We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Emerson Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Emerson Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerson Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We have been to the Emerson Pub as it is now called several times this summer. The first 2 meals were outstanding- Seared scallops and my husband had Duck. Both were excellent. More recently I had a salmon entre that was heavenly- grilled to perfection and leaning on sweet potato hash, which was more delicious than it sounded. The sweet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oceanrower2014
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for being a Pigeon Cove Tavern regular! I'm delighted to hear that you, for the most part, have enjoyed our menu options and dining experiences. The new options that you tried out the last time you came to visit are menu items that we're hoping...

California
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We hadn't planned to visit Cape Ann and did not have reservations. We booked the Emerson last minute, sight unseen on line. It is tucked away in Rockport, down small country roads. We followed our GPS and when we made the final turn onto a gravel lane we were surprised to come upon this large grey Victorian inn. Music was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLen
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for reviewing us and thank you for the great remarks! I'm glad that you had a great time staying with us and that you enjoyed The Emerson so much. You are correct that some of the bathrooms in the older section of our property are on the smaller side, which is pretty typical of a historical...

Gardner, Kansas
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Emerson by the sea is wonderful. Breakfast was great. The lobby is beautiful and the view is amazing. You can eat breakfast on the covered patio overlooking the ocean. There are also rockers on the porch to enjoy the view. Nearby there is a public walking bath that brings you along the ocean. The Staff is always friendly and offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittanyfinley
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The Emerson Inn is charming. If it wasn't for the smallish room and the view of the road (granted, we didn't spend the extra cash for a room with a view), I would have given five bubbles. A full (and delicious) breakfast is served every morning. And the dinner we had was OUT OF THIS WORLD! (I had a swordfish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rheisey
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi rheisey - Thank you for the great review! We had lovely time hosting you at Emerson Inn and Pigeon Cove Tavern and I'm happy to here that you enjoyed yourself. While some of our rooms are on the smaller side (which is typically of a historical property), we do offer some larger rooms and about half of our rooms...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The overall impression of this hotel was of a staff group that are committed to customer care. From arrival to departure all staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Quiet, comfortable room to the rear of the property albeit no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Setting was amazing and an afternoon by the pool did not go amiss....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi David - thank you for writing a review on us! I am delighted to hear that our staff was able to make your trip special for you. I will be sure to let our staff know that you had such lovely things to say about them. As you pointed out, we do not have coffee/tea makers in our room...

nj
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old historic inn so if you are looking for modern, luxury surroundings it wouldn't be for you. Our room was small but comfortable with crisp white linens And a gorgeous water view . Bathroom was small but updated . Room was very clean and a nice buffet breakfast was included. Helpful , friendly staff . Nice porch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3girls3
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hello there - thank you for taking the time to review Emerson Inn! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Also, you make fantastic points on what to do in the area. Cape Ann is a fantastic location with lots to explore, including as you mentioned, Halibut Point, which is one of my personal favorites. Hope...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely location. We had room 302 which was smallish, but nice. However, bathroom was very small and we had a bath tap that wouldn't turn completely off - it just kept running ... There was only one mirror (in the bathroom) which was a bit irritating. We ate outside which was great - my husband had the baked oysters which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi Beverley - thank you for the review! I'm sorry to hear that there were a couple of hiccups with your room. I will definitely take this information to our Facilities Manager to get the bath tap fixed and also look to install another mirror in the room. Glad to hear that you enjoyed all of your dining experiences at...

Ewing, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was our first visit out to Rockport and the Emerson didn't disappoint for our two night trip. The room we stayed at was a pretty good size and the air conditioning was amazing after a hot day out and about. Also they had USB outlets near the bed which I thought was great for a inn this old- Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OcickiFamily
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ocicki Family - We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! Thank you for your kind words on Pigeon Cove Tavern and the food, I will give Chef Doug your compliments. I'm also happy to hear that our staff was able to make your trip special for you and that you enjoyed your room and...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We stayed at Emerson Inn as we were taking a leisurely trip up the Massachusetts coast to Maine. It was recommended by someone at a gift shop in Gloucester. The inn is really beautiful, right on the shore. The rooms are clean and updated, if small. But this is typical of these wonderful old inns. There was a huge rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hi Vicki - thank you so much for the review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your night with us, even if it did rain during your stay. I agree with you though that sometimes stormy nights can be enjoyable by the ocean. Please come visit us again soon!

Rockport, MA
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We dined with friends. Waiter introduced himself as 'new' so we had an idea of what to expect. Drinks were good. Mussels were so small -difficult to find them in the shell and many were unopened during cooking process - this should have been checked before serving. Broth was excellent. Burgers were good. Wait staff needs to be professionally trained....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BTK1127
Krysten R, General Manager at Emerson Inn, responded to this review

Hello - thank you for taking the time to write your review. My sincere apologies for you not fully enjoying your experience at Pigeon Cove Tavern. We are working hard to continuously train our staff and I will make sure that we use the feedback that you have provided here to help with our training initiatives. I have already spoken...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
3.3 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
494 reviews
8.5 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
126 reviews
2.3 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
404 reviews
8.1 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
359 reviews
0.8 km away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 25 in Rockport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Emerson Inn is Cape Ann's only historic grand hotel. Thirty-six beautifully appointed rooms have been restored to reflect the quality of yesteryear with amenities that discerning travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen televisions, complimentary Wi-Fi, and telephones. Located in scenic Rockport with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn was reopened under new management in May of 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Price Range: $282 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerson Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Emerson Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a corner room if you can--views east and southeast.”
 of 5 bubbles ohiocoalminer, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third Floor -- at the end of the hallway (avoid being below the 4th floor penthouses) with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles 439jimw, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an Ocean View”
 of 5 bubbles H4302OZkathleenm, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The second floor ocean views were quite pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles 255roscoe, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“People with physical disabilities need to ask for a ground level room. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles scdm, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay