We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whistler's Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Whistler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Whistler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Wildwood, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Wonderful country mansion that offers a terrific, relaxing stay. Authentic rustic house that has been well maintained with rooms that are very comfortable and nicely furnished. The hosts are just simply wonderful. Great place to stay when visiting Lenox.

Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you and we are happy that you had a pleasant stay at Whistler's Inn. We hope to see you again someday. More 

Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I booked online through Expedia arrived yesterday at the Inn which is a lovely Edwardian Mansion. We were then escorted to the basement of a barn which was dirty, dangerous and quite disgusting. I will post the photos of the exposed sewer and water pipes, the plastic bags stuffed into the holes in the windows. The room smelled of mold... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Berkshires2015
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

These people did not stay at Whistler's Inn. When they first entered the room, the gentleman had a very favorable reaction; however, the wife had no initial response until later. We offered them a room at another inn (one of Berkshires' best) when they first arrived in the early afternoon, since we did not have any other available rooms. We... More 

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

İstanbul
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2015

It was a pleasant stay. Hosts were perfect .It was very nice to talking them . We loved the hot home made cakes and dishes for breakfast. Location is very good walking distance to forest and shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gulsen2015
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you! Breakfast time at Whistler's Inn is always a great time to meet other guests and to have great conversations. We are glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again someday. More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Great shakes Nice place loved it I recommend it to anyone going to Lenox and I never tire going there . Go there to relax and relaxation. Nice people own the inn. They put we me for 31 years and they didn't hang me. I liked it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceDuBois
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Maurice! You are always welcome. We have enjoyed your company over the years, and we appreciate your advice and help with the garden! There is always sherry in the library, and one of us is determined to win you at a game of chess one of these days. Your favorite room (Santa Fé Room) is waiting for you! More 

nyc
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

They are all booked for the summer. Located near Tanglewood where concerts happen. So, we lucked out because the concerts have not begun. It's very late "Spring" entering summer. The weather can be cold at night. I should not complain because we found something. However, even though I am an antique buff, there is no excuse for the bathrooms to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank foodyholic
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

It was nice to meet you, and we hope that your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your sincerity about your experience at Whistler's Inn. The bathrooms are all up-to-date in relationship to fixtures. A couple of these rooms have tiles that are original to the house, and they are still in great shape. Unfortunately, the flame in the boiler went... More 

Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Loved this place. Only got to stay one night for a concert at Tanglewood. House and grounds are lovely. Close to Tanglewood and Lenox downtown. Reasonable price. Missed out on breakfast as I had to get up and out early. Hope to get back for a longer stay.

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you. Breakfast time is a great way to meet other guests. We always have long, interesting conversations around the dining room table. It is too bad that you missed the experience. We bake everything in the morning, therefore, breakfast begins at 8:30am. There is always early morning coffee, tea and cookies upstairs in the corridor. More 

San Anselmo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Whistler's Inn is a great getaway for the family. We loved the elegant, relaxing, slower-paced environment. My kids played badmitton in the backyard, while my husband and I read in the well-stocked library. It's location is central to everything in the Berkshires. Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co., the Berkshire Theater Festival are all within a 10 mile radius, and the charming... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen A
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Hello Gretchen! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at Whistler's Inn. We really enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon! It was so nice to spend time with your family. More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We were very excited to stay here based on the photos and reviews we had seen online. Much to our dismay, when we arrived, we were less than pleased with what we saw. When we were shown our room, we asked for some water for the night, and we were told that the tap water would be fine for us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LIGAG11
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Our first priority at Whistler's Inn is to make certain that our guests are comfortable and happy with their accommodations. Responding to the last review, I would like to say that although Whistler's Inn is an old English Tudor mansion built in the 1870's, we have modern heating (a new boiler), and we offer our guests very safe space heaters... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We happened to find this Inn whilst travelling and were very pleased that we did. The house is lovely and we felt that we were welcome guests at the owners home. The house does have an interesting history and guests are invited to spend time relaxing in the library or music room. The owners are very friendly and breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob099
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you, and we hope to see you again. More 

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Randomly found this place and so happy we did!!! A unique and charming atmosphere. Definitely a one of a kind. But my favorite B&B in terms of the service and vibe. It had such a charming, artistic laid-back ambience. We stayed in such a small room that it was only used to sleep in, but it still had such a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank meradams
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We strive to make our guests happy. We would love to see you again at Whistler's Inn! More 

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
504 reviews
5.0 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
930 reviews
0.4 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 22 in Lenox
448 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Terrace Inn
Hampton Terrace Inn
#1 of 14 in Lenox
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featured on The Travel Channel and Great Escapes, this 1820 English Tudor mansion in the heart of the Berkshires was once the home of the railroad tycoon Ross Wynans Whistler, nephew of the painter James M. Whistler. Close to Tanglewood and all major Berkshire cultural venues, Whistler's Inn captures the warmth and elegance of a bygone era. On six acres of gardens and woodlands and two blocks from the center of Lenox, this quiet antique and art-filled retreat has an extensive library and French music room with a Steinway grand piano. A buffet breakfast is served with recipes inspired by the cook's world travels (Spain, France, Israel, South America, Japan and Morocco). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whistler's Inn

Address: 5 Greenwood St, Lenox, MA 01240-2029
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Price Range: $179 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whistler's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Whistler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler`s Hotel Lenox
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whistler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Convenient to town!”
 of 5 bubbles rueb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 17stephanier, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't go anytime”
 of 5 bubbles farbs22, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space don't book the smallest room.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeLeon, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check out the website to see which room or rooms will meet your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles Sci3mom, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay