We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Julie's Motor Inn

Save
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good44%
  • Average25%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“close to town”(3 reviews)
“michigan tech”(7 reviews)
“chain hotels”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
13
23
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
13
23
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townmichigan techchain hotelsbreakfast itemsplace to sleepplenty of parkingcleaning staffwould stay againmotelcampusschoolsongrilldesklake
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed because fighting for a refund and hunting down a new room would be a hassle. I’d say at 75$ a night you get what you pay for, but honestly I have regularly paid that much for far better. We won’t be staying again....More

Thank UPHH
Response from LM L, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded 5 June 2018

As we just purchased the property we are sad to know we lost a guest we never even had a chance to meet. We plan to do some updates as money and time allows. Safe travel, Mark & Laura

Reviewed 31 January 2018

You never know what you will get at this price point, and this was a great surprise. Sure, some of the decor is a bit outdated, but everything is clean. It is the cleanest motel I have been in. Everything in the room worked -...More

Thank Oatgirl12
Response from LM L, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded 4 weeks ago

As the new owners we are happy you found our place clean! We strive to continue to be the cleanest motel around. We have switched our coffee brand so maybe you will like it next time you stay. :) We plan to do some updates...More

Reviewed 19 December 2017

This was our second stay at Julie's. The room was clean, but a bit dark. The beds were a bit stiff and the pillows small. We found ourselves between two rooms that seemed to be having a party. This made our early morning wake-up and...More

Thank JennyWrenReck
Response from LM L, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded 4 weeks ago

We hope you do just that and come back and see us. We really focus on having clean rooms for our guests. Safe Travels, Mark & Laura

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Who knew Houghton regularly runs out of hotel rooms?! We certainly didn't! So we found ourselves room-less one dark, rainy Saturday night. I called everywhere and was sadly talking my family in to sleeping in the minivan. I did one more google map search and...More

1  Thank Jen m
Response from InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Jen - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I wish you had mentioned about the shower running cool...we have just installed a brand new, state of the art, natural gas water system and there should never be an issue with...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

I am not going to knock this place since they had availability and was really affordable. I also liked being able to park right in front of my room. The location near MTU campus was nice. The place seemed clean. The service was quite nice...More

1  Thank Edward W
Response from InnkeeperJulie, Owner at Julie's Motor InnResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Edward - thank you for taking the time to review. Although I thank you for your kind words; I wish I had something to say regarding the list of items that we failed at with your stay. We have done many updates to the...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Nestled quietly off the highway 2 miles SE of downtown Houghton, Julie's Motor Inn provides a comfy, cozy, relaxing stop for your visit to the area. All rooms have small refrigerators, free WIFI, ample parking ...More (many rooms at-door), morning coffee with grab-n-go items, and plenty of smiles to warm your stay. Rooms have been recently renovated with new furnishings - all double rooms having queen beds, an easy chair and desk area. In the summertime take in the garden/picnic area during the day or enjoy a bonfire at night. Only minutes from Michigan Tech University, Isle Royale Boat Dock, beaches, nordic & alpine skiing, golf, fine dining and downtown excitement...We are available four seasons! We offer special rates for university families and extended stay rates (weekly or monthly) based on availability. If you need a change from the franchise scene WHY NOT give us a try?! We would love to have you as our guest. Less
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert F
12 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from schoolbus1313 | Reviewed this property |
I am not the owner--but Julie's is very, very reasonable. Call them and speak to Lois or Wendy they are the most knowledgeable. It is a plain motel--no frills--nice grab and go breakfast. Safe Travels and Good Luck on your... More
0
Votes
schoolbus1313
3 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LM L | Property representative |
Thanks for the inquiry. Unfortunately, we do get a bad review time and again. It's hard to please every traveler and we just continue to do our best. The rooms with one bed do have smaller bathrooms - and there is not a... More
2
Votes
luvtafish
20 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LM L | Property representative |
No, I'm sorry. You are thinking of the Chippewa motel directly in Chassell which is now closed. We are located on the US-41 just 2 miles from downtown Houghton and the MTU campus and 3 miles from Chassell. As you drive... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Queen rooms are more spacious"
Read review
"I like a room closer to US-41. You can open your window and see the pines."
Read review
"Second level was very quiet."
Read review
"They have pet rooms and non-pet rooms... request accordingly :)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing