We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed in nearly every hotel at this exit over the last 10-15 years. This was one of the best. It's new and clean. Beds are comfortable, although I am not sure if they have queen rooms--we had a double-double. Room was quiet and I slept very well. Be aware this is really set up as an extended stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Candlewood Suites is located on the east side of Kalamazoo. It is near the fairgrounds, and has an amazing amount of grass is have a dog with you. I love having a full size refrigerator in the room, etc. This hotel is not as new as some of the other suite hotels in the area. For this trip, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Roomy suites but dated and quite dusty. The air conditioner was blowing in the living room area but not in the bedroom and it made for a very uncomfortable night. The bed was quite hard and the beddings spotted.

Helpful?
Thank lutephiri
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review

Dear lutephiri, Thank you for choosing our brand and going out of your way to leave us your insights. It is sad to know that you find our rooms to be outmoded. Your feedback will be considered for future improvements as it has always been our goal to deliver high standard guest services. Once more, we appreciate the candid feedback... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

It's amazing how many hotels either don't clean the AC filters or don't do it often enough. This was one of the worst as it shows a lack of everyday preventative maintenance. If you have allergies or leave a hotel with breathing difficulties this might be the reason. The room itself was very clean so it's not the cleaning personnel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
Rick Z, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review

Dear Jim R. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As you mentioned the room overall was very clean, however there are procedures to follow every time we clean a room and we missed it obviouslythis time. I hope this does not discourage you from staying with us or our IHG properties in the future, we strive to improve... More 

Canton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here about 15 nights between June and September. None of the people at the desk are very friendly and three times they did not do what they were supposed to do so I would get my IHG points. The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. They offer complimentary tea and coffee and fruit. Several times... More 

Helpful?
Thank NADINEE464
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This was our third time at the Candlewood Suites in Kalamazoo for a three day weekend. Reservations fill up quickly for the car show, so we book early. The motel had a block of rooms at a discounted rate for the event which we appreciate. The motel is set up with perks for the car event; car wash station in... More 

Helpful?
Thank N H
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week and found room to be more than adequate, plenty of space the air-con was a little noisy but did not effect your sleeping time, it has enough amenities to be self sufficient if your not in the mood to venture out to a restaurant. the shower was good changed the towels every... More 

Helpful?
Thank RamboBurtononTrent
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family. The facility was quiet, no hallway noise at all. The bed was average, nothing great. Room was spacious, bathroom was functional. The cost was a little above what I would have liked to pay, but it was a holiday weekend. The pantry was OK, but expensive. We did not use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review

Dear Jody A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to accommodate you during your stay with and we are happy to hear that you would stay with us again. On the other hand, we are sorry if you are not satisfied with the rates. Please be assured that your comments will be shared... More 

Whitewater, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We arrived at the hotel we had reserved a two queen suites we check a head of time to make sure that our reservation was confirmed. However when we arrived we were told they overbooked and it would be two days before we would get the room we reserved.In the mean time we got a single and a roll away,... More 

Helpful?
Thank penguin2k
Rick Z, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review

Dear penquin2k I have discussed your stay with the staff, it is unfortunate that we did not provide you the service that is expected from out hotel. Debit cards and banking can add to the headaches, however I am happy we were able to balance everything out in the end. I hope the dog show went well. More 

McLean, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Staff was extremely friendly from our arrival to checkout. The room was found to be extremely clean and full of amenities. At night, it was super quiet. And on the bed, we had a very comfortable sleep. It was a wonderful place to stay. We highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank myrnao1965
Rick Z, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review

Dear Myrnao1965, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Kalamazoo and will look forward to seeing you again soon. RZichterman, General Manager More 

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
12.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
5.7 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
9.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
12.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3443 Retail Place Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-8819
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: $144 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lansing, Michigan, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with adjoining bedrooms are quieter than single bedroom/kitchenette. The noise from the refrigerator might bother some guests.”
 of 5 bubbles 892nh, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“each room is different but bottom floor was good for me”
 of 5 bubbles RamboBurtononTrent, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The second floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles penguin2k, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 1st floor - no problems with noise. Rooms nigher up might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles brendar433, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, end of hall is almost always quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles Harvestmeister, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay