We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Etosha Aoba Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Etosha Aoba Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Etosha Aoba Lodge
 Click to rate
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After driving through Etosha we stayed at the lodge for 2 nights . The communal areas are typical of most lodges and are spacious and comfortable. The evening meals served either on the terrace or inside were delicious, especially the meat. Our bungalow was comfortable with a lounge area and small terrace overlooking a wooded area. The guide Moses was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The four of us travelled around Namibia staying in some amazing lodges. This place was terrible. The staff were utterly unhelpful. Telling us safari was booked - it was not & we had rang ahead to book. The hide was unavailable because no guides. We asked to speak to the manager who was asleep & head of the guides. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJ A
Wilna-Namibia, Guest Relations Manager at Etosha Aoba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mj A, I am truly devastated to hear about your disappointing stay with us. This is definitely not the normal feedback we get, so we are rather shocked that you had such an unpleasant stay. All I can do is to humbly apologize and to let you know that we take your feedback seriously and will investigate all matters...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We had a slight change in our schedule and decided to drive up to Etosha a day early and stay outside of the park. We sent the Lodge a couple of emails asking if they had availability for then night in question- no response and finally saw that you could book online which we did. However, when we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
Wilna-Namibia, Guest Relations Manager at Etosha Aoba Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased you had a good stay at Etosha Aoba lodge. Especially your lovely dinner! We are however sorry that your booking experience was not a smooth one and that responses were delayed. We struggle with connectivity at times, but it is certainly receiving our attention.

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Excellent experience in all, fantastic service by warm friendly staff and the personalized attention made this a trip to remember. A must visit for tourists and travellers alike. Such a picture perfect destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helga H
vienna
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This Lodge was probably one of out nicest places when traveling through Namibia. The place was perfectly clean , the food was outstanding perfect ,the dinner on the terrace next to the fire was a real treat. The gamedrives were enjoyable and the rooms were nice with plenty of space. The couple who run it were nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oew
Wilna-Namibia, Guest Relations Manager at Etosha Aoba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals, setting and our lovely staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We visited as a group of five adults and had booked two suites thinking that the chalets had separate rooms - a potential problem was quickly resolved without any fuss and a third suite provided. Fabulous food and friendly staff made the overnight stay a great experience. Do take care with the surprise appearance of cleaning staff in your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Our travel agent couldn't get us into another lodge so we arrived with low expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by this open air, friendly, beautiful lodge located on its own private Onguma reserve. Our little bungalow had a tiny waterhole in back and lovely comfortable air-conditioned room. The staff was unbelievably friendly, organized, knowledgeable and informative. Dinners were delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peacetraveler35
Wilna-Namibia, Guest Relations Manager at Etosha Aoba Lodge, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear about your pleasant stay. I am glad you were impressed (and that the other lodge was full!) Sounds like you saw some great game too. I hope we will see you again soon.

Zejtun, Malta
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Aoba Lodge is located just outside the von lindquist gate which is great if you want to spend the day in Etosha or if you are coming from Namutoni in the evening. The staff are helpful, polite and the food good. Rooms are equipped with mosquito nets. They also offer game drives within their private park although we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithbrmlt
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We were at the Aoba lodge for two days. It is a lovely place with great houses and friendly personnel. At the waterhole we saw kudus and Damara dikdiks. It is a lovely place to be with great food. It is situated just outside Etosha on the Onguma farm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balex2014
Leeds
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Visited Etosha Aoba with my wife in July 2016. During our trip to Namibia we stayed in 8 different lodges and the Etosha Aoba was the best overall place that we stayed in. Although separated from the National Park by a fence, the game reserve that the Etosha Aoba is situated in contains all the animals that can be found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mounthutt

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
8.1 km away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
736 reviews
144.3 km away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
872 reviews
13.7 km away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
223 reviews
139.7 km away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
409 reviews
169.0 km away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#22 of 35 in Etosha National Park
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Etosha Aoba Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Etosha Aoba Lodge

Address: PO Box 469, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Price Range: $296 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Aoba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Etosha Aoba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Aoba Hotel Etosha National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Etosha Aoba Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Etosha Aoba Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views”
, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bush Suites excellent: two covered terraces, separate sitting room, comfortable seats. Bizarrely expensive Explorer have none of these.”
  • Bush Suite Sitting Room (accommodates a third person when needed)
  • One of the Bush Suite Verandas
  • Explorer Inside
  • Explorer Terrace
inverk, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful!”
Cimmi6, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“if you want a thrill at night choose the most remote guesthouse ...”
hansp685, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for the Honeymoon room.”
mkobrin, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5