We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Visit hotel website
Traveller (779)
Room & Suite (274)
Dining (18)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. Our hotel in downtown Detroit, Michigan sits within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Luxury
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Now. Travel Later.
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Location
Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
18Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,892Reviews
833Photos
17Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 504
  • 688
  • 388
  • 163
  • 149
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hotel was great! Staff was nice! View was amazing!! Room was nice and clean bed could have been a little more comfortable but it wasn’t horrible!! Only issue we had was that we booked King rooms and when we got there they said they didn’t have any available so we got doubles!
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 7kay4, Thank you for staying at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center. We are glad you enjoyed our courteous service and your comfortable room. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can provide you with the room of your preference on your next visit. Joleisha Bradley Director of Room Operations
Read more
I'm a very loyal Marriott traveler, and it's unusual for me to leave a poor/average review for one of their properties. My honest opinion of the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is that it's in need of a serious renovation to bring it up to par with other Marriott
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Director of Room Operations at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Responded 3 days ago
Dear NYC_Rock, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. Exceptional service and comfort for every guest is our highest priority, and we apologize for letting you down. We truly are sorry our hotel did not match the modern experience you were expecting, and that your hotel visit was anything other than excellent. Your feedback will be shared with our team so we can use it in future renovation plans, and we appreciate you sharing your concerns. We know you have many choices when visiting Detroit, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in future. Joleisha Bradley Director of Room Operations
Read more
Stayed at the Marriott on a number of occasions visiting General Motors. Wonderfully central and close to key services, yet a five minute walk and a five dollar bus and you are in Canada. Had a steak and eggs breakfast each morning, they snuck some hash potato in on me and I
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Responded 5 days ago
Dear DavidJamesConnolly, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center once again. There is no better compliment than a guest who keeps coming back time after time! We are so glad you continue to enjoy our central location and were pleased with our delicious breakfast. Thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Joleisha Bradley Director of Room Operations
Read more
Nice hotel although can be confusing in the large GM building but has cool GM cars on display and some excellent food choices abound. Neat GM retail store as well. Great location but expensive parking like many downtown hotels.
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Billike007, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center with fellow travelers. Our great location on the Riverwalk and our convenient People Mover stop allow our guests to easily visit the best of our city's attractions. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon! Joleisha Bradley Director of Room Operations
Read more
My review is quite tardy. We are about to travel Europe! That reminded me I never wrote about my terrible experience at the Detroit Renaissance Marriott. We live outside Detroit, we had back to back concerts at Little Ceasar’s Arena Saturday and Sunday in October 2018, so we
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Director of Room Operations at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Phil H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We sincerely apologize for the poor experiences you encountered with our parking department, and our subsequent response to these concerns during your stay in October. While we can understand your frustration, please know unauthorized parking areas are determined by the Detroit Police Department. We also apologize for the delay in responding to you regarding this matter. We look forward to better servicing you at Marriott in the future. Joleisha Bradley Director of Room Operations
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementDetroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDetroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDetroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDetroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementDetroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Suite
PreviousNext
12345655
What are the hours for the concierge lounge?
0630 until 2200
0 votes
Show all answers
Freighter view
Ask for High rise rooms. And avoid city view.
0 votes
Show all answers
What are the fitness center hours?
24 Hours
0 votes
Show all answers
Does they really charge for the internet?
If you Gold member or above you wont be charged. Otherwise you will be charged.
0 votes
Show all answers
This location is a little isolated, but options are open in the center, several restaurants and a food court. However you'll need to consider traditional restaurant hours.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Ask for one that's not in the process of being de-smoked!"
"High floors have great views."
"Any one in another hotel should be fine! Failing that, a high floor with a river view"
"great views from the uppper floors, like 50 and up"
"Get a room above the 40th floor, great views!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$241 - US$754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
detroit marriott at the renaissance hotel detroitdetroit renaissance at centermarriott detroitrenaissance detroit
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganDetroit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1298
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing