We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

University Quality Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Quality Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Start your review of University Quality Inn
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm not sure whether I liked this place, or hated it. Imagine an outside corrdior hotel, with a pool in the middle. Surround that pool with a bar, arcade games, and vending machines. Then put a roof on top of it all. Maybe this is common for hotels in the north, but I had never stayed somewhere like that. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bav803
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am happy to see the location of our property was convenient during your stay for a MSU football game. I am also happy to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our amenities offered to our guests. I would like to thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay and for completing a review....

Grand Rapids, Michigan
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times through the years. Rooms are always clean. Bathroom fixtures are from an earlier era and the bathrooms are tiny but adequate. Desk staff is friendly and helpful. They always have an exceptional breakfast selection. Mary in the breakfast room greeted everyone and kept it clean and well stocked with fresh items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I am happy to see that you selected to stay with us again during your visit to Lansing. I am pleased our staff provided great service during your recent stay. I will be sure to share the feedback you provided with our staff so they can continue the helpful service. Thank you for taking the time to provide...

Ionia, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean room overlooking the courtyard and pool. Good family environment with a bar in the courtyard in plain view of the pool for mom and dad to relax while the kids wear themselves out. I preferred spending time swimming with the kids but, as a dad, I understand the convenience of the bar. I was most impressed by the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thenorthlord
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ron and Casey, I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff provided exceptional service. I will be sharing your feedback with Mary so she can continue the great work. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review as I hope we have the opportunity to see you again when...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We use the University Quality Inn at least once a year when attending events in Lansing. It is pretty close to the capital and other stuff in the area. I particularly want to mention Mary, who prepares the complimentary breakfast in the morning. I've stayed in hotels around the globe, and sampled several "complimentary" breakfasts at many different price points...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave, On behalf of the entire staff we are happy to see you had another great stay at the University Quality Inn. Please know that I will be sharing your feedback with Mary so that she can continue providing great guest service to those guests attending breakfast. I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Adequate room. Reasonably clean and quiet. Bar had two light beers and surly bartender, but just two parking lots down (easy walk) is Front 43 Neighborhood where you can choose from 60 craft beers. This is a popular lodging spot for large groups of young people in sports or other activities (FFA during my stay). All in all, a solid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNPhred
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. Please know that ware are always looking for ways to improve the selections offered to our guests at the bar. I hope we have the opportunity to have you stay again and provide exceptional service. Thank you again for taking the time...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel staff is friendly, the breakfast is good, (Mary is very good at her job and is great with guests) the rooms did not have air control but if you ask the front desk for a fan they are more than happy to accommodate your needs. Good experience here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nick6991
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nick, I am pleased to see you had the opportunity to enjoy the breakfast offered to our guests during their stay. Please know that I will be sharing your feedback with Mary so she can continue the great work. I would however like to apologize for the temperature of your room. I am glad our staff was able to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't stayed at a hotel quite like this before. Imagine a huge open space where friends can visit, swim, go to a bar and play arcade games all at the same time. You can be at a table visiting, having a drink while still watching the kids play in the pool and not be in a stuffy humid space. Continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, I am very happy you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the amenities offered at our hotel. I am also glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the breakfast offered and that Mary provided exceptional guest service. Please know that we value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to complete a review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a busload of high school students there and there were probably at least 100 students total all wanting breakfast at 6 each morning for 3 days. Mary was working the breakfast room and did a great job keeping up with the huge demand for eggs, sausage and waffles as well as coffee, juice and the bagels and breads....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance J
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lance, On behalf of the hotel we thank you for having your group stay with us. I am pleased to see Mary provided exceptional service during your stay with us. I will be sharing your feedback with her so she can continue the great guest service. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review as we hope...

Goodrich, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do yourself a favor and avoid this place. Showers that back up, toilets that won't drain, poor management, AVOID this place....unless you are okay with a dump! We had two rooms for the Spartan Classic basketball tourney and they were both Terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PWard72
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel. The service attendant was great, however, the hotel itself is very outdated. There is no ventilation in the bathrooms, the vents that were in the ceiling have been closed off or plastered over. So you have a whirlpool tub in the room and a shower in the bathroom with no ventilation. Also, I sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawshel
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased to see our staff was helpful and provided great service during your stay. I would however like to apologize for the temperature of your room during your stay. Due to the age of our building we unfortunately only have the option to have heat or air in each room. I do apologize that this caused...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
12.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
404 reviews
12.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
13.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
SpringHill Suites Lansing
#10 of 25 in Lansing
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
309 reviews
3.0 km away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
213 reviews
4.2 km away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the hotel lounge, indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Address: 3121 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912-4779
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Price Range: $109 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Quality Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Commerce Township, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from University Quality Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms are those not facing the pool and bar/dining area, though staff is pretty good about shutting down the noise after 10pm.”
 of 5 bubbles davebJ3875ZX, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for first floor and then you will be poolside.”
 of 5 bubbles traceylJ9249ML, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room adjoining the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles paulrG9508GY, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it can be noisy around the pool area, request a room in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles tiredtraveller248, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Live the dream”
 of 5 bubbles V6080HZtylers, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5