We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Homestead

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
nyc
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Booked a four bedroom home for a family gathering. We had not been here (or northern Michigan) before. This is a really beautiful setting and a really lovely facility. The staff was (mainly) friendly and helpful. Nice beach, pool and other amenities. Looking forward to coming here again. Our only complaint was that the grill at the house was truly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelrnyc
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear michaelmyc, Thank you for giving The Homestead a chance. I am glad that you rented a house and had a good first impression. There are so many other accommodations that we can offer, we would love you to explore these in the near future. We have a dedicated team of reservationist that are capable of helping you create a...

Reviewed 1 October 2016

If your idea of a destination wedding includes spectacular views, lots of woods and fresh air, and a stellar staff backed by outstanding service and food, this is your spot. We stayed near the Village, with conveniences (shopping, restaurants, ski lift) just a few steps away. Wedding on Top of Bay Mountain was FANTASTIC, reception at Mountain Flowers Lodge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Kim P, I love reading reviews like yours, thank you for such great feedback. You will have to return for another visit in the winter to ski or just to relax and get away. Top of the Mountain is one of our pristine wedding venues. I am so glad that yoru enjoyed yourself. Please call our Reservation Team at...

chicago
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The Homestead is a massive (more massive every year) vacation condo development. If you rent through the Homestead you have access to the pools (small) tennis courts or lessons, the fitness facility, childcare, golf and whatever they have to offer (usually at an extra cost) Also, presumably if you arrive and your condo doesn't quite work out, you can get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bowwowwow
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear bowwowwow, Dear bowwowwow, Thank you for such a wonferful review. We have almost 500 acres and as you mentioned there are many options as our accommodations options are so varied from one another. Aside from being America's Freshwater Resort, what really leaves an impression is the lush nature that encapsulates the Homestead Resort plus the Sleeping Bear Dunes National...

Galena, Ohio
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This was our second visit to The Homestead. We had booked the condo Wilderness 11 because we had stayed there during our first in Sept. 2013. (BTW, Shawn McKeen is the best in assisting with reservations.) Upon arrival (Sept.5th) all seemed well at the condo. It had been a very warm day and as day turned to night we noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, Thank you for being our repeat guest, we certainly appreciate your loyalty. I was so happy to hear that you had such a good experience with Shawn, he is a great asset to our team. If there is anything that I can do to bring you back for another visit, please let me know. You can reach...

Burr Ridge, Illinois
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Wilderness section of The Homestead which is ideally located if you want to walk out of your condo and take a few steps to the beach. When looking for a place on the Homestead website the pictures shown for the condo were lovely with decorating in North woods style and very cozy. That is not what we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari H
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Kari H, Thank you for being our guest at our Wilderness condo's. As you pointed out the Wilderness condo's are separated from the main campus of The Homestead, but they offer benefits of being right on the beach plud peace and solitude. Thank you for letting us know about the bedrooms that need some upgrading, according to you. I...

Granger, Indiana
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I recently stayed in the Tall Timber section of this development. The condo was a two bedroom unit and was ok but nothing special. Be careful when booking a unit in this development as our condo did not have air conditioning. We were lucky as it just so happened to be a cool September weekend so we fared well. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JefferyJ
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear JefferyJ, Thank you for being our guest at Tall Timbers. These are privately-owned condo's which the majoriy do not have air conditioning. All of the hotels on property, Fiddler's Pond, Stony Brook Lodge, Little Belle and The Inn have airconditioning and wifi. Maybe you would be willing to try one of our hotels on a return visit. If I...

Brooksville, Fl
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We had stayed at the resort previously and had a great time. This time we stayed in Wilderness 11. The view was beautiful and it was quite. The beach was pleasant and uncrowded. The condo was old and worn down. Only three persons could fit around the table. The toilet upstairs leaked and we placed towels around the bottom but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JudyDBrooksville
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear JudyDBrooksville, Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback that you offered. Wilderness 11 is separated from the rest of The Homestead and offers privacy and close proximity to Lake Michigan. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Tomás Paddack tpaddack@thehomesteadresort.com

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The Homestead property rates a five star, but service is poor. Mid summer I booked a long weekend at the Homestead and was excited to visit since my family never stayed there and we are always open to a new place. About two weeks before traveling I called reservations to extend our stay another two days and received voicemail. Waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Frank K, I am terribly sorry that you had such a hard time waiting for a response from our staff. During our peak season we do get very busy, but that is certainly not an excuse for following up with a guest. I am happy you were able to explore the Sleeping Bear Dunes, they are a beautiful and...

Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here for a wedding. The Homestead at the top of ski hill is a beautiful setting for a wedding with awesome views of Lake Michigan and South Manitou Island. The reception was in the Mountain's Flower Lodge. We had a sit-down dinner and all of us had an excellent meal. Service was excellent too. A great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minichix
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear minichix, I am so happy to hear that you had a good time at the wedding you attended at the Homestead. Little Belle suites are great not only for wedding parties but also for couples to reconnect. I am glad to hear that you also were able to visit the beach, there is so much to explore here. Please...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Came in for 1 night for a wedding and the grounds and amenities seemed great. The check in was quick and painless. Our room was nice and spacious. It was easy to walk to everything in the little village area by fiddlers pond. The breakfast was pretty amazing! Wish we could have stayed longer, we hope to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel I
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Daniel I, Thank you for being our guests at the wedding you attended at The Homestead. I am happy to hear that the check in process was quick and painless and that you liked your accommodations. There is so much to do and see that a second trip is necessary. Please let me know if I can help yo...

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
39.6 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
2,750 reviews
33.0 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
34.8 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
145 reviews
35.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.6 km away
Lakeshore Inn Motel
Lakeshore Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Price Range: $131 - $1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The location of each hotel, lodge, condo or house offers different benefits depending on your interests.”
 of 5 bubbles H3316HGjenniferp, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner Suites 10 and 17 are fabulous, with breathtaking views.”
 of 5 bubbles 964ethanb, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A suite with a lake view but far enough away to enjoy the quiet and seclusion.”
 of 5 bubbles weirbarbara, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The person reserving the room via telephone was quite helpful”
 of 5 bubbles 422daley, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the 3rd Floor for the view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles edb168, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5