We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1247 Westgate Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49009
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct for Best Price
Expedia.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Booking.comUS$142
PricelineUS$142
HolidayInn.comUS$142
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (31)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 36 in Kalamazoo
Location
Service
Experience the best of Kalamazoo when you stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West. Conveniently situated in the city, the full-service Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West hotel exceeds all expectations with its quality service. Whether you're here on a business trip or Kalamazoo vacation, this hotel's location right off of US-131 and minutes away from I-94 is the perfect choice. Business travelers enjoy an easy route to companies like Stryker, Pfizer, Western Michigan University, Borgess, Kalsec, Zoetis and Bronson. Planning a meeting in Kalamazoo, MI? The hotel's facilities feature more than 2,000 square feet of flexible space. Contact our Sales Office for more information. Hospitality and quality amenities await you at this Kalamazoo hotel. For breakfast and dinner, Toast to Toast is sure to have something to satisfy your taste buds. Other hotel amenities include an indoor pool, Business Center & Fitness Center.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct for Best Price

Location

Full view
7Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
New_friends_GR wrote a review Apr 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan5096 contributions136 helpful votes
+1
I was spending time with a friend over a weekend in March 2022 and had the opportunity to stay with him for a Saturday night at this Holiday Inn. I live in Grand Rapids and had sort of been curious about it for a while... to see what a modern regular Holiday Inn (not a Holiday Inn Express) was like. I arrived early on Saturday afternoon... before the official check-in time. I had to wait maybe 15-20 minutes before my room was ready, but it wasn't a big deal. While I waited, I walked around the hotel just to check it out. The nice lady at the front desk encouraged me to pick out a beverage out of their beer cooler for my inconvenience of having to wait for my room to be ready. It was not necessary for her to do that because I knew I was early checking in, but I appreciated the gesture and took her up on her offer. My room (#514) was clean and comfortable... no problems there. My friend and I both got a good night's sleep, so that was good. In the morning, I enjoyed the breakfast onsite. (I had to pay extra for it which I had the staff charge to my room, but no biggie... the breakfast was quite good and I knew that I'd have to pay extra for it since it was a regular Holiday Inn.) I liked how there's a bar onsite... although we didn't have the opportunity to have a beverage there. One feature that I appreciated was the business center where I was able to use a computer to catch up on my social media. This hotel has an indoor pool, but we didn't use it. All in all, this is a nice hotel. The only problem we had was that the hotel seemed to be overrun by kids during our entire stay. Way too many kids, but they were in town for some wrestling championship. They took over the lobby, the restaurant/bar area, and the pool. (The fact that there were so many kids in the small pool was the reason my friend and I didn't use the pool. We would have wanted to otherwise.) One other issue with the kids was that they were loud and unsupervised by the parents late into the night. We almost called the front desk to ask them to do what they could to keep the kids quiet, but suddenly they were quiet enough and we didn't have to do that. It's certainly not the fault of the hotel that there were so many kids staying there, but it made our stay a bit less enjoyable. The only other thing I wished that the room had was a laundry bag so I didn't have to ask the front desk for one as we were getting ready to check out. All in all, this was a nice hotel and I wouldn't have any qualms about staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sharox wrote a review Feb 2022
illinois21 contributions10 helpful votes
For business we have stayed in many hotels in this area! This Holiday Inn is absolutely the very best! Everything is always very clean and everyone is helpful. Curtis always goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable during your stay. The GM is a real problem solver and always asks if there is anything we need. Juliana in the restaurant / bar is phenomenal. The food is always great and she is always so welcoming! Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Kalamazoo area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kelsey B wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Worst hotel experience. There was “no blankets available” for pull-out couches in rooms, no towels available, the front desk staff was swearing and eating wings while checking us in, and she had a group of family members running rampant, putting snow in the pool, and peeing in public. Absolutely disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West
Responded 21 Jan 2022
Hi W2652HYkelseyb, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. Although we have limited service hospitality, we strive to offer a seamless and relaxing stay. It is a disappointing setback that we missed the mark in ensuring the level of satisfaction and convenience every guest should expect from an IHG Hotels & Resorts property. I am sorry you found our staff uncaring, our amenities limited and our services lacking. We take feedback seriously and would like to gather more details to communicate this with the relevant teams. I sent you a private message and hope you respond soon. We always challenge ourselves to be better and look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence. Best Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Sharsutt wrote a review Aug 2021
West Bloomfield, Michigan104 contributions23 helpful votes
The rooms are modern, clean, and spacious. The 2 rooms we had both had microwaves, refrigerators, and Keurig machines. The staff was nice. The restaurant and bar area were closed due to the hotel being understaffed. That probably explains why the pool area wasn't very clean. Also, there were towels near the third floor elevator when we arrived on Saturday afternoon at 4:00 and when we left at 9:00 on Sunday morning. The stay was going pleasantly well until a man tried to enter our room at 5:30 a.m. He was able to use his key to unlock the door but luckily the extra safety device prevented him from fully opening the door. He apologized and ran off. We immediately called the front desk to report it. The clerk asked if we filed an incident report. Silly question because that's what we were trying to do. The clerk only apologized and offered free points. While checking out, a different clerk mentioned the incident, apologized, and nothing else. We have the manager's card. We will follow up with the manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Dear Sharsutt, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to the cleanliness in the pool area and that another person tried to enter your room. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the location of our hotel and the cleanliness, as well as the comfort, of our room was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Kiki620 wrote a review Feb 2021
Chicago, Illinois19 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for multiple nights over the Christmas holiday. We were optimistic since the hotel is still new and in a good location in Kalamazoo. To start, it is impossible to find the entrance to the hotel since there is no driveway off of West Main. The fact that I am from the area and therefore could make an educated guess of a back way in was the only saving factor. Being there is no signage to point the way, I honestly have no idea how people from out of town ever find their way to the hotel. I have great concerns over the state of disrepair our room was already showing, considering it is still "new". The furnishings are cute and in the style of Hobby Lobby or Pinterest. But they look and feel cheap and I can't see them lasting more than a few years at most. The walls of our room were absolutely riddled with small holes, dings and scrapes. The main window shade had a large tear in it. The cloth headboard had been completely defaced (maybe drawn on by a child?). The biggest disappointment was the absolutely horrible shower. The water pressure was so low it was difficult to wash my hair. I dreaded showering everyday because it took so long to get my hair wet. Being the holiday, there were barely any cars in the parking lot so the hotel was practically empty. Oddly, everyone was squeezed into one floor. An odd practice during Covid when there was the ability to spread people out? Our last night, we had a family next door to ours that had children screaming and throwing themselves against the walls. It was a nightmare. Again, there was no reason to put two rooms up next to each other. The halls and laundry room were dirty and littered. Again, with such limited guests, you would think it would be a great time to catch up on other duties. The biggest positive was that everyone we encountered at the front desk was extremely friendly. The room also appeared to be clean. I think we were so let down because we thought we were staying in a like-new hotel and it was sad to find it already in such a state of disrepair. Crowding guests into one area of one floor is unacceptable during Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Hello Kiki620, Thanks for the stay and feedback. I am very happy that you found our staff commendable. We always aim to provide an efficient and frictionless stay experience, but we still failed you. I am very sorry to hear that you had a hard time locating the entrance, the condition of the room, and the shower experience. I have taken note of your comments and shared them with management for review to take necessary actions to address these concerns. I hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$135 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganKalamazoo CountyKalamazoo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Nearby attractions include GQT Kalamazoo 10 (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Latitude 42, Hunan Gardens, and The Original Niskers Char Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Henderson Castle (4.8 km).