We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,374: English reviews
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm a frequent guest at this hotel. The website espouses that the construction is complete, a brand new renovation. I stayed on the 15th floor. It sounded as if the construction was in my room it was so loud. The construction is scheduled to cease for the evening at 1030 p.m. However, it was so loud that even setting the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelly17231
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are so sorry for any inconveniences the construction caused during your stay. General Motors is currently renovating the Ren Cen and once it is complete it will be beautiful! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband, daughter and I stay at this hotel every Wednesday night before Thanksgiving. We run in the Detroit Turkey Trot, so we get a discount on the room ($130). We've done this for about 9 years in a row now. Before this year, I would say that our experience has always been pleasant. This year, unfortunately, I describe it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KRG1968
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for all of the troubles you experienced during your stay with us. Our main goal is to always provide a relaxing and memorable experience and we are truly sorry for falling short during your stay. If you have not done so already, can you email detroitmarriott@marriott.com with the details of your experience so we can... More 

Travellers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a blast! The hotel provided and exceptional view (from my room #912), but the construction work taking place beneath my floor was extremely loud from 5p-10p. Other than that, everything was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Eckford4141
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review! We're absolutely ecstatic to hear that your stay was wonderful and you enjoyed your view. We are sorry about any inconveniences the construction caused during your stay but once the renovations are done the Ren Cen will look beautiful! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent a week at this hotel for business in November and it was what I expected. Sometime my times of returning to my room varies but each day I returned the room was cleaned. Only thing I would say is a couple of days there was only one bath towel which was slightly disappointing but didn't become an issue.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chitown962
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We're sorry to hear about the towel situation, next time don't hesitate to ask for more we will gladly bring you some! Come visit us next time you are in Detroit! More 

Hockessin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very deluxe hotel. Modern with all the amenities that come with Marriott. The room was big. Mine was on a higher floor. The wall to ceiling window - you can the river and the other side is Canada. The bar / restaurant at the second (?) floor was very good and the bar tender was fantastic. This is a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rumee
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay! Please come visit us again when you're downtown. More 

Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
368 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Marriott is situated in the iconic Renaissance Centre. We ended up parking at the public locations directly beside the hotel (lots of ample parking). It's a bit confusing finding your way around the building but it's a beautiful building currently undergoing some updates. The rooms are nice with some great views of Detroit and Windsor, Ontario. This hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank greaume
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review! We're always happy to hear that guests enjoyed all of our amenities from the room to the surrounding food and shopping areas. Please visit us next time you're in Detroit! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For a Marriott property this one needs much improvement. Not necessarily the facility itself ( although the rooms are very small) but the staff could use a refresher on manners that mom taught us! The check in process " elite" line took well over 20 minutes. The staff has NO knowledge of area I.e. pizza, convenience store, area going on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Wendy - we are so sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. If you haven't already, would you mind sharing the specific details of your experience with us at detroitmarriott@marriott.com so that we can pass along to management? Thank you. More 

State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Twas my first time for all of 28 hours to the Motor City-the once center of all things CAR. And the taxi ride to the hotel was a small portent of things to come. The cabbie, a transplant from California's Santa Barbara -his 10 cab business there laid low by Uber- moved to Detroit knowing the airport service prevented Uber... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sajay S
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

We love the creativity in this review! We always love to hear that guests enjoyed all of our amenities from the room to the surrounding food and shopping areas. Next time you visit us you should try downloading the GM Ren Cen Wayfinder app! That seems to help our guests find their way around. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is very nice, friendly people. The rooms walls were a little too thin and you could hear activity in the hallways. The inside of the tower is decorated with full sized GM automobiles-very cool! The rooms were neat and clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele739
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review, Michele! We are so pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and your room to be comfortable. We always love hearing that people enjoy our hotel decor and amenities! We hope you visit us again soon! More 

Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
248 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Though I enjoyed the way the rooms were decorated and the bed was very comfortable, I felt like, for the price, it was just an average experience. The main entryway is nothing special. The rooms are very noisy -- we could hear the people next door's conversation word for word. Also the heating or plumbing or something was very loud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganMelissa04
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, Melissa. We are very glad to hear you found your room comfortable but we are disappointed to find that your stay was uneven. We are always striving to get better and feedback like this helps! Thank you and we hope to see you next time you're in town. More 

621 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (178)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
1.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
995 reviews
0.7 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $261 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Naples, Florida
Waltham, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want two beds, say you have 4 adults in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles KRG1968, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floors, rooms with view”
 of 5 bubbles 855sajays, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a view of the river and Canada”
 of 5 bubbles Z7547RJjohnm, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for river view across into Canada”
 of 5 bubbles guest200, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get high up!”
 of 5 bubbles brbiii, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay