We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed for only one night while we were visiting Michigan State. It was pretty grungy - nothing seemed very clean. Hotel room layout was good with a little kitchen, but we didn't need that. Worst part is that they have a nonsecure wifi and I stupidly left my computer on all night, connected to it. Woke up in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank biologyteacher
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am terribly sorry that you did not experience a great stay duirmg your travels. I can assure you that changes have been made so that these issues do not occur moving forward. Again, thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I arrived and the lobby was empy. After waiting an hour in a empty hotel lobby I got in my car and called Expedia to attempt to get a refund. To move me to another hotel Expedia had to call the hotel to verify that there was no answer. At this time the staff returned and I went into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory G
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I again want to apologize for the experience you had here at the Gatehouse Suites. It is something we are not proud of and should not have happened. I am happy I was able to speak with you and get you taken care of to the best of my ability. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts.

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Place was dirty and grungy, lobby has a security lock door like a bank teller, sure sign you are in a bad area, never again. The bathroom floor looked like it had not been cleaned in a year, no thanks

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rick517
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am truly sorry your stay was not up to your expectations. We have and will continue to work hard so that issues like these no longer exist. Thank you for your time and honesty, as we take each review into consideration in the process and becoming a better facility.

Reviewed 26 March 2015

I've stayed at the Gatehouse Suites numerous times throughout the years. The suites are apartment-style, with full kitchen and big bedrooms. The rooms have always been clean, and it is in a very quiet area of East Lansing--however, it has close access to many restaurants, the interstate, and main campus. Plenty of safe and well-lit parking. The hotel staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ForTheStory
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am thrilled that you enjoy your time here and continue to visit our establishment. We will continue to make your stays enjoyable in the future. Again, thank you for your time. It is greatly appreciated.

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Lights that don't work, broken shower curtain, and dirty bathroom floors, we're the highlights of our stay. And the lobby was so dirty that we dared not eat the free continental breakfast. The place is over all falling apart. Save yoursel the stress and stay somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Travelerisfun
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate that your experience was not up your expectations. We are working hard to ensure these issues does not continue. I want to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Casper, Wyoming
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We have been staying at this hotel for 5 years. This was the last time! The hotel had a fecal/sewer smell and we were given an air freshener but no solution to the problem. There was pink and black mold in the bathroom on the walls and mold on the plastic shower curtain (which I asked to be replaced but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GPS21
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I wish we could have made your stay more enjoyable especially given the fact that we have had your continued support over the years. I thank you for your honesty and hope there is a chance we see you again in the future. We have put forth th effort to get moving in the right...

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We stayed here a little out of nostalgia. It is next door to our old apartment complex, and we have stayed here during other visits to E. Lansing in the past. We were visiting MSU with our high school kids who are checking out the school, so we wanted something close to campus. It is quite near-by for people looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arbie88
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and leeting us know about your stay. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience, but I am happy you were satisfied with the promptness and helpfulness of the staff. We have since put in a preventative maintenance plna to catch those things before they get to our guest. Thank you for...

Canton, Michigan
Reviewed 22 January 2015

I can’t stress how horrible this experience was for me. To start off with I only live about 1.5 hours away however I had a very important meeting for which I wanted to ensure I was well rested. I decided to come to East Lansing the night before for this specific purpose. I was checked into my room by Molly,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank tamara101972
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that something like this happened during your time with us here at the Gatehouse Suites. Mistakes like this are unacceptable and we are working hard to ensure it never happens again. Thank you for your honest feedback and again we as a staff are greatly sorry for your experience.

Port Huron, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Very nice clean hotel. Everything in good working order. Room locks secure traveling alone and felt safe. I ended up with a second floor room as I checked in late so I needed to walk up steps to my room so if you have difficulty walking reserve a ground floor room ahead of time. There is a kitchenette fully appointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy L
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate the kind words and I am thrilled that you were able to experience a good stay during your travels. I do apologize for the noise from the heating unit, I can assure you we have worked towards correcting those promblems mmoving forward. Again, thanks for...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and were extremely pleased. Now, the furniture is scratched up, there was no iron (but there was an ironing board), not enough serving ware for our family of four, and no log in the fireplace. There was one major problem - not enough hot water. One person, maybe two could get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Daer Tricia, We are working really hard to the improve the overall appearance and comfort of our property. I want to deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. These issues has been addressed with our staff and will be handled more effectively in the future. Thank you ofr taking the time out to review our...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
4.2 km away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.8 km away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.2 km away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
#6 of 9 in East Lansing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#3 of 9 in East Lansing
37 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
423 reviews
6.3 km away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gatehouse Suites East Lansing staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see your room before you check in. Make sure everything is in working order before you unpack.”
  • Broken door frame
  • Broken door frame to bedroom
  • more broken door frames
  • When they tried to fix the door frame
  • Bugs and yuck behind the blinds
  • Loft bathroom
  • bathroom tiles
  • Loft bath - lots of storage
 of 5 bubbles N5109Q, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from Studio, be prepared to go out for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles OnTheRoad706, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor is the best, in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles ForTheStory, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Second floor suites may be a problem in the winter if there is a lot of ice and snow.”
 of 5 bubbles arbie88, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles tamara101972, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5