We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I wish I could give this place a negative star rating. Just entering this place is horrible. It's a huge step up to open the door -- not an actual step but the doorway is raised at least a foot. As soon as I entered the room I was unhappy since I could not immediately find the light switch. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it didn’t turn out to be the enjoyable stay you. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken: • Management was informed about your suggestion and check the...

NJ
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had placed reservations for two rooms through AARP. When I drove in, I had a strange feeling about the place. I opened the car door to hear very loud music nearby. We were with our daughters. One room was placed in the front of the hotel and the other was placed in the seedy back of the hotel, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wcres
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, Malden for your recent stay in our area. We appreciate your review and regret the inconvenience. We take our reviews very seriously. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. • The front...

Claremont, nh
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The only thing going for this place is its price, we barely had an internet connection, I asked the clerk for a box of tissues and he woke us up at 11pm banging on the door with them 4 hours later, smoking room without an ashtray, door jam pieced together with no security, bunch of migrant workers hanging outside of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden during your last to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement. We have addressed your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. The hotel staff has been well trained and each room is...

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Rooms are poor. Lock didn't work properly. Ac broken. Wouldn't swap rooms as hotel was full. Entire place smells bad. Booked non smoking room and it smelled of smoke. Location is scruffy but close to Boston. Price is expensive for the quality of rooms. Check in staff were friendly but entire hotel needs refurbishment.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Skydivescott
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We regret for your experience however unlikely it may be but shall surely take them for improvement. We have checked into each of the aspects which you have mentioned in your lengthy review and have taken action seriously on...

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The first thing that greeted us was an old or new sick stain on the tarmac at the main front door then the smell and then the security screen at the front desk,we got a downstairs room that you entered by a corridor so there was no outside window in the room,i encountered 3 types of bugs in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hogweed1963
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement. At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever. We have investigated your observations with the hotel staff and have taken all necessary steps to offer the best. Special attention...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel is easy to find; we were surprised by the knowledge of the receptionist; he did her best to find the better deal for us for our next stay. Rooms are spacious and very clean; with great amenities with just renovated furniture, bathroom and carpet. The best thing is we could take easy routes via. Public services right outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy H
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is the kind of hotel where you go because you need a place to stay, and all you want is a roof over your head, clean sheets and hot water. The hotel delivers these, and nothing more. The rooms are billed "non-smoking", but by now the smoke is embedded into the carpets, and the place seriously needs a renovation....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hd27dfh23789h7892
Telaviv
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One of the big problems in Boston is the price fixing - as the majority of 3-4 star hotels are over priced by $100-$250 and a tourist has no choice but to pay it because the lower 2-3 star lodgings are all pits that should not be open in the first place. The Econo Lodge in Malden should be put...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank savvy11
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent last visit to our area and appreciate the review. We have engaged a professional team for regular cleaning with a strict instruction to check the rooms and amenities of the room before checking in a new guest. We request you to make a note of our efforts and consider...

Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was the worst room we have ever stayed in. The locks on the doors were broken, the door jam had been repaired but looked like a kid had fixed it and there was light shining all around the door as if the door didn't fit. The carpet was stained, there was no channel listing for the tv, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan32548
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area and the review. We are addressing your observations related to the amenities and cleanliness. Each room will be thoroughly checked before checking in a new guest. We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us. Sincerely, Hotel...

Costa Mesa, California
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have many complaints about my stay here at this particular lodging. Firstly, I booked a non smoking room but I was put into a handicapped smoking room. Then when I requested for what I originally asked for in my reservation they gave me the dirtiest room I have ever stayed at. There was an odor that lingered about the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kdang808
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate the time taken to write the review. We have checked each of the points mentioned in the lengthy review. Nevertheless we have taken each of the responsible department to task to ensure that there is no second chance to have any negative comment. We hope you would appreciate our...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malden
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
353 reviews
4.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
3.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Logan International Airport
2.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Price Range: $121 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Montevideo, Uruguay
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get an upstairs room away from the main road it might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherL183, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want Smoking Room, this is the place.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenS611, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the main floor”
 of 5 bubbles charlottek785, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms-just a place to sleep and get up and go.”
 of 5 bubbles 767lynng, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get Room 258”
 of 5 bubbles GatorGuy32, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5