We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Weathervane Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Weathervane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 223: English reviews
Pinckney, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect romantic getaway! We had the corner room on the 2nd floor (small fee to upgrade to that room - worth it!) and the view was outstanding. The fireplace, hot tub, and decor was wonderful. We didn't want to leave and we plan to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueJayNest
Grandville
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this place twice before and enjoyed it so when we came across a Groupon, we decided to give it another try. To our pleasant surprise, it appeared that the rooms have been updated (at least ours was) since our last visit. The gas fireplace is a nice touch along with a large hot tub in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jim M, thank you for the great feedback. Yes, we did just recently update the rooms again, glad that you enjoyed them! We look forward to having you back again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk and maintenance staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very cozy. The bathroom was clean and towels very thick. The bed was extremely comfortable. The refrigerator and microwave worked fine. The best part is the deck off from the room. Lakeview faces a marina but it is still a nice view. There are two deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcy H
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Darcy, we would love to have you come stay with us in the summer, there is a lot going on in both towns. The decks are one of our favorite spots as well.

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

It was very clean, and I loved the smell of the sheets. It was a surprise for my husband for our anniversary . The third Swan was also a great sunset cruise , we thanked them for keeping their boat in the water, Saturday was great for a ride. And it just topped off the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rhonda, glad that you got out on the water and had such a great time!

Nokomis, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The Inn is on the end of White Lake and also, right next to the Hart-Montague Trail, so it was perfect for us. We rode our bikes to New Era on the trail the 1st day. The 2nd day of our visit we explored the Whitehall and Montague area on paved bike paths. The inn was comfortable, clean; staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl D
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sheryl, thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The Weathervane was so close to being perfect. We booked this for a fall getaway with our kids and ended up having a great weekend. My first thought was being surprised that it was sitting right off a main road, which didn't match my internet impression and what I imagined. Nevertheless, it is a super cute setup that is done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee E
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Aimee, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know of the unfortunate service that you got from one of our team members. We will make sure to address this with everyone, as we want to make sure that we give the best service and help out if something is not working in your room. We hope...

Up North
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We hit the Weathervane seemingly at the perfect time.. Summer folk have gone home, kids are back in school, and off-season rates kick in. We got a very nice room overlooking the lake with a balcony and hot tub for a very reasonable rate. Room, bed, and hot tub.. all spotlessly clean. Very helpful concierge and good breakfast available to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Capn_Crunch_8
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you had such a great time, come back soon!

Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We were very happy to find this place, which we did by chance coming down Rte 31. Very comfortable, well-appointed room with a patio and jacuzzi. Typical serve-yourself breakfast with waffle maker and the trimmings. Good walking trails that go several directions from the hotel. Right by the marina.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jim, thank you for your comments, we appreciate them!

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Great for the price. Lady at desk wasn't friendly all the time. OTHER then that it was great. We will have to visit again. Lot's to do in the area and close to LAKE Michigan. Can't wait for next year to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2prettygirls2009
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will make sure to address your concern with our team. We hope to have you back with us next year and show you our true side of hospitality!

Reviewed 9 September 2016

We have come to this hotel about 6 times since 2010 and we were always happy to return. The dog policy has changed. They charge $20 a night per dog. They have a ton of rules where you can potty your dog. No more are we allowed to go out the back door with the dogs or have them sit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie M
Jason R, Public Relations Manager at Weathervane Inn, responded to this review

Hi Melanie, thank you for all the times that you have stayed with us. We understand that it is not you guys who make us have all these rules, but other dog owners, who are not so considerate of others. We have had to tighten up our rules some and are constantly looking at how we can make each stay...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
21.0 km away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
350 reviews
30.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
363 reviews
30.3 km away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
7.4 km away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Price Range: $130 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Weathervane Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Oak Forest, Illinois
Oak Forest, Illinois
Chicago
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Weathervane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor avoid the noise of breakfast right outside their rooms. Definitely ask for lakeview.”
 of 5 bubbles darcyh389, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Decks on first floor rooms, balconies on 2nd.”
 of 5 bubbles JimW424, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“See note above.”
 of 5 bubbles rgluce, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located near Whitehall and Motague, White River, White Lake and Lake Michigan”
 of 5 bubbles tarq2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were in the corner room and loved the wrap around balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles TimB809, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay