We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
West Midlands
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed in this hotel for three nights with my husband and our dog. It's a fabulous hotel, quite old fashioned in a very good way, it's an exceptionally clean and well presented hotel, there are no tv's in the bedrooms which made a nice change, they have a tv room with free wifi which is good as there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcmjc
North East England
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We arrived with only half an hour to go to dinner so had a bit of a mad rush to get showered etc. Thankfully, the patrons ring a very loud hand bell to let you know that grubs up! I had to ring to confirm the meal in advance but I think this hotel has a DBB rule so dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allthehoggs
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We were walking the coast to coast path and found we had overextended ourselves . We just couldn't face haystacks after managing red pike and several other peaks. I was frankly exhausted. No phone reception meant we had to go down to buttermere and knock on the door of the nearest house. We called Nuala at the Royal Oak to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilysdali
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Satisfied Guests - Happy Owner - always willing to help where we can ;-)

Reviewed 14 August 2016

A true trip back in time. We felt like we were back in the 1960s (which actually had some charm by itself). The room was a bit tired and lacked features that are normally found in inns charging the rates we paid for our stay. WiFi is available, but only in one common room. Our stay included dinner and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed in the pet-friendly room in the outside wing of the hotel. A pleasant room with a retro turqoise bathroom suite, loved it! Dinner was a 3-course day menu but quite tasty and with tea/coffee in the sittingroom afterwards. Wifi is only in the television room. The hotel is beautiful with endless period features and the staff is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene-Anglofile
South Holland Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This is a small family-run hotel offering friendly service. The setting, rooms and bathrooms as well as the general decor are dated, but it does in a way give an atmosphere of its own. Dinner, served at 7pm, is included in the rate and offers a three course home cooked meal - good wholesome food! Breakfast had cereals and choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamTulips44
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This place might suit you well, but we were a little disappointed when we stayed here for a night during our Coast to Coast walk. We were expecting a village pub, but this is more of a guest house. There’s a very small bar (which had run out of real ale when we were there) but otherwise it’s a series...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave-and-Pats
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, you are totally correct that we are not a pub....the clue is in the name...Royal Oak Hotel...... and in fact the next door hotel has a covenant restricting our licence to residents hence having only a small bar. I'm sorry we were out of real ale when you were here, it is a new...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal Oak for the second time and it was every bit as good as our first time. Lovely staff and service, very homely, a real retreat and very peaceful. It is surprisingly good for the soul to be somewhere where you are unable to get a mobile signal! My 6 year old loved being fussed over by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bagpussissleeping
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay and Spot was most appreciative of the attention you gave him. Hope to see you back next year. Best wishes Susan

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Visited for one night (completing part of the Cumbria Way) and booked the family room (2 adults and 2 children). Arrived to complimentary tea and scones, and the hotel worked really hard to ensure the children would be able to eat the evening meal (which is set for adults). The room was recently decorated (very nicely!) and was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie V
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Regards Susan

Filey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

After a walk in the lake district a friend on the walk died suddenly. We returned home early and explained the circumstances to the hotel staff. She decided that they would only charge us £50 for the cancellation. So much for sympathy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fileyflyers
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry about the unfortunate circumstances of your recent visit. Under our cancellation policy £100 should have been due which we reduced to £50 as a recognition of the circumstances and we are sorry you felt that was not enough. Susan

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
743 reviews
3.4 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
895 reviews
4.0 km away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,986 reviews
2.9 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
363 reviews
4.4 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Price Range: $177 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms we saw were very basic and in need of updating”
 of 5 bubbles jamesw15, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are some rooms close to the river that may be a little quieter”
 of 5 bubbles rpx181, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not book a room without en suite facilities unless you like a loooong walk”
 of 5 bubbles family777, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we liked our room near the river. Wi-fi free but not in the room”
 of 5 bubbles davidA437, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Annexe rooms overlook the beck”
 of 5 bubbles KevinT775, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5