We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel... From the moment I walked in the door to check in it the service was exceptionally great the front desk was very helpful and friendly! The room was very clean and you could smell that it was freshly cleaned.. The housekeepers were all very polite and helpful anytime I needed anything they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth F
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the amazing review. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Great place! We stayed for the wine festival and the hotel we super busy with several other events. The staff was doing an amazing job help ensure all the early check ins could get into the rooms they wanted. I witnessed one guys screaming and throwing a fit because he could not be on the first floor and the person... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed 9/11-9/13/15, HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH HEATHER THE GM. We were given dirty rooms, some of our party got AAA discount some didn't, needed lower level due to handicap party told not available yet cleaning crew showed us there was. I've been staying here for 7 years NOT ANYMORE. Not to mention all the ants in the room

Helpful?
2 Thank 4monkey
Britton B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the experience you had with the former management. We do feel that our number 1 goal is guest excellence. As the new manager for the property I once again would like to apologize and we do hope in the future we can prove just how valuable you are to us as a guest. More 

South Rockwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We had made reservations a year in advance as we have had the 3 years prior. When we called 3 weeks before our scheduled visit to confirm, our reservation wasn't there. So we then made a reservation for 3 rooms with king beds on the first floor. We were assured that wouldn't be a problem. We then called 2 hours... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri F
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Terry, Thank you so much for your time to review our property as I know your time is very valuable. As I explained to you and your friends that we did not have any rooms on the first floor in the room type that was reserved which was two bed deluxe as indicated in your reservation history. This particular weekend... More 

Royal Oak MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We paid $140 for a room so I had somewhat high expectations. The room itself was remodeled, as promised, but it REEKED of cigarette smoke. Considering this is a non-smoking motel, I don't know why they didn't either kick out the people who smoked in this room, or air it out sufficiently. They are in violation of the Michigan Clean... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as I know your time is valuable. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies. It is unfortunate that not all guest respect the fact... More 

Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Not only was the room clean they really mean pet friendly.....no charge for pets. We loved that the room did not have carpeting and had modern decor. Great value it is located near all kinds of shopping and restaurants. Easy access to I94 and 131.

Helpful?
Thank carolelynn101
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Red Roof Inn West. Your valuable feedback and comments concerning our facilities are more than appreciated and I will definitely share your personal experiences with my colleagues directly. Heather Bennett General Manager More 

Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I came through town for a funeral with my family. We arrived at 10PM checked into our rooms. Although we reserved deluxe rooms with fridge/microwave we were put in doubles. I asked my for rooms on the first floor with handicap access for my 78 year old grandmother - they put us in an out building with cement steps and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DeanPhilips
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

I am so very sorry for the loss of your loved one. During such a time the last thing you should have to worry about is your hotel. I am want to apologize that we did not provide you with the best accommodations. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention it is only through review like yours that... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

I was trying to do a 30 year reunion with friends on the cheap. The price was right but I had never stayed at a RRI. Well I'll never NOT stay at a RRI. An amazing room and a perfect location. Life's way more fun when it's affordable......in my opinion anyway.

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you when you are here for your next reunion. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2015

The accommodations were just fine. Nothing to brag about. Cheapest place in town, so there were some kids partying near us. But, that is to be expected. Nothing too crazy, though. Clean room, towels, and sheets. I would stay again when all I need is a bed for the night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander T
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. More 

Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015

The night I stayed there there were parties all night long, the management seemed to not care. The rooms are less than clean and not nice, damage was done to my personal property by hotel guest and nothing was done. 3rd world people running the front desk leave a lot to be desired.

Helpful?
1 Thank northerntraveler927
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Per your comments, I am very concerned about your stay. We do not tolerate a party type environment here and will not... More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#17 of 32 in Kalamazoo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 32 in Kalamazoo
111 reviews
1.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: $76 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
 of 5 bubbles LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
 of 5 bubbles teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Two buildings, each with two floors. All rooms are outside entry.”
 of 5 bubbles TAC66, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay