We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 595: English reviews
Isle of Man
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is the first time we have stayed at this superb hotel. We booked direct with the hotel for one night on our way home from Coventy.We arrived at 2030 on Sunday evening check d in to our lovely room at went to Fred's for dinner.The meal was excellent.Our evening was enjoyable after a stressful day and 3 hour drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManxManandWoman
Bacup, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was best man here for my friend and his new bride. Lovely venue in lovely settings. The wedding planner was a lovely lass and most helpful. My first surprise was when she informed me the happy couple had also put me foreword as their toastmaster. MMM news to me!! However she supported and prompted me throughout. My only request...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen V
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your Stanley House experience. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your day and that our dedicated staff helped to make it so seamless for you all, especially our newlyweds. We do hope that you will come back to see us again another time, our...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited off speck o reservation, managed to get a very nice bedroom across the courtyard. All is really new and a lot of money has been spent on the development. All very nicely set out comfortable accommodation with all you would expect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Stanley House Hotel & Spa and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have attended this venue on two separate occasions. Overall the venue itself is nice, with large gardens and grounds. The restrooms are kept well. However, the function rooms are in need of refreshing, with 'tired' carpets. My previous attendance was for afternoon tea. This was massively overpriced for what was on offer. There was minimal choice and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SianR1985
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

With regard to this post concerning your recent visit to Stanley House your comments are simply unfounded, untruthful and spurious. We have had several reports from witnesses who confirmed your attitude, including harassment, abuse and maltreatment of our staff, this combined with threats of physical abuse and this is completely unacceptable behaviour at any level. Once it had been reported...

Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attending wedding with family Room was excellent staff were rude Maitre D accused one family member of being a gatecrasher - when it was pointed out that the person concerned was listed on the table plan that the hotel had put on display and a place had been set for them the Maitre D continued in the same manner repeating...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen R
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our bedrooms. We do however have to say that this is not an accurate or truthful recollection of what happened with the guest in question. It was in fact our staff members, several of which, who received both sexual and verbal abuse and threats of physical abuse from this...

Yorkshire Uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really wanted to give an excellent rating as it is a lovely property but had problems that did spoil our stay to some extent. Our room was so cols, the heating had not been switched on prior to our arrival. I would have thought maybe tis was because we were in the Manor, the old part of the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank york1
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Stanley House experience. We are sorry that not everything was as should have been with your stay, though on the whole you all had a lovely time with us. We do hope that you will return to us in the future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted by professional reception staff and directed to the fantastic spa. Again the staff there were very welcoming and professional, the facilities were clean and plush, the changing rooms were extremely nice. The treatment I chose was the back massage, the best massage that I have every had. We had opted to have afternoon tea in the adjoining restaurant, Mr...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cat-travels2016
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent experience at Stanley House Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time with us. We are sorry that you didn't feel you received the same welcome and service in the restaurant, we do have a mobile phone that is the main restaurant phone to take...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner booked this little get away for my birthday and we had such a great time i even proposed whilst i was there (must have been the champagne!) . We had a totally relaxing time for the short time we where there. We had a full relax package ( spa, massages etc) and then in the eve had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richard l
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful words, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us and congratulations on your engagement. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stanley House.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a private dining room for our small Ruby Anniversary lunch and were very happy with all aspects of the service. Emily dealt with all my enquiries beforehand and advised how to make the experience run smoother for all, and then the day itself couldn't have gone any better. The service was impeccable and attentive at just the right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison E
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable afternoon with us on Sunday, thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are honoured that you chose Stanley House to host such a special event and we hope you will be back to visit again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located as I often come to the Northwest to see family and or business. This helps getting around the Lancashire area. The main downfall is the customer service in the SPA, unfortunately they let the hotel down, they could do with getting a level 1 in customer service and maybe a qualification in diversity. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Funkadelic1
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your recent experiences at Stanley House and we are delighted that you enjoy your time with us on each occasion. However, we are sorry to hear that you find that the level of customer service in the spa is not to the level of the rest of the hotel. This has been feedback...

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
7.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
911 reviews
0.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
398 reviews
9.5 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
706 reviews
4.1 km away
Salmesbury Hotel
Salmesbury Hotel
#1 of 2 in Samlesbury
597 reviews
6.6 km away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Price Range: $260 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, California, United States
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can only comment on the room I took all the flowers to during the evening which I think was room 2 in the old manner part. Very plush.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenV500, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the old manor house are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 885StephenR, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick any standard room..they all seemed to have good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for disabled people great for wheelchairs and has air-con.”
  • Massive bed twin together
  • Taken from the wardrobe with glass doors
  • Beautiful framed photos over the bed
  • Part of the 2nd bathroom
 of 5 bubbles LaLa1951, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Woodlands Block rooms are newer”
 of 5 bubbles W7216NHrichardc, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay