We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Expedia.comUS$50*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Marathon, Florida
Reviewed 29 August 2015

The night I stayed there there were parties all night long, the management seemed to not care. The rooms are less than clean and not nice, damage was done to my personal property by hotel guest and nothing was done. 3rd world people running the front desk leave a lot to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank northerntraveler927
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. Per your comments, I am very concerned about your stay. We do not tolerate a party type environment here and will not...

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I'm not much for writing reviews but I felt compelled to do so this time. This place is a little piece of heaven. Everything from the staff.... to the rooms... to the appearance inside and out...is wonderful. All of the staff are above and beyond duty kind of people. The rooms are clean and the bathroom linens are nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christi3361
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the amazing review.

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Stayed here Saturday night, booked through Trip Advisor, room with a king bed. Stayed here a long time ago and as best as I can remember it appears almost everything has been updated. We only had one complaint, floors appear to be a laminate and they needed a good cleaning, ended up with the bottom of our feet getting dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will221
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review.

East Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Had no problems during check-in or out. Upgraded room to have micro/fridge, only A $5.00 charge. Room #117. Furnishing were a King comfortable bed & four pillows. On each side of bed are self like structures with one having three electrical outlets Three drawer cabinet with flat screen television-40 channels. Writing desk with lamp-three outlets-& swivel chair. Coffee maker, luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jack L
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very the very detailed response.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I stay here every year in July,August,and sept at least one night every other week for the three months and have been very happy with the staff,room,location and rate....very clean and comfortable rooms.close to shopping and good food nearby.......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William G
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank your for the great review.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2015

It was the first August weekend and several other nearby hotels were sold out. I’ve never stayed at a Red Roof Inn and thought I’d give it a try – it was late and had just driven a long way from Toronto. It turned out to be one of the weirdest experiences at a hotel I've ever had, and despite...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Colin F
Heather B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Saint Johns
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

1 night stay. Not sure the sheets were changed :( wrinkled) brought disinfecting wipes ( thankfully) The sink countertop was covered in a man's beard trimmings, ewww! Wiped all surfaces,DIRTY! (Ryad needs a cleaning tutorial- Person who cleaned??? the room) poor guy on check-in desk was swamped( nice man) one lady was on her 2 nd room checking-in and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I have to state first that although I travel regularly and almost always stay at cheap hotels ($50-$80 range), I am not used to 1-star hotels. So this may be why I had a poor experience. I'll start with the good: our room was honestly great. King bed, reliable internet, nice shower, TV, etc. I hoped it would have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OliveSH
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

I was checked in quickly and got to my room. Very nice and tidy, good A/C, which was good because it was very hot out. Nice flowerbeds and green grass. Better than you're average Red Roof Inn. Front desk was very nice when I was checking in and out and when I had some questions they were very knowledgable. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paxton03
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review.

Brighton, Michigan
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Stay 2 nights, won't ever again! Trip advisor gave it satisfactory rating but missed by a long shot! 1st room the toilet didn't work! Handy man said "water supply wasclogged with rust". We quickly were given another room "upgrade" . What a joke, this room had a working toilet but sink drained very very slowly, shower curtain hand black greasy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyboybob5
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of your recent stay it is due to these constructive comments that we are able to improve. First and foremost I would like to apologize you’re the horrible experience you encountered here. I have recently taken over the property as the General Manager a week ago and I can assure you that...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.4 km away
Value Place Kalamazoo
Value Place Kalamazoo
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: $82 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford an extra $50/night, stay at an alternative upscale hotel.”
davidaN9648BO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$50* /night
View Deal
Red RoofUS$50
Hotels.comUS$50
TravelocityUS$50
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates