We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

King Copper Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
King Copper Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at King Copper because we wanted to get away and experience a totally unique place like nowhere else on the planet. Copper Harbor in many ways typifies an experience that is rare, quirky and beautiful. We felt welcome and very comfortable in the cozy motel rooms which ended up being the perfect place to experience fall foliage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 180michaelm
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Had lakeview room 22 which was on the end so windows were looking out on three sides. Couldn't beat the views and sounds of the birds and water. Very comfortable accommodations with its king bed. Also had additional twin bed/day bed for additional person. Shower was adequate with plenty of hot water. Slept well. Within walking distance of "downtown" Copper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Friendship, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Rooms are rustic, and clean.....Staff was helpful and friendly....bed was good, and the bathroom modernized.Plenty of hot water...had satellite T.V..right next to bakery, and smoked fish market..., and a short stone throw from the ferry that runs out to Island Royal National park. A little pricey, but we will return next fall....Loved our stay !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We had an amazing time. Love the environment, the waterfront view, the grounds were beautiful, but most of all the motel staff went beyond accommodating our visit. I would come back again and again. Fully recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
St. Louis, MO, USA
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Pros: The location is outstanding and the grounds are very nice! The owner/manager was very nice and helpful. Cons: Overpriced for the quality, the rooms are run down and are desperately in need of updating and renovation, the bed was worn out, the WiFi was completely worthless (in fact it was the worst we've ever experienced at a hotel) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoamingCamper
Point Pleasant
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Room clean, bathroom not so much with a recently installed door that does not close. Wifi nearly non existent but that may be more the area than the hotel so be prepared. Some outlets two wire so will need an adapter for some electronics. Not awful but have stayed in many places better for less... not much competition locally. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
Waterville, Ohio
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed 2 nights here. Wasn't the best place, and copper Harbor not the most busy place to be. The view was amazing, right out of the glass sliding doors, that barely moved. My wife couldn't budge them. Family owned, in need of major renovations. Bathroom outdated and old, did not shower there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merleee
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Merleee. I am glad you enjoyed the view and quiet surroundings. It can be so relaxing around here in the fall! Sorry to hear you were not impressed with the bathroom facilities, I can assure you the shower would have been okay to use. I hope it did not disrupt the rest of your vacation....

up north
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We had the end motel next to the water. Room was very homey and comfy. It is a little outdated but it fits the "up North" décor well. Room is well kept and clean and vintage. Service during our 2 day stay was excellent. I highly recommend this motel when you are traveling and need a room to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keiffer81
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this review

Hello Keiffer81, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed you time 'up north' and can appreciate the woodsy, natural vibe of the area. It sounds like you were able to get out and experience some of the beauty of Copper Harbor too, which is wonderful. We hope...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable. It is within walking distance to the ferry over to Isle Royale. I'm not sure I'd want to stay here for a long time, but one or two nights is just fine. But the Internet is so slow that you will accomplish nothing with it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this review

D M, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Copper Harbor! Did you make it over to Isle Royale? If so, I hope it was just as great! I do apologize about the slow Internet connection. As you can imagine, being located so far in the woods can make...

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We have stayed here several times over the past 20 years in both the summer and winter seasons. The King Copper Hotel is a bit Retro but you can't beat the location. If your expecting a modern hotel with all the conveniences you are bound to be disappointed. If you accept the fact that you are staying in a wilderness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tmclain5
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this review

Tmclain5, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! And thank you for coming back multiple times. We just love it when customers can appreciate the natural beauty as much as we do, and it sounds like you have done just that. You are correct in that we are not a modern, high-tech motel. However, we find that most...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Copper Motel is the closest lodging to Lake Superior in the Keweenaw Peninsula with the largest, most breathtaking views of the beautiful water. It has been proudly family owned and operated for over 50 years. Each room includes queen or king beds, beverage station, Dish satellite TV, full bath and endless ice. Refrigerators and roll-away beds are available for an additional charge upon request. All pets are welcome with additional charge and asked not to be left alone in the room. There is a sandy beach that is great for taking a dip in the lake, catching fresh lake fish or setting kayaks/canoes out to sea. There is also free boat docking right outside your room. We are open from April-October annually and can be reached day or night. We are also located next to the Isle Royale Ferry dock and parking for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King Copper Motel

Address: 447 East Brockway Avenue, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Number of rooms: 33
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King Copper Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from King Copper Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterfront units have best view....but it's all nice.”
 of 5 bubbles nickwB5341JW, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"Waterfront View" "Walking distance to restaurants and gift shops" "Quaint and relaxing"”
 of 5 bubbles mikebR4596FK, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The room locations and views vary greatly.”
 of 5 bubbles RoamingCamper, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see room first and consider unit next to water.”
 of 5 bubbles kenb862, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an early check in or request the far north room which is the end room next to the water. Fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles Keiffer81, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5