We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

825 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 812: English reviews
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Worst Hilton we have ever been to. Used lotion, soaps. Hair on towels. Internet was terrible. Charge $50 on the NFL game days if you're parked their lot, they need the space for non-hotel guests. Would have liked to have tried the restaurant, but there was no time, had to get out for the non-hotel guests because I was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A5742XWangelam
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a review. We're sorry that your stay wasn't up to our high standards. We'll be sharing your feedback with the staff. As for our parking, we do not own the parking lot and we have to purchase the parking spots for our guests. The parking lot does charge $50 for...

Delaware, Ohio
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Close to the stadiums. However hotel charges an additional $50 to park during game day. Breakfast was average. Room was nice and clean and bathroom was large. Great view of downtown. Hotel rate was pretty high for a random weekend in October.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do have the additional charge for game day since we do not own the lot and we have to purchase the spots for the guests to park in the lot due to stadium...

Rosharon, Texas, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This hotel was overall average, and in a great location for my husband and I to attend a recent jazz concert. The only thing we thought was suspect was the chair in the room in which the ottoman had a nasty looking white substance. Needless to say, we didn't touch the chair.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makia H
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. We appreciate the feedback on the furniture in the room. We are actually doing a full room renovation in early 2017. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Reviewed 20 October 2016

Was excited to stay in the heart of America's come-back city, but was frustrated at the awkward signage on the building - high and difficult so see in a maze of one-way streets. Road closures in the area made for an awkward route. Building was security locked at 9 pm - which created a bit of an eerie feeling. Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1711HEchristopherl
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We understand that the one way streets can make it a little hard to get around and we agree. We're sorry you didn't get to experience all the great things to do around the hotel. We recommend checking out Visit Detroit or Detroit Experience...

toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

awesome experience , great staff , clean hotel . very close to Ford Field and Comerica park , walking distance to both venues , also walking distance to Greektown and Greektown Casino , everything is close by including good restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your guys sports weekend. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location, accommodations and staff made it great! We hope to be at your service again the next time you are in Detroit.

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This is a full-service conference hotel. They have everything you need. Even though you're downtown, you never have to leave. Great staff, great restaurant & bar. Nice workout facilities and conference rooms. Perfect location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie O
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodations and staff made it great. We hope to be at your service again soon!

gorgeous hudson valley
Reviewed 19 October 2016

First off....we couldn't have picked a better hotel for the Lions game. We got into town around noon and our room wasn't ready, so we tailgated instead (no grilling). The bathrooms are key-coded, so we got a key so we could access the bathrooms. The hotel is busy on game days with people wanting to use the restrooms, so having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2toots
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that your stay was enjoyable. We apologize for the plumbing inconvenience and will make sure it is fixed. Hopefully to be at your service again in the future.

Central Lake
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Overall My stay was great Room was a bit hot but livable would stay there again located right down town in walking distance to pretty much everything only thing I wished was that they offer extended parking on departure day so that if you are attending a game instead of having to leave and go find parking else where

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that the location made your stay great. We are going through a full room renovation early next year. For parking, we do not own the lot so we do have to purchase the spaces for our guests for overnight and that is...

Oriskany, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Was able to valet the car ($25 where everywhere else was $50) before officially checking in (too early) and then walk to the game which is right down the street. Checked in when game was over. Great experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 117carissah
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the convenient parking made your stay great! We hope to be at your service again the next time you are in Detroit!

Detroit, United States
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel provides exceptional service and I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Detroit a number of times due to the kindness and professionalism of the staff. I am always greeted with a smile and they always deliver. the proximity to great restaurants in Greektown and the safe conditions make this an excellent choice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darrel B
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and continuing to choose to stay with us. We're glad that our service and location keeps you coming back to our location. It's a pleasure to be at your service when you are in Detroit with us.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
980 reviews
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
997 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $234 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors (Hilton Honors) are better but you must remind staff if you are HH person”
 of 5 bubbles GordonChicago, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend you request a room off the 2 main streets in front of the hotel for a more quiet experience.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahsG967FY, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“high floor”
 of 5 bubbles jackiesamy, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“an interior room away from Gratiot is best”
 of 5 bubbles I6043PJwilliams, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the street side. Soooooo noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Debeatle, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay