We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Orchards Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
297 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a first rate hotel, almost certainly the premier lodging in the area. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. We got an excellent night's sleep. As it was the long holiday weekend, the staff was a little overworked, but everyone was invariably pleasant and anxious to help. Rooms and bathrooms are large. Good internet service. Convenient drive to... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomM1951
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

than last time. Hotel offered a special rate and we wanted to see the new exhibits at the Mass MOCA, so we returned to the Orchards this weekend. Had a similar room to last time -- huge, fireplace, sitting area, big bathroom. Made sure not to get there early so there was no problem checking in. We left for dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Northern_Traveler00
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the hotel as a one night stop over but wish we could have stayed longer. Set in beautiful Williamstown near to the college and many churches of this New England town we stayed in one of the best rooms on out trip. Huge with a giant bed which almost required steps to get into the room was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank GedMliverpool
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Orchards Hotel for a one night stay in celebration of our 22nd anniversary. It was a busy weekend leading up to a 3 hour drive to get to our destination but it was an enjoyable drive with beautiful foliage along the way this time of year. When we arrived at the The Orchards Hotel my wife had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank omarti321
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed one night. But instantly I liked it. After checking in with a very nice Clerk we walked through a large sitting room with a Fireplace, Grand Piano, Chess board and big chairs to lounge around in. Also Fresh Coffee. To the right are large windows that look out over a beautiful outdoor Atrium with a Pond decorated... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahubbard130
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a tour group. Our room was huge with a nice 4 poster bed. We were welcomed with hot cider and doughnuts. We walked into town and enjoyed an autumn walk in the Berkshires and a little history as an added bonus.

Helpful?
1 Thank ZsaZsaF
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. The donuts and cider in the afternoon are a wonderful treat for the fall season. They are made locally... More 

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms clean and comfortable. Bar busy having only one staff but he did his best cheerfully. Food nothing special but edible. Breakfast had good choices. Mainly tour groups here during the season. Staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank crowbird
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchards Hotel. More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights with Tauck tours, our room was nice enough, large with a sofa and fireplace. The décor is country style and possibly a bit tired. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the Citrus Poached Salmon was not very good (wish I had read his review first) Staff were welcoming and pleasant. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlasgowAmelie
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I’m disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We will certainly share your comments with the ownership group regarding a remodel. I... More 

San Francisco
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a tour and the hotel was good. My only complaint is that this item: "Citrus Poached Scottish Salmon ~ Sautéed Arugula & Spinach, Mango Polenta Blood Orange Purée" didn't taste very good. The Salmon was "fishy" and the citrus sauce tasted as if lemon flavor was there to disguise the substandard fish. It wasn't bad enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank iQuack
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent dining experiences with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay but am equally disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinner. I will share your... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were traveling with a group on a Motor Coach. The staff that greeted us upon arrival were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is really beautiful and well decorated. There is a big room that has a gorgeous grand piano, table and chairs with a chess board set up and ready to go, a large comfy seating area in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ringluvr
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchards Hotel More 

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (376)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Bed Courtyard Room (45)
Viewed
Double Bed Room (37)
Viewed
Double Bed Suite (46)
Viewed
Double Fireplace Room (39)
Viewed
King Courtyard Room (47)
Viewed
King Fireplace Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
260 reviews
6.1 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
560 reviews
28.6 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 11 in Pittsfield
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
191 reviews
0.5 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: $150 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Orchards Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Baltimore
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Orchards Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed of a very high standard”
 of 5 bubbles GedMliverpool, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upper level room to avoid noise from people walking above.”
 of 5 bubbles omarti321, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 201 needs freshening up and improved A/C but is very large.”
 of 5 bubbles 56annm56, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the third floor are best.”
 of 5 bubbles nirenonnag, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room isn't cool upon arrival, let them know immediately. . If they are unable to fix it, check out immediately and go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller22222, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay