We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills

TravelocityUS$61*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$61*
US$61*
US$61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills
 Click to rate
Grayling, Michigan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

bm in the toilet, cob webs with spiders in bathroom.no clock, phone did not work .Beds were hard and old. No housekeeping on second day. Just a unpleasant stay would never stay again. no coffee maker just bare walls

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finewine37
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

Dear Finewine, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you...

Reviewed 14 April 2017

I didn't stay here expecting much. Just a clean, no-frills place to get some sleep. I would have been OK with that; but this went down as one of the worst stays of my life. Let's start with the smoking policy. You have to initial a paragraph in agreement that you won't smoke in the room, right on the sign-in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StarrySkySeeker
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

Dear StarrySkySeeker, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and cleanliness concerns you experienced. Please know...

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were not expecting much...just the bare necessities, due to the price. But we were in for so much more than we expected. There was a pair of contact lens, that had dried up and left on the bathroom counter! The floor in both the room and the bathroom felt like it had not been cleaned/washed in years. Just walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannon C
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

Shannon, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Was expecting the bare basics for the price but not the dry booger on the bathroom frame, the hair on the "clean" towel and the cracked sink with the hard to move faucet together with the spring I felt coming through the mattress together and the creakiness that woke us up everytime we turned over made for an unsatisfactory stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hongkongdave44
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the various issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact...

Reviewed 4 December 2016

The room was so bad, I left after 1 hour and paid for another hotel a few miles away. DON'T get lured in by the low price. This place is disgusting. There was a police car sitting in the back of the property as well.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce S
WAUWATOSA
Reviewed 25 April 2016

When I made my reservation, I requested a first floor room. I also stated I MUST have a room with micro/fridge and two beds. I checked in about 4pm and there were no 1st floor rooms available........ok. Then I stated "the room does have a micro/fridge, right?" She told me it did. When I got to the room, it only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sallyann73
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

SallyAnn, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We strive to...

Ohio
Reviewed 26 January 2016

The motel looks pretty sketchy on the outside. Our first room was a handicapped room that we didn't ask for. Changed rooms and the second room had a door that had been kicked in, so the wind (and snow) was blowing into the room through the gaps. The heater also didn't work. 3rd room was better, the heater thermostat didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolRabbit
Belding, Michigan
Reviewed 13 January 2016

If looking for a good place with a matching price to stay overnight, this place works just fine. An older motel, was nothing fancy but our room was neat and clean, everything worked, and had a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there were no noisy neighbors, which was good since it was New Year’s Eve! It’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAlberts2014
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The room had a half-inch of water in one corner. And bugs walking across the floor. The room phone didn't work. When I went to the front desk to alert staff to the water, the guy didn't believe me and did nothing. He never came to the room to see for himself. Approx. 7 minutes after I checked, I checked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gramem57
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I was skeptical about this motel at first to be honest. But, the moment I entered I was greeted by friendly staff and a great interior. The rooms were very comfortable and room and cleaning service was great. The price is very reasonable for the service they offer. I would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige L

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington Hills
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
132 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#2 of 12 in Farmington Hills
171 reviews
3.8 km away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
4.9 km away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
6.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#9 of 12 in Farmington Hills
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills

Address: 38300 Grand River Ave, I-275/I-696/I-96 at Grand River Ave, Farmington Hills, MI 48335-1514
Region: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Price Range: $69 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Farmington Hills
Motel 6 Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Motel Six
Farmington Hills Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are forced to stay in this rat trap, insist on a ground floor. 2nd floor requires walking through the smokers' plumes of smoke.”
StarrySkySeeker, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay Away.”
brucesF4446UI, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Because of the traffic on Grand river i would opt for a room in the back block.”
Moodygit, 10 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Stay at a Corporate owned Motel 6.”
janl307, 19 Jul 2013 | Read review
“If you want to stay at a nice and affordable place. This is it.”
592LizJ, 24 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$61* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$61
Orbitz.comUS$61
Expedia.comUS$61
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates