We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1896 House - Barnside Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
1896 House - Barnside Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

OK for one night nice bar near by Slightly dark room and need some redecorating Our door closed and we could not get out of the room finally me managed to open without assistance as it was delayed! Reasonably priced

Helpful?
Thank Ronny W
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Our Luxury Barnside Suites have more than enough lighting; between the large windows located at the front of each suite, the overhead dimming lights, and the unique lamps, our guests have the ability to make their room as dark or as light as they wish. You obviously were not locked inside of your room, as you... More 

RI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This was our third stay at the 1896 House in room 205 and it gets better every time. The place is warm and inviting as is all the staff. The Barnside rooms all have a fireplace, jacuzzi and porch. They are large suites with a dressing area with sink and closet. It is a quiet and relaxing place to escape... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan10RI
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had just one night and that was one too many! I see all good reviews here are for the suites numbered in the 201 - 206, we were in room 101. Dark, dank smell, blocked bathroom sink, reasonably clean,Very very bad beds, in fact we both had sore backs for three days after. Staff that don,t seem to care... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

First, to clear up any confusion, you stayed in one of our hotel rooms on Brookside, which is why the only posts that you will find on this page pertain to our Barnside Suites (rooms 201-206). The Brookside rooms are characterized as having a “mountain cabin” feeling to them. There are windows on the front-facing part of the rooms (looking... More 

Housatonic, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Was at the 1896 house for a wedding, had planned on staying over there, the room was amazing, very beautiful and comfortable! Would love to stay there again some time! The room had nice amenities, was tastefully decorated and nice and quiet when it came time to sleep. Loved having a porch to sit out on.

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Your nice comments are greatly appreciated. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding that you were attending! Each one of the six suites are decorated to resemble a different time period, and we would love if you visited again and got to enjoy another one of our unique rooms. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This was our second visit to the 1896 House. We stayed in one of the suites, very roomy and elegant, with a jacuzzi in the bathroom, a fireplace, a king-size bed and (best of all) a porch of wicker furniture. You can hear the brook bubbling nearby as you relax on the porch. Breakfast is served in a unit at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you returned to visit us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the suites have to offer, and that you spent time relaxing outside by the brook. The breakfast chef prepares a different meal each day for our guests, and she will be delighted to hear the compliments that... More 

Hoosick Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

To begin our stay we checked in and the amazing customer service of the front desk staff set the tone of our trip with The 1896 House! They have three different properties which are all great, this trip was special so we decided on the suites due to an amazing deal they were running on Bedandbreakfast,com! We got into our... More 

Helpful?
Thank KAYMO21
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting about your visit with us at the 1896 House and the '6 House Pub. We take pride in the customer service that our guests receive, and the front desk staff will be excited to hear that they played a major role in your enjoyable stay. Being that the ‘6 House Pub is located in the same... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Unfortunate 1night stay at 1896 House to attend Williamstown Theater Festival. Room was dirty, carpet filthy, horrible odor of mold and overpowering aerosol air freshener burned my eyes and mouth. Bugs and spider webs caked the front door lights. TV barely worked, no phone reception, awful pillows, bedding, mattress. I couldn't wait to get out of there---checked out by 8... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank grayaway
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt this way about your stay. The night before you checked in, one of our guests spilled wine on the floor of the hotel room that you were staying in. The carpet was cleaned, but unfortunately, a stain remained temporarily. Our housekeepers, with hard work, managed to remove the stain from the carpet. There is... More 

Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I booked a room at this hotel for my wife and daughter for last weekend. I should have known that with all the available rooms on a summer weekend in the Berkshires that this wasn't a great hotel. When my wife checked in she immediately called me and said the website pictures don't match the actual hotel. My wife described... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WalkswithNoCares
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. To be clear, we have three unique hotel buildings on our 17-acre property. You mentioned that you looked at pictures of our Barnside Luxury Suites, but you booked a room in one of our Country Rooms. Contrary to your assertion, all of our rooms are continuously updated and include wonderful amenities such as flat screen TV’s, authentic... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This is a charming while somewhat outdated inn. The surroundings of a bubbling brook and lovely grounds more than made up for the needed updating of the unit. The daily breakfasts were very good cooked to order by a lovely lady. The atached reataurant also was very good. Overall the stay was delightful

Helpful?
Thank Howieb
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you found the 1896 House to be charming and lovely. The Barnside Suites are not outdated; appointed in six unique period styles, these rooms were created to offer a unique and exceptional lodging experience. The Early American Suite, the Turn of the Century Suite, the Georgian Suite, the Victorian Suite,... More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016

My wife and I came here for our yearly Valentine's Day trip. We had bought a groupon deal that said we had our choice of any room. When we tried booking a room, we were told it was not available, even though it did not show it being booked by anyone else. So we booked a different room, and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank mastermason1983

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.2 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
431 reviews
2.6 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
260 reviews
9.1 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.7 km away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
208 reviews
3.4 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: $282 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1896 House - Barnside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in 201-206 or don't stay at all”
 of 5 bubbles GillianG453, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although the suites are attached motel-style they are very private - really isn't a "bad" room.”
 of 5 bubbles M6163VWbettyc, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at the pictures on their web site. Room 201 is next to the breakfast room.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan10RI, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Spa tub, fire place, branded worth the extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles LLCoolTim, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Suite 203-Georgian Suite 1725-1835, nice, good AC, cool tub,but kind of dated. Squeaky bed. Good Restaurant. Beware of breakfast help.”
 of 5 bubbles 802jayn, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay