We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chimney Corners Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chimney Corners Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent only one night in early August 2016, and came from Detroit area to meet up with friends form Chicago. Chimney corners was perfect. We stayed in the comfortable and clean rooms in the lodge (would probably try a cabin next time), enjoyed the breakfast, the chairs/view in the yard and the lovely pebble beach (would bring water shoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delidog
Lisa S, General Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciate the charm of Chimney Corners and the beauty of our area. Please visit us again soon!

Michigan
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed in a large, cozy (is that an oxymoron?) cabin in the woods overlooking a lovely lake. The cabin was spotlessly clean, and furnished with homey furnishings such as a real handmade quilt! An interesting book telling the history of Chimney Corners was also provided. A full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, living room with fireplace, large bath, screened porch, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mermaid7272
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We always appreciate positive feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next year!

michigan
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed just one night in the High View cottage. We were up north to drive the M22 to see the fall colors. So glad we stayed here! The whole property was adorable. Even though it was cloudy and rainy outside last night, we were inside toasty and warm by our fireplace. A cozy atmosphere :) I'm a picky person when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank letsgosomewhere25
Lisa S, General Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! Cleanliness is extremely important to us, and must be doubly so when you are caring for vintage cottages. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can join us again another time.

Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I am not sure where to begin. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and moved forward with booking a reservation. We arrived in late afternoon, tired from driving and ready to relax. We stayed in the lodge rather than one of the many cottages. We were told our room would be ready. It was. We walked in and immediately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Lisa S, General Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We understand that we are not the place to stay if you are wanting a modern hotel, and we are pleased that you appreciate us for the clean, authentic, relaxing experience we can offer. Thanks again for choosing Chimney Corners, and we look forward to your return visit!

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in a room in the lodge. Affordable price. Clean room. Creaky floors and doors, but it's an old structure. Pretty view of Crystal Lake and pretty grounds. Continental breakfast included to order waffles with awesome maple syrup. We would stay here again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharita E
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate your choosing Chimney Corners for your accommodations. Please visit us again soon!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was a neat find. Our room was clean and charming. Everyone there was friendly and knowledgeable of the area and events. We were a 2 minute walk to the beach. Our family and I spent a great deal of time barbecuing and relaxing on the deck. I found there were more bugs than expected and a little disappointed that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2cookchicago
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We understand about the air conditioning. Unfortunately, you happened to stay with us during a warm spell - usually we are much cooler all summer with the lake breezes and generally do not need air conditioning. Hopefully you will join us again and it will...

Logansport, Indiana
Reviewed 30 October 2015

In October my husband and I were at Chimney Corners Resort for 2 nights. We stayed in the Hillside cottage. Very clean. I would have liked a cookie sheet that was smaller to fit in the oven. We had an incident early one morning but maintenance took care of it quickly. Beautiful area of Michigan. Quiet at night even close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gandmac
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Chimney Corners. We are so happy you were pleased with Hillside cottage and Northern Michigan. And, we will add a smaller cookie sheet to the cottage, thanks for pointing it out! Thanks for choosing Chimney Corners.

Reviewed 12 September 2015

Great place for a family vacation. Have been going here for years and it never gets old. All the cabins are well maintained and the lake is great during the summer. The staff pays exceptional attention to the guests' needs. One of my favorite spots is the fire pit at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We heard from friends and saw online, great reviews of this place. Right when we showed up we knew that the pictures were misleading. There was no room in our unit when online it looked large. There was dust and spiderwebs everywhere and it really felt that we were sleeping in "chimneys" and "corners". Management was SOOO rude to us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert J
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We always appreciate constructive feedback from our guests. We are concerned that you chose to review us at the end of August when you stated your visit to be in June? If a guest is unhappy for any reason, we like to know immediately so we can address your concerns in a timely matter,...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Chimney corners resort was perfect for a little getaway and 5 stars to the breakfast!!! Beautiful setting and accommodating hosts. Great quiet find off the beaten path but only minutes from Lake Michigan and all the Platte River activity!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rokchik19
Lisa S, Manager at Chimney Corners Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you appreciate our charm and hope you will visit us again soon!

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
6.9 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
139 reviews
7.1 km away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
143 reviews
11.1 km away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
17.9 km away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
249 reviews
25.6 km away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Chimney Corners Resort

Address: 1602 Crystal Dr, Frankfort, MI 49635-9208
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Number of rooms: 29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chimney Corners Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chimney Corners Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the lodge share bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles delidog, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lots of options for different sized families.”
 of 5 bubbles marshalldonna, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Cottages, larger houses, small apartments and lodge rooms all recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles 262christym, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“for one night, opt for the apartments. They have the best unobstructed views and are the perfect size for 2”
 of 5 bubbles chelseah528, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Quieter cottages up on the bluff”
 of 5 bubbles F8779NHsarahs, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5