We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stanley House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 594: English reviews
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

What can I say about this place, it really is fantastic. I have had the spa package 3 times with my girlfriend which includes an overnight stay, evening meal, breakfast and spa treatments including use of the spa facilities. It may seem quite a pricey package but trust me it is worth every penny and I've learned over the years... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam W
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experiences so much that you have returned again and again. It is great that you appreciate the fact that we like to keep our luxury spa so it doesn't become overcrowded and like you say, it can seem unusual to guests... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I have just got back from this amazing place, I have read the reviews from other guests and yes I do agree with them that the prices are expensive for the drinks, but hey its a 4/5 star hotel what do you expect. The food is magnificent. My husband and my son (of 14) who is a very sporty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kazza250275
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. It is so lovely to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay at Stanley House. We do pride ourselves in making the extra little touches that really make your experience special. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were attending a wedding here. Impressed with the drive up to the hotel and the grounds. The function room was lovely but the drinks prices were SHOCKING! 1 pint of Stella & 1 fruit juice was £9!!! I wouldn't hold a function here purely due to the rip off drinks prices

Helpful?
2 Thank somewheresun
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Stanley House. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the function that we hosted. Thank you for your feedback regarding the drink prices, we find that we are competitively priced within the local area for similar 4 star hotels. More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with a group of girlfriends to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed full use of the thermal spa then afternoon tea, followed by a treatment each. The spa suite is small (only 4 of us 7 could be seated round the pool) but very nicely done and in stunning surroundings with views over the local countryside. Lunch was really impressive... More 

Helpful?
Thank _jen77hill
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your afternoon in our lovely spa and hope that you will return to us in the near future for some more pampering. More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

What a great hotel this is.Stayed here for a family wedding,absolutely lovely hotel Stayed in the Manor House part.fantastic room,spacious and opulent.Beautiful surrounding grounds too.Will definately be back for another visit to use full facilities.Staff where exceptional,courteous and professional at all times.A credit to the hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank 232cheddar
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Stanley House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed it. We shall see you again soon. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This place is unreal. Best of the best. Bought a package deal for the spa. The spa is the best I have been to clean tidy and so modern. The staff were brilliant and very polite. The views are amazing. Then I had an amazing 30 minute massage from a lovely lady called Leanne. This was by far the best... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby_M823
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we have passed on your thanks to Leanne and we hope you will return to us again soon. More 

Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Although we did not stay at this hotel we attended a wedding reception here and had the chance to look at the rooms. The drive up to the hotel from the road is impressive has is the reception area. The suite that was used for the the wedding reception was fine size wise but the bar area could have done... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Davidcollinsheywood
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Stanley House to attend a wedding reception. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and your recommendation is most appreciated. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

After a busy christmas at work, myself & my wife visited this lovely hotel for a day of pampering and relaxation. The hotel was located in a picturesque location with immaculate gardens. Our room was modern and stylish with good facilities and a beautiful en-suite bathroom. The view from our window over the hills was wonderful. We wasted no time... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheMarukomu
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It is so wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Stanley House and hope that you have the time to come back 'up the hill' to see us again soon. More 

lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I recently used this hotel for a celebration and it could not have been better. The restaurant was booked out just for our party and we had very attentive staff. The rooms are amazing and unique. They are spacious and clean I would recommend the older style rooms but the garden rooms are very modern and spacious. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank julies333312
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such wonderful feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back and visit us again soon. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Spa, evening meal, overnight stay and breakfast was a surprise birthday present. The spa facilities were immaculate and not very busy on the Tuesday that we visited. Staff were welcoming and attentive without being obsequious or over-bearing: an excellent balance. Our bedroom and bathroom were lovely and.... someone is paying attention to detail here ... in the bedroom fridge was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foxlanefoodie
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is so lovely to hear that our guests have had such a pleasant stay with us and that our little touches are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
7.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
910 reviews
0.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
398 reviews
9.5 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
706 reviews
4.1 km away
Samlesbury Hotel
Samlesbury Hotel
#1 of 2 in Samlesbury
594 reviews
6.6 km away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Price Range: $261 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, California, United States
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can only comment on the room I took all the flowers to during the evening which I think was room 2 in the old manner part. Very plush.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenV500, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the old manor house are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 885StephenR, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick any standard room..they all seemed to have good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for disabled people great for wheelchairs and has air-con.”
  • Massive bed twin together
  • Taken from the wardrobe with glass doors
  • Beautiful framed photos over the bed
  • Part of the 2nd bathroom
 of 5 bubbles LaLa1951, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Woodlands Block rooms are newer”
 of 5 bubbles W7216NHrichardc, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay