed Hatfield and The Old Mill Inn! We love being able to provide a comfortable place to stay for families visiting their college students or local relatives, and strive to be able to provide a personal touch that sets us apart from local hotel chains. Tammy...

Wauwatosa, WI
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The Inn is a refurbished old mill, complete with large timbers in the walls. Rooms are furnished with stylish old pieces, very comfortable. Tammie was our inn-keeper for the long weekend, and she was great. Not only was she welcoming and friendly, but the breakfast she did each morning was fabulous, including making her own croissants. We stayed there related...

Thank radknit
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

So nice to hear from you! We are so pleased you enjoyed both your Good Stock Farm cooking class (a wonderful experience, we've heard!) and your weekend with with us at the Old Mill. It's a beautiful time of year in this part of the country, and we are privileged to be part of our guests' travel plans. We hope...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We visited this establishment sept 2016 on a special trip to see New England in the fall. Mill very tired badly in need of a deep deep clean decoration very dark quite oppressive. Spent 3 nights expensive not worth the money. Our room had massive cobwebs the couple we were travelling with had ants living in the bathroom. Breakfast very...

1Thank karentwidale
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen, We always appreciate feedback, but hardly recognize the place you are describing, as it certainly is not an accurate portrayal of the Old Mill Inn. All of our TripAdvisor reviews have been a full “5-star” for cleanliness. . .and we also take great pride in our breakfasts. . .our highest ratings! You received a different hot entrée every...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This was a lovely inn with a picturesque setting. The interior design is factory chic, (exposed pipes, etc.) with very comfortable beds and linens. Unfortunately the walls in our room were very thin and I could hear the man next door snoring and blowing his nose. The lack of sleep was countered by a delicious full breakfast. I would return...

Thank AmyDakar
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed one night in one of the rooms over looking the waterfall. Big four poster bed, biggish bathroom with nice large towels, a bathtub with jets and interesting lotions. A fridge was provided. Hilariously bad art on the walls in the hall. Breakfast was yummy Crème Brulee French Toast in the nicely decorated coffee bar downstairs. There was no...

2Thank plasma40
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We support local artists by displaying their artwork, some of which is for sale. All amateur artists are welcome to submit their artwork with a local theme or inspiration. We hope to see you on a future visit!

Princeton, NJ
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Spent a quiet night in this pleasant old mill conversion that feels out of the way but is actually quite convenient to Northampton and other Pioneer Valley places. The room was small and full of stuff, but clean and comfortable. The place feels a bit neglected, though. There was no sign of an "innkeeper" but only two women who seemed...

Thank wws68
Georg B, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review

Hello, and thanks for your review! With twelve guest rooms, we are a little bit bigger than your average B&B in this area, and we often hear comments that we offer the best of the B&B experience while offering a convenient and unique alternative to local hotels. One of the owners is at the Old Mill every day, and cooking...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (1)
Dining (6)
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
6.0 km away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
392 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
5.7 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
777 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
446 reviews
6.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Mill is a historic building located in the town of Hatfield. Originally a grist mill, the Inn underwent an extensive conversion to a very unique B&B in 2006. We are situated on the Mill River, and our most in-demand rooms overlook the river and our own private waterfall. Our nine rooms and three extended-stay suites are beautifully appointed with vintage art and antiques, comfortable beds with luxury linens, private baths, hardwood floors, HDTV Cable, free WiFi and personal coffee stations. We have an on-site coffee shop open weekend mornings, and specialty coffee drinks are available at breakfast for our guests, free of charge. We also have one fully ADA-accessible room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: 87 School St, Hatfield, MA 01038-9732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hatfield
Price Range: $244 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill On The Falls Hotel Hatfield
Old Mill On The Falls Bed And Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would recommend asking for the second floor”
Joanne118, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the water side!”
Brooklyn_Lolita, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We like the rooms facing the river.”
CrazyDriver518, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the rooms on the waterfall side are great unless you have a problem with ambient sound, waterfalls do produce a fair amount of sound”
mkoi56, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a special view”
jimcW8354QV, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$159* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates